Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Whole Wheat Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2011

      A great way to use up starter! I used a 100% spelt starter and used spelt as the flour in this recipe. One thing I did was leave out the baking soda and powder and rather let the starter do the work. I just proofed for 1 hour after mixing the ingredients, instead of rolling out the dough and when it was done proofing I just scooped out spoonfuls of the dough and plopped them on the baking sheet. They were light and fluffy and moist - I did need to bake them an extra 2 minutes to fully cook - so 12 minutes in total.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      These were awesome! My husband tasted them and said "These are what I expect biscuits to taste like!" They are almost as easy as tube biscuits but infinitely better...flaky and moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Paula, this recipe is outstanding!!!! It was my first time using sourdough and it worked out very nicely. The taste was hearty and yummy! The bikkies had a flaky texture with a dense centre and crunchy crust. YUM! I used an organic sourdough starter from the store, which was only 1/3 cup but designed to be enough for 4 cups of flour, so I didnt add any more than the 1/3 cup and it worked out very nicely. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this easy and satisfying recipe with us! Ill make it again. Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #42 July 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      They came out great...even with a daughter that over rolled them...ours were a bit flat, but they did rise and were very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Wow, these really rose up! The wheat flour gave them a little heartier texture, but they were still fluffy. My husband, who rarely gives compliments, said they were good. Success !! Thanks. I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      This is as good as it gets for a whole wheat biscut! I had ot add a little extra flour, but I know this is because my starter tends to be on the runny side and the weather when I was making them. They make great hamburger buns in a pinch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      These were great. I always try to avoid using butter if possible, so I substituted in some mayonnaise and plain yogurt (a gamble, I know), but they still came out good. Perhaps more breadstick-like than biscuit-y, but no complaints here! Perfect for egg sandwiches and as a side to soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      Easy to make and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      These are wonderful little biscuits! Light and nutty. I used all whole wheat and baked them in my wood cookstove. If you have ever had bread baked with wood you know how good bread can really be. I was fortunate enough to have been given starter that came from my friend who has had it in her family for 108 years. Many thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      Great biscuits . . . and so easy to make. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour and DH loved them! Also using buttermilk to feed my starter and it does make a difference. Thanks Paula

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      Excellent biscuits. I did use 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 flour, which is what I had, and made as directed. I got 6 big biscuits that were light and airy and tasted great. I had to bake mine about 20 minutes but it could be my oven. Thanks Paula for another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      These sourdough biscuits were easy to make and tasted great. Next time, I plan on adding a little parmesan cheese to the dough for a tangy twist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      Paula- You've outdone yourself on these. I regularly bake with whole wheat flour and these are some of the best muffins I've had. I have used this as a base for shortcake buiscuits (added sugar), dinner biscuits (added garlic powder) and plain breakfast buns. Staple recipe for me - thanks! I've also subbed 25% of the flour with soy flour for a protein boost and they turned out fantastically as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      Wonderful flavor! And very light too, not heavy like one might expect whole wheat to turn out. I did find that the amount of sourdough starter was waaay to much (would have made a soupy mess if I had added more than half). So what I did was double the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and butter and added the whole cup of starter. Good thing too, as there wasn't a whole lot of dough, and although I made my biscuits just a bit larger, only came up with 8 for the double recipe. They baked nicely, and although they aren't the prettiest biscuits I've made (some came up with cracks), they were just as tasty as some of the best biscuits I've had. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Whole Wheat Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.0
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    60%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 264.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites