Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Onion Rye Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Onion Rye Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2002

      I tried this soon after it was posted and it was wonderful -- both for the ease of the recipe and for its taste. Because I wanted to play a bit (and had a lot of starter to use up) I tried two versions. One as the recipe indicates and one substituting the rye for whole wheat flour. Both loaves were superb and looked great (especially the one brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with dried rosemary before baking). I'm enjoying my bread now with some soup....thanks Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Very good rye with a high percentage of rye flour. I added 4 teaspoons of wheat gluten to help with the rise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      I saw Reds' picture of this bread on the sourdough forum and liked the sound of it, I love onion anything so I gave it a go and was not disappointed very flavoursome. My loaf was quite dence but the taste was great you could taste the onion but only subtley. I think I might of benefitted with some wheat gluten but you don't get it here and I wouldn't know what to use in it's place, We served it with ham hocks and beans what a feast. Great recipe Donna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      Finally got around to trying this recipe. DH is wanting Rubin Sandwiches so a perfect excuse to make rye bread and this one is a winner. I used my KA mixer with good results. At first I was worried as it didn't seem to be rising; but after a little over 3.5 hours it was fine. I used my San Francisco starter and added gluten and the end result was a tangy, flavor with the wonderful addition of the flavor of onions. I made exactly as directed except for using an egg wash before baking as I like the shiny look it gives it. While it was baking I sprayed with water every 5 minutes for the first 15 minutes and the crust came out crunchy just the way we like it. Update - continue to use this recipe for no fail results, I've been adding glutin and helps with the rise and after brushing w/egg wash and sprinkle with caraway seeds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      Extremely delicious bread (even though I didn't use the onions - I wanted it for toast in the morning!) I used my KA instead of the bread machine, and let it rise for three hours. Now I just need to figure out how to correct my technique so that the bread will be a little higher (of course, that could be some patience, too!) Thanks, Dona, for another delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      This was a wonderful fragrant loaf. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine, then cooked it on a baking pan. This was the first bread I made without yeast, and it came out great. You did it again, Donna!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Nice bread, lovely crust, subtle onion. I had no problem with rising and followed recipe exactly as posted. In fact, with a pan of hot water below baking sheet it rose very well. A definite repeater for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Very hearty bread, wonderful toasted and buttered. I made this in my Zo ABM and was very happy with the results. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      I am absolutely horrible at getting bread to rise so my rating or lack of should be taken with a grain of salt but this did not work what so ever for me using the bread machine. Sadly I used some great starter on it. Followed the recipe I think exactly using the dough setting - 1.5 lb loaf. Never did rise, forged ahead anyway. Turned out like a long, heavy brick. Had high hopes for it as it sounded great. Maybe the bread machine is not the place for this one. Our horses liked it the next day tho!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      my husband loved the flavor of this bread!! i should've let it rise longer than 2 hours, though. i think 5 or 6 would've been perfect. (my starter either isn't active enough, or my kitchen isn't hot enough)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Onion Rye Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (516 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1521.9
     
    Calories from Fat 368
    24%
    Total Fat 40.9 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 2540.0 mg
    105%
    Total Carbohydrate 256.7 g
    85%
    Dietary Fiber 28.8 g
    115%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 36.2 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites