Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Oatmeal Raisin Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Oatmeal Raisin Muffins

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2014

      Yum! I was excited to find a sourdough muffin recipe that doesn't begin with an overnight preferment -- I'm never that organized. These were easy, perfectly chewy/dense with a good rise, and a great basic recipe to start from if you want to change up the add-ins. I subbed the raisins for a diced granny smith apple and added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg this time; I might try with blueberries. Or zucchini/choc chips. Or pumpkin and raisins. Or dried cranberries and orange zest. A streusel topping would just send these over the edge, too...the possibilities are endless. :) Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      I have made these twice now with only change being that I use 1 c frozen blueberries in place of the raisins. I get 12 regular size muffins and about 12-15 mini muffins from one recipe. These muffins are moist and delicious; plus they are a great way to use some starter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      Mmmm... These are wonderfully moist and flavorful. I used buttermilk and added cinnamon and clove. I also ran out of raisins, so I added some toasted pecans. Heavenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Good muffins- not too sweet, but good with butter. I used half oil, half applesauce, as well as 1/2 c white wheat flour, and still very nice texture. I also added the tsp of cinnamon as recommended by others. Nice way to use some starter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Not something I'd want to make very often, since the 2 of us scarfed them down in no time at all! Very, very nice tasting & we both enjoyed the texture! I did add just a bit of cinnamon & was generous with the amount of raisins! Thanks for sharing a great treat! [Made & reviewed for one of my adoptees in the current Pick A Chef]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Nice, moist, fluffy muffins. Sweet enough for me. I have served them hot with mascarpone (my niece loves mascarpone and it was her idea).I don't know how they keep as we ate the whole batch immedieately.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I took PaulaG's suggestion and added 1 tsp of cinnamon. I also sprinkled the tops with cinnamon & a bit of sugar, which made the top somewhat crispy. I just noticed now that I forgot to add the baking soda, which could explain why they weren't as fluffy as I expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      These are a great use of my sourdough. They aren't overly sweet and bake up with a nice crust. I do think that some cinnamon would be a very nice addition to the batter. Made for *PAC Spring 2009*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      These are really good, not too sweet and have a wonderful round top. Quick and easy to make. I doubled the recipe since I had a cup of sourdough to use. I ate two as soon as they were cool enough to eat. Other than doubling it I made it as followed, they took 20 minutes in my oven. Great with a smear of butter. You are right Yankiwi, its a great way to use up sourdough when I don't have time to make bread. Its a keeper in my sourdough cookbook. My dad will really like these so they will be made again and again. I am going to try them with brown sugar splenda too. Thanks a bunch!!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Oatmeal Raisin Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 416.2
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    33%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 36.6 mg
    12%
    Sodium 376.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites