9 Reviews

Lovely bread! Forgiving too-lol-- chose not to use the extra yeast and skipped first step with warm water, and it was ultra dry-- had aha moment- learning all the time--warmed water, added it, and it came out right even though it was after flour. So... if you omit yeast do not omit warm water. Rose beautifully, did not use all the Parmesan and was fine. And next time I would reduce garlic powder slightly. Thank you for a wonderful bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal February 24, 2014

Okay, I don't have a Kitchen Aide, but my friend does. So I threw dinner in the crockpot so I could work on this as soon as I got off work. Ran to her house and used her mixer, cleaned up after myself, and went home to let my dough rise. (I did leave her half the dough so she could make her own loaf!) I did not use as much cheese as called for....didn't really want a cheesy bread. This bread is delicious....well worth the effort to make your own bread! Made for Best of 2011 Tag game on the recommendation of VeggieCook98.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 17, 2012

This was amazing bread. :) I used about half the cheese, and it still tasted a bit like cheese bread, but that's not a bad thing. :D I will make this again for sure. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieCook98 December 01, 2011

Thanks ~Nimz~, This was my first sourdough tagged playing "I Recommend" based on Jess4Freedoms review (I also took her advice and used Bergy's Sourdough Bread Starter- thanks Jess and Bergy too)-- this recipe worked beautifully for me ...my husband LOVED it...we enjoyed a warm loaf with a dinner of chili and nut butter then I made sammies with the some of the extra and froze the rest to take out a couple of piece at a time . Will be doing this one regularly as I decided to not buy bread anymore (now that i am so spoiled {{lol}} ) :)...thanks again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free December 12, 2008

Oh I love sourdough bread. I used Bergy's Sourdough Bread Starter for my starter, so I didn't need the yeast. This made for a great bread to serve with my Sheppard's Pie, and was even better the next day as garlic bread. I have one loaf waiting for us in the freezer now and I will update my review when we try it. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ November 14, 2008

A real keeper! I'm a bit of a 'purest' when it comes to sourdrough, so I left out the commercial yeast. My starter is very active, so really didn't need it anyway! I too used my KA to make the dough, and with the autolyse method it didn't take long! Since I wasn't using commercial yeast I opted to leave out the garlic powder. Baked on parchment paper in a La Cloche. As you can see by the picture it turned out wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench September 14, 2008

This was made using Foolproof Sourdough Starter. I loved that I could mix this with the Kitchen Aide making this a snap to put together. Like Sydney Mike, I served a loaf warm from the oven with a pot of Chicken-Shrimp Gumbo and the other loaf was wrapped in foil and placed in the freezer for later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 07, 2008

Other breads that I make, do well when frozen, & I hope it's the same with this recipe, 'cause I did freeze one of the loaves, while devouring almost half of the one I kept out! That's one problem I have with homemade bread ~ It doesn't last half as long as store-bought! BUT, the taste is soooo, soooo much better, as it was with this sourdough! I liked the combo of garlic & parmesan flavors, & another time I might well add a handful of partially baked, whole garlic cloves, just to see how that'd taste! As is, though, this bread is GREAT! Thanks for sharing your recipe! [Made & reviewed as an additional thank you for a chef-with-a-camera doin' her thing in Help a Camera-less Chef Game #5]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 06, 2008
Sourdough French Bread