Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough French Bread

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2003

      Donna, this is a wonderful recipe. Thank you for sharing it. I made mine into two long loaves in a french bread form. Although i sprayed them with water when they went into the oven, I find that a pan of ice cubes works nicely. Plus, you don't have to mess with it once the bread is in the oven. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      Superb! Light and a nice thick crust. Hope you don't mind DonnaM I was concerned there was no sugar so I added 1Tblsp sugar as well as 1 tsp Vital Gluten. I read that it helps with sourdough. I will be making this one again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      Nice, light loaf with good texture and flavor. I had one cup of sourdough starter in my freezer, so I thawed and proofed it as directed in step 15. Then I followed the mixing and kneading directions. I put all the dough in one large loaf pan. After making slit in top of loaf, I spritzed the top of loaf with water. I put sauce pan of water and the loaf of dough in a COLD oven and turned temp. to 375 degrees and baked the required time - about 40 minutes. The bread turned out very light and high, as it rose even more while the oven was heating. I will be making this bread weekly for sandwiches. Thanks Donna for a very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      This is only the second time I have made bread without adding commercial yeast. I did not use the bread machine but choose to mix it by hand without any problem. The slashes in the top of the bread were made with kitchen scissors and I did not have white cornmeal but sprinkled the pan with oat bran. The bread rose beautifully and it had a nice crisp crust with a subtle sourdough flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2004

      Excellent recipe! This was the first time I had ever been able to make a loaf like one you buy or get in a restaurant. I only remembered to mist it twice but it was so crusty that as it cooled the crust was snapping & popping as it cracked. The interior was soft & chewy. It was perfect! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! It is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2003

      This bread is wonderful - it just came out of the oven and I can't stop eating it! I re-adapted it because I don't have a bread machine - I started with 3 1/2 cups of flour, then kneaded in whatever else I needed. The crust is crunchy and the inside is very tender.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      I used another sourdough recipe and made it through two rise cycles in my bread machine and then baked it following your directions. Worked fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      Very easy recipe and turned out very good. I should have let the loaves rise longer so next time I will plan accordingly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I make this dough/bread several times per week in my Zoj. Don't forget to preheat a metal pan on the bottom of the oven and through a couple of handfuls of ice cubes into it when you put in the bread. I preheat the pan as long as I preheat the oven. The steam it gives off makes the crust so much better. Also, when I make it I always brush the tops with beaten egg whites prior to baking. <br/><br/>I have several variations I have used as well. I sometimes sprinkle the top with sesame seeds, with garlic powder and some parmigiano regianno cheese, or even with some grated asiago (after adding a cup of grated asiago to the dough as well when the mix-ins beeper sounds). Try these and I'm sure you'll enjoy these tasty options.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      How could I possibly give anything less than 5 stars. This was soooo good. I don't have a bread machine so mixed it in my Kitchen Aid and then shaped by hand. My only mistake that I can think of is I didn't make the slashes quite deep enough. I wasn't sure how deep to go. Spraying with water was new to me, but when all was done it had a wonderful crust and soft inside with just a mild sour dough taste. YUM!! This is on my list to repeat many times to come. Thanks again Donna for another great recipe. Bonnie G PS: Just made this for the second time and it came out even better than the first. LOVE IT:<br/><br/>As an update - I'm still using this recipe often it works like a charm and I love it. Funny I finally got a bread machine and tried it in that and it didn't work so I'm back to the KA which never fails me. I'm thinking that maybe my started wasn't wet enough for the bread machine for the time I did that way it came out way to dry and crumbly to even work with - oh well; the KA is just as easy (IMHO)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      This is a brilliant recipe as it's sourdough but the amount of sourdough is large enough to work in bread machines without added yeast. <br/><br/>I don't use a bread machine since mine committed suicide years ago, so I used the stretch and fold method of forming gluten and did the recipe by hand. I did a stretch and fold 3 times in an hour and let it rise at 80 F until it doubled in volume. Proofing was 1 hour. I added some flax seed. Good sourdough recipe, done in 1/2 the normal time.<br/><br/>Red

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      This is the BEST recipe I have used. I've made many batches of large, medium and small loaves and they have all turned out perfect. Today's batch I added a bit of chopped fresh garlic, a medium pinch of dried rosemary (sorry, I don't usually measure "additions") and about a 1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese before I shaped the loaves. It turned out to be very yummy. We used some (homemade) garlic olive oil instead of butter on the still warm slices and the loaf was gone in a flash! Sure glad this makes two loaves at a time. I also use the ice cubes and cold oven start and get perfect crust every time. Thank you Donna for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      Bread didn't rise, but aroma was exactly right. I'm wondering if the recipe as written is misleading and that the 1 1/2 cups of flour used to proof the starter isn't part of the 4 cups of flour total. Dough was too dry and I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of water to get it to blend in the bread machine. Disappointed. I'm going to try it again with 1 1/2 cups of flour added to the starter to proof and 2 1/2 cups of flour added later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      It had a decent flavor, but was quite dense. My family enjoyed it though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      This is a great recipe. I am still trying to perfect my loaves but the taste is great. I spray my loaves instead of putting a pan of water in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Excellent bread with just the perfect crust on the outside and tender on the inside. I took the advice of several others and used a pan of ice cubes - worked wonderfully. It wasn't as sour as I would like, but I've only had my starter going for a few weeks and only proofed it about 9 hours. Next time I hope to get a more sour flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Another 10 star recipe! Used the Red Sea starter and it the results were magnificient. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine and removed after mixing . . . the bread machine does not allow for a long enough rising time for sourdough! Definitely will making this one again! Thanks Donna for the starter and the recipe!
      UPDATE: 07/30/10 Made today using Peter Reinhart's firm starter method -- Added two cups of flour to the two cups of starter and kneaded into a small ball until incorporated. Allowed to rise for 4 hours, then refrigerated overnight. Next day removed the dough and cut into small pieces, added to balance of the flour, salt (increased to 2 teaspoons) and water. From here used your recipe. The flavor was spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I used my sourdough starter (Unknownchef86's Bread Starter), but since I've misplaced my recipe for Sourdough French, I came looking on Zaar...yours was the closest to what I remembered. I made a triple batch, which I divided into 4 bread-pan size loaves. I stirred 1/3 of the flour into the (pre-measured) starter a few hours before I made the bread, to give it and added boost and time to proof. I also let it raise a couple of times to improve flavor and rise. I used kosher salt and have to admit that next time, I'll increase the salt. I added about a cup of grated Cheddar cheese, some Italian Seasoning and granulated garlic to one of the loaves before I formed it. I didn't use the cornmeal, but that's because I baked it off in bread pans. I set a pie-pan full of water in the oven before preheating it, so the steam would help give the sourdough a boost, along with helping the crust. All the bread was a huge hit! Thanks for your help, Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This bread was lovely, but very dense and somewhat lacking in salt. I think that, sliced thinly, it will make excellent toast. I'll try it again, but will likely add a bit of yeast in hopes of getting a higher rise and less dense texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Perfect combination to our spaghetti dinner! I cut the loaf in half horizontally and slathered with butter and then sprinkled garlic on top and covered with the top of the bread, put in aluminum foil and put it in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. Slightly crunchy and full of garlicy goodness. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (639 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 937.0
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    61%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1172.1 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 196.5 g
    65%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes