Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Pizza Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Pizza Crust

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2011

      This has become my go-to recipe for pizza crust over the last 5 years. I built a pizza oven on the back patio in 2005 so i make a lot of pizza.

      I like this recipe because it uses 2 cups of starter which gives a lot of flavor. I take my starter sample (a few tablespoons) out of thr fridge 2 days before pizza night and feed equal parts flour and water every 12 hours. I end up with enough starter for 2 batches.

      I add 1/2 cup cornmeal to the dough in place of 1/2 cup of the flour.

      I also mix in a kitchenaid mixer as i dont have a bread machine.

      Makes a great crispy thin crust. Cook on a pizza stone for best results.

      Update: To all who say this crust is too wet, as with all bread recipes you have to adjust the amount of flour you add due to the amount of moisture in the flour and the humidity in the air. Just keep adding flour until you get to the right consistency.

      BTW: 1/6 batch=11 weightwatcher points (before topping)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I made this recipe today and it was fabulous. I was nervous because I already have a great pizza crust recipe, but I'm newly experimenting with sourdough and wanted another use for my starter. I followed the ingredients exactly and used my breadmaker's dough setting to make the dough. At that point I oiled my hands with olive oil and split the dough into two equal portions. I spread the dough out on my pizza stones and let it rest for about 45 minutes, patting it down every so often. Then I pre-baked them for 12 minutes in a preheated 425 degree oven, took them out and topped them and returned them to the 425 degree oven for 16 minutes. This crust was absolutely YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Delicious! Clearly the best pizza crust I've ever made. It makes two good sized thicker crusts, which is great for leftover pizza the next day. Everyone who's tasted this crust has loved it, I made a large batch for a family gathering for everyone to make individual pizzas for themselves. Definitely a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      AWESOME!!!!! This is the first time I have ever made a pizza that the crust did not flop all over the place and we ended up having to eat it with a fork. I used the "Papa John's Pizza Sauce" (#108447). I let mine rise on a piece of parchment paper, just put the parchment and all onto the hot pizza stone and brushed the top with EVOO, poked holes in it and baked for about 5 minutes before topping. One note, I did have to add more flour and knead a little longer in my breadmaker. My starter may have been a little thin. It works great with whole wheat as we.. I forgot once to poke holes in the crust when I prebaked it and it was so puffy when I took it out of the oven, that we broke it up and used it like pita chips dipping them in the pizza sauce. It was really good that way!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This was fantastic. I have tried 3-4 different pizza crust recipes, but this one tops them all. My husband even said it was the best tasting pizza I've made. I halved the recipe and used whole wheat flour and whole wheat starter. It made 2 thin crusts, but we prefer thicker crusts; so I will just roll it out different next time. FANTASTIC PIZZA! I can't stop talking about it--that's how good it was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      This is a wonderfully flavored crust. I often make 1 1/2 of the recipe for three crusts. What I like best is that it is a soft dough, but not sticky. It is easy to press or rollout without it shrinking back like a lot of crusts. Of course, now that I've found this tasty and easy recipe, Arizmendi Pizza is missing my business...oh well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Love It!!! A nice crisp crust that is chewy in the center without being doughy. Just a hint of sourdough - very yummy! I followed the recipe exactly, used my KA mixer to do the work and just patted and shaped it onto a baking sheet - turned out amazing!! I love that it's so quick - much faster than my regular yeast dough recipe. I'll be switching to this one for good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      This was yummy! I can only believe that the older my sourdough gets the better it will be. My husband says look no further that I have found the perfect crust. I think that maybe a tad more salt would send it over the top for me. This was a very soft dough and I didn't seperate it i just used the whole batch for one extremely large 16 inch pizza. I cooked it for about 15 mins at 500 and then lowered it to 450 for about another 15 mins. What came out of the oven was beautiful picture perfect :) Now to solve the sauce and get that down to perfection. This was easy to put together with everything I had on hand and doughed in the machine. When I took it out i spread it by streching and patting onto a greased pizza pan. Forgot the cornmeal, I like a little for that extra crunch, so I will remember next time. Let it rise for a about 10-15 mins before topping it and baking. Thank you Donna! It was a big success! Now on to the next sourdough. Your fellow zaarian Shirl,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I followed the recipe as printed, except for adjusting flour to increase consistency of dough. Instead of smaller pizzas, I used the entire doughball spread over a 16-inch perforated pizza pan. I allowed this to nearly double in thickness in a barely warm oven for about 2 hours and then baked it for 10 minutes at 400 degrees, after which it was removed from the oven and shredded cheese, along with small slices of Mozzarella cheese, was added with a vegetarian topping of Nawlins Italian olive salad sprinkled with crushed red pepper to taste. It was then put back into the 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes to finish baking...........this is absolutely the best pizza I've ever made!!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe with us, Donna.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      Determined and loving a good experiment I used Sourdough Bread Starter as a base and positively is one of the best crusts I ever made. Looks like there may be a new sheriff in pizza town.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This is awesome pizza dough. I tend to half it to get one good sized pie, and bake at 420 for 15 minutes on a pan, then 15 directly on the stone (makes it easier for me to shape it). The dough tastes fantastic, and has that perfect combination of chewy and crunchy crust. As others have mentioned, I also find it best to make sure my starter is VERY active before making this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      I have never made pizza before in my life, but do have sourdough starter. My very first pizza ever came out absolutely perfect with this recipe! I followed ingredients exactly, but used an ordinary cookie sheet sprinkled with cornmeal. I will never try another pizza dough recipe - this truly is fantastic!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      If I only could rate this higher than 5 stars. My husband and I are both indebted to you---this is the first pizza crust that has been "just right." Ah, pefect. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      An other wonderful sourdough Donna. This time I made breadsticks out of the pizza crust! OMG..I may have left my heart in San Fransisco, but I am sure glad that I have the San Francsisco starter. REally beyond words, thanks for an other winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      Excellent! I loved this and so did my husband! I will add some garlic powder next time .. thank you for sharing a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

    • on November 24, 2012

      I found one major flaw; when you fold each round in half and let sit, the halves will stick to each making it impossible to separate. The dough was ok, a bit crunchy for my liking. But I will try again with a different sourdough starter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This was so tasty! I made the dough last night and let it do a cold fridge rise during the day. My husband and brother worked together this evening to make the pizza and saved me some. The boys dubbed this "the patriot" and were quite pleased with it. Truly a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      I made half a recipe and this recipe turned out great. Will be using this one a lot. I cooked it on our KJ and loved the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      I use this recipe every time I make pizza now. It's easy and gives the dough a great flavor adding the sourdough starter. I add 2 1/2 tsp of dry yeast to the flour and it rises just right for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Pizza Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (526 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.3
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    17%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 584.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites