25 Reviews

this turned out beautifully! i must admit that it looked pretty flat after sitting on the counter in "rise" mode for 2 hours. but there was nothing to worry about-it baked up a nice, plump loaf and had great texture, color, crust and flavor. i will definitely pursue more sourdoughs without a yeast "push!"

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret3 June 20, 2002

This turned out PERFECT!!! I didn't use a bread machine (because I am experienced with bread making) and all of the ingredients and amounts made a PERFECT bread for me. I feel the "bread machine" statement in the description is sufficient, and doesn't warrant a shoddy rating, as this recipe is a definite keeper! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessFontenot September 18, 2009

I made this bread with the following changes: I used only whole wheat flour, used honey rather than sugar, and coconut oil rather than butter. The first time I used 450 g w.w. flour, and it was very dry. I had to add more liquid to form the loaf. The second time I cut back on the amount of flour, added just a little extra liquid and so far it looks fine. The first time, once I added the liquid, I let it knead and rise in the bread machine, then put it into an oval banneton. I let it rise in the banneton on the counter (cool kitchen) for about two hours, then baked it. It came out light with an even crust. Very good. I find sourdough baking to be a bit of an art rather than a science. The second time I left the refreshed sourdough starter for too long and it had deflated when I got around to using it, so we'll see how this works out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janice.luinstra January 12, 2016

This turned out amazing!!! I was skeptical because my bread machine had to work a little harder than I'm used to. I wondered if there was enough moisture. But, I worried for nothing because it is a perfect loaf of bread. I can slice super thin slices without it falling apart, too. Thanks, Donna!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina CCC June 05, 2014

This was easy to put together and rose well when I baked it...thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan October 27, 2011

Easy bread to make using my bread machine. My starter was real active and it took about 1 hour to rise. We made individual bread bowls to serve at a dinner party. Yummy. The bread had a great flavor and texture. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolAT April 28, 2010

I have made this twice. The first time the dough was extremely sticky, and I had to add about 1 c of flour to get it somewhat manageable. The taste was okay, but the bread itself was very dense, more than other sourdough breads I've made. This time, the dough wasn't sticky, but the loaf split horizontally while baking and stuck horribly to the pan. I know bread making is an art and lots of variables affect the dough and loaf, but this one seems more finicky to me than other recipes I've used.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rubies March 29, 2010

I am not rating this recipe as I had made some changes to it. I used all white flour(because of allergies) and used 1 tsp yeast. The bread didn't turn out as well as I had hoped, but I used the leftovers in crutons and they were excellent. This recipe might be worth playing around with!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl September 29, 2009

should say that it's machine bread in the title

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denatoo July 19, 2009

Bread dough was very dry and difficult to work with - I actually had to add water while working it! I made 2 small loaves, and it was not all I'd hoped for. Texture was good, and the taste was fine. We used leftover bread for croutons, and, of course, that was great too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrisLady May 12, 2008
Sourdough Whole Wheat Bread