41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Donna, this is a wonderful recipe. Thank you for sharing it. I made mine into two long loaves in a french bread form. Although i sprayed them with water when they went into the oven, I find that a pan of ice cubes works nicely. Plus, you don't have to mess with it once the bread is in the oven. Thanks again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Normaone March 24, 2003

Superb! Light and a nice thick crust. Hope you don't mind DonnaM I was concerned there was no sugar so I added 1Tblsp sugar as well as 1 tsp Vital Gluten. I read that it helps with sourdough. I will be making this one again and again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage October 30, 2002

Nice, light loaf with good texture and flavor. I had one cup of sourdough starter in my freezer, so I thawed and proofed it as directed in step 15. Then I followed the mixing and kneading directions. I put all the dough in one large loaf pan. After making slit in top of loaf, I spritzed the top of loaf with water. I put sauce pan of water and the loaf of dough in a COLD oven and turned temp. to 375 degrees and baked the required time - about 40 minutes. The bread turned out very light and high, as it rose even more while the oven was heating. I will be making this bread weekly for sandwiches. Thanks Donna for a very good recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl May 03, 2003

This is only the second time I have made bread without adding commercial yeast. I did not use the bread machine but choose to mix it by hand without any problem. The slashes in the top of the bread were made with kitchen scissors and I did not have white cornmeal but sprinkled the pan with oat bran. The bread rose beautifully and it had a nice crisp crust with a subtle sourdough flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 14, 2005

Excellent recipe! This was the first time I had ever been able to make a loaf like one you buy or get in a restaurant. I only remembered to mist it twice but it was so crusty that as it cooled the crust was snapping & popping as it cracked. The interior was soft & chewy. It was perfect! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! It is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) November 12, 2004

This bread is wonderful - it just came out of the oven and I can't stop eating it! I re-adapted it because I don't have a bread machine - I started with 3 1/2 cups of flour, then kneaded in whatever else I needed. The crust is crunchy and the inside is very tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leaceae November 22, 2003

I used another sourdough recipe and made it through two rise cycles in my bread machine and then baked it following your directions. Worked fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan July 06, 2014

Very easy recipe and turned out very good. I should have let the loaves rise longer so next time I will plan accordingly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 13, 2014

I make this dough/bread several times per week in my Zoj. Don't forget to preheat a metal pan on the bottom of the oven and through a couple of handfuls of ice cubes into it when you put in the bread. I preheat the pan as long as I preheat the oven. The steam it gives off makes the crust so much better. Also, when I make it I always brush the tops with beaten egg whites prior to baking. <br/><br/>I have several variations I have used as well. I sometimes sprinkle the top with sesame seeds, with garlic powder and some parmigiano regianno cheese, or even with some grated asiago (after adding a cup of grated asiago to the dough as well when the mix-ins beeper sounds). Try these and I'm sure you'll enjoy these tasty options.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrazyBreadLady January 29, 2014

How could I possibly give anything less than 5 stars. This was soooo good. I don't have a bread machine so mixed it in my Kitchen Aid and then shaped by hand. My only mistake that I can think of is I didn't make the slashes quite deep enough. I wasn't sure how deep to go. Spraying with water was new to me, but when all was done it had a wonderful crust and soft inside with just a mild sour dough taste. YUM!! This is on my list to repeat many times to come. Thanks again Donna for another great recipe. Bonnie G PS: Just made this for the second time and it came out even better than the first. LOVE IT:<br/><br/>As an update - I'm still using this recipe often it works like a charm and I love it. Funny I finally got a bread machine and tried it in that and it didn't work so I'm back to the KA which never fails me. I'm thinking that maybe my started wasn't wet enough for the bread machine for the time I did that way it came out way to dry and crumbly to even work with - oh well; the KA is just as easy (IMHO)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 15, 2013
Sourdough French Bread