Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Oatmeal Potato Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Oatmeal Potato Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2011

      Wonderrful loaf. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine & formed the loaf to bake in a pan in the oven. It was half gone before it was even cool enough to cut properly. I may add some chopped toasted hazelnuts or pecans next time I make it. Thanks Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Thanks so much Donna for a great recipe. Made four mini loaves last week . . . that way I can fit a couple in my little freezer for later use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      This was very good bread, I doubled the recipe and it worked fine. It was pretty cold in my house the day I made it so it took about 5 hrs. to rise but it was well worth the wait. Thanks for this recipe, Dan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I've only recently started to use sourdough - this is only the second recipe I've used so far. I'm not sure whether my starter is quite right as it doesn't rise and it separates into 2 layers after a while. Nevertheless it seems to work and this bread was excellent. It took about 1 1/2 hours to rise and once baked it tasted delicious. The crust wasn't too hard either, unlike the other recipe I tried. Thanks a lot for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This is very tasty. The bread has a great flavor - we made it twice (neither time with a bread machine) - the first time we were having "starter issues" - and, while it was mostly a complete and utter flop (through no fault of the recipe, I will add!), we were able to salvage enough of the loaf to make some awesome croutons! The second time around, our starter was much more cooperative (again, thanks to Donna and her wonderful guidance!), and we shaped into rolls. The flavor is absolutely wonderful, though I think we're going to need to work at getting the texture a little lighter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      Another 5 star sourdough recipe from Donna! I love the texture that the potato and oatmeal give this bread and the sourdough flavor is just right, just a little subtle tang. Can't wait to make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      Made this using 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 white bread flour. I shaped the loaf and allowed to rise for about an hour, then put it in the refrigerator and about 5 hours, set it out and allowed it to rise overnight. The next morning, I preheated the oven and baked it as directed. It has a wonderful sourdough tang.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2005

      Wonderful! I finally got around to trying this out with those potato flakes that I was so hesitant about buying. I did substitute the milk with buttermilk and it yielded an exceptional and HUGE loaf. I used the Red Sea starter and it rose enormously in my large loaf pan in 3 hours. I needed about 8 more minutes on the baking time. I will definitely try CarrolJ's suggestion to bake it in a large stoneware bowl the next time I make it. This was indeed a WONDER loaf with lots of good taste, perfect soft texture, and a unique richness. Thanks, Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      Absolutely delicious bread. I'll be making lots more loaves!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      we all loved the taste and the texture of this bread! will make again. Recipe very easy to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      This is one beautiful and tasty recipe. Another 10star winner from Donna. It was a long time rising but boy was it worth it! It makes fabulous sandwiches and toast and is definitely one I will be making again and again. Well done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      I can't believe no one has reviewed this wonderful recipe in over 2 years. I used all white bread flour. I let my bread machine do all the hard messy part... but did not let it raise in the machine and removed it as soon as it was finished kneading. Instead of putting the dough out on a floured board...I simply sprayed it all around the outside with Pam, shaped it into the desired loaf shape and then I placed it in a large stonewear bread pan to raise and then to bake. I let it raise covered loosely with plastic wrap for about 3-4 hours...since wild yeast sourdough breads usually raise slower than commercial yeast breads. This recipe has so much great flavor and the texture of the bread is absolutely perfect. I highly recommend this bread... I am not normally a big fan of breads with other grains in them...but this one is really delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      I used this as the basis for my breadmachine sourdough recipe. which I use all the time, Thanks for posting it. Judy's Kitchen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Oatmeal Potato Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (839 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2501.9
     
    Calories from Fat 543
    21%
    Total Fat 60.4 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 4165.7 mg
    173%
    Total Carbohydrate 425.8 g
    141%
    Dietary Fiber 15.5 g
    62%
    Sugars 51.8 g
    207%
    Protein 58.4 g
    116%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites