24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this turned out beautifully! i must admit that it looked pretty flat after sitting on the counter in "rise" mode for 2 hours. but there was nothing to worry about-it baked up a nice, plump loaf and had great texture, color, crust and flavor. i will definitely pursue more sourdoughs without a yeast "push!"

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret3 June 20, 2002

This turned out PERFECT!!! I didn't use a bread machine (because I am experienced with bread making) and all of the ingredients and amounts made a PERFECT bread for me. I feel the "bread machine" statement in the description is sufficient, and doesn't warrant a shoddy rating, as this recipe is a definite keeper! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessEntrekin September 18, 2009

This turned out amazing!!! I was skeptical because my bread machine had to work a little harder than I'm used to. I wondered if there was enough moisture. But, I worried for nothing because it is a perfect loaf of bread. I can slice super thin slices without it falling apart, too. Thanks, Donna!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina CCC June 05, 2014

This was easy to put together and rose well when I baked it...thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan October 27, 2011

Easy bread to make using my bread machine. My starter was real active and it took about 1 hour to rise. We made individual bread bowls to serve at a dinner party. Yummy. The bread had a great flavor and texture. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolAT April 28, 2010

I have made this twice. The first time the dough was extremely sticky, and I had to add about 1 c of flour to get it somewhat manageable. The taste was okay, but the bread itself was very dense, more than other sourdough breads I've made. This time, the dough wasn't sticky, but the loaf split horizontally while baking and stuck horribly to the pan. I know bread making is an art and lots of variables affect the dough and loaf, but this one seems more finicky to me than other recipes I've used.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rubies March 29, 2010

I am not rating this recipe as I had made some changes to it. I used all white flour(because of allergies) and used 1 tsp yeast. The bread didn't turn out as well as I had hoped, but I used the leftovers in crutons and they were excellent. This recipe might be worth playing around with!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl September 29, 2009

should say that it's machine bread in the title

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denatoo July 19, 2009

Bread dough was very dry and difficult to work with - I actually had to add water while working it! I made 2 small loaves, and it was not all I'd hoped for. Texture was good, and the taste was fine. We used leftover bread for croutons, and, of course, that was great too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrisLady May 12, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe and so quick to put together. This was mixed with the Kitchenaid Mixer, shaped into a loaf and allowed to rise for about 45 minutes to 1 hour. The loaf was nice and tall and the texture is wonderful. This was made using Foolproof Sourdough Starter. I will be making this bread again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 04, 2007
Sourdough Whole Wheat Bread