9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! I was excited to find a sourdough muffin recipe that doesn't begin with an overnight preferment -- I'm never that organized. These were easy, perfectly chewy/dense with a good rise, and a great basic recipe to start from if you want to change up the add-ins. I subbed the raisins for a diced granny smith apple and added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg this time; I might try with blueberries. Or zucchini/choc chips. Or pumpkin and raisins. Or dried cranberries and orange zest. A streusel topping would just send these over the edge, too...the possibilities are endless. :) Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChicPeaz August 22, 2014

I have made these twice now with only change being that I use 1 c frozen blueberries in place of the raisins. I get 12 regular size muffins and about 12-15 mini muffins from one recipe. These muffins are moist and delicious; plus they are a great way to use some starter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin March 10, 2014

Mmmm... These are wonderfully moist and flavorful. I used buttermilk and added cinnamon and clove. I also ran out of raisins, so I added some toasted pecans. Heavenly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs February 21, 2012

Good muffins- not too sweet, but good with butter. I used half oil, half applesauce, as well as 1/2 c white wheat flour, and still very nice texture. I also added the tsp of cinnamon as recommended by others. Nice way to use some starter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodeatin December 29, 2011

Not something I'd want to make very often, since the 2 of us scarfed them down in no time at all! Very, very nice tasting & we both enjoyed the texture! I did add just a bit of cinnamon & was generous with the amount of raisins! Thanks for sharing a great treat! [Made & reviewed for one of my adoptees in the current Pick A Chef]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 22, 2010

Nice, moist, fluffy muffins. Sweet enough for me. I have served them hot with mascarpone (my niece loves mascarpone and it was her idea).I don't know how they keep as we ate the whole batch immedieately.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iwona1961 October 11, 2009

I took PaulaG's suggestion and added 1 tsp of cinnamon. I also sprinkled the tops with cinnamon & a bit of sugar, which made the top somewhat crispy. I just noticed now that I forgot to add the baking soda, which could explain why they weren't as fluffy as I expected.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet PQ? September 02, 2009

These are a great use of my sourdough. They aren't overly sweet and bake up with a nice crust. I do think that some cinnamon would be a very nice addition to the batter. Made for *PAC Spring 2009*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG April 05, 2009

These are really good, not too sweet and have a wonderful round top. Quick and easy to make. I doubled the recipe since I had a cup of sourdough to use. I ate two as soon as they were cool enough to eat. Other than doubling it I made it as followed, they took 20 minutes in my oven. Great with a smear of butter. You are right Yankiwi, its a great way to use up sourdough when I don't have time to make bread. Its a keeper in my sourdough cookbook. My dad will really like these so they will be made again and again. I am going to try them with brown sugar splenda too. Thanks a bunch!!.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn January 26, 2009
Sourdough Oatmeal Raisin Muffins