14 Reviews

A great way to use up starter! I used a 100% spelt starter and used spelt as the flour in this recipe. One thing I did was leave out the baking soda and powder and rather let the starter do the work. I just proofed for 1 hour after mixing the ingredients, instead of rolling out the dough and when it was done proofing I just scooped out spoonfuls of the dough and plopped them on the baking sheet. They were light and fluffy and moist - I did need to bake them an extra 2 minutes to fully cook - so 12 minutes in total.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellalunababe September 22, 2011

These were awesome! My husband tasted them and said "These are what I expect biscuits to taste like!" They are almost as easy as tube biscuits but infinitely better...flaky and moist!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahbella84 April 07, 2012

Paula, this recipe is outstanding!!!! It was my first time using sourdough and it worked out very nicely. The taste was hearty and yummy! The bikkies had a flaky texture with a dense centre and crunchy crust. YUM! I used an organic sourdough starter from the store, which was only 1/3 cup but designed to be enough for 4 cups of flour, so I didnt add any more than the 1/3 cup and it worked out very nicely. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this easy and satisfying recipe with us! Ill make it again. Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #42 July 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 02, 2010

They came out great...even with a daughter that over rolled them...ours were a bit flat, but they did rise and were very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saffie June 21, 2009

Wow, these really rose up! The wheat flour gave them a little heartier texture, but they were still fluffy. My husband, who rarely gives compliments, said they were good. Success !! Thanks. I'll be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka June 10, 2008

This is as good as it gets for a whole wheat biscut! I had ot add a little extra flour, but I know this is because my starter tends to be on the runny side and the weather when I was making them. They make great hamburger buns in a pinch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TryingTraditional April 17, 2008

These were great. I always try to avoid using butter if possible, so I substituted in some mayonnaise and plain yogurt (a gamble, I know), but they still came out good. Perhaps more breadstick-like than biscuit-y, but no complaints here! Perfect for egg sandwiches and as a side to soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Gourmande July 20, 2007

Easy to make and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtilton April 29, 2007

These are wonderful little biscuits! Light and nutty. I used all whole wheat and baked them in my wood cookstove. If you have ever had bread baked with wood you know how good bread can really be. I was fortunate enough to have been given starter that came from my friend who has had it in her family for 108 years. Many thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n November 30, 2006

Great biscuits . . . and so easy to make. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour and DH loved them! Also using buttermilk to feed my starter and it does make a difference. Thanks Paula

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 29, 2006
Sourdough Whole Wheat Biscuits