Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough English Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough English Muffins

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2013

      Thank you, thank you, thank you for this wonderful recipe! Lots of little nooks and crannies to trap the butter! I cheated for the "starter" and used the overnight method in Quick Sourdough Bread - Overnight - for Your Bread Machine which is a fantastic loaf of bead in case you're interested. I also used my bread machine but only made 1/2 batch so it wouldn't ooze out of the pan! I rolled out and cut some of the muffins but ended up simply rolling the dough into a ball with my hands and flattening them before placing on the cornmeal dusted sheet to rise. The hand rolled ones were beautiful but the rolled and cut ones did not rise well. For the life of me I can't figure that one out! Anyway, this is the best English Muffin recipe and I can't wait to surprise my kids when they visit! Not like store bought...better. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      I have made these many times now and they just get better every time! As the sourdough starter gets older, the muffins get more and more awesome. These rise up beautifully and are literally picture perfect. I always end up with about 19 beautiful muffins, and 1 "special" one that I have to eat right away so the other muffins don't make fun of it. I cook them on a griddle at 400, turning them often so they are cooked through. I once messed up and added all flour and butter at the same time and it was still good (but they are lighter if you do it right). I've also added a little more sugar and dried blueberries.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Oh my gosh--the best sourdough muffins I have ever had. LOVE THEM! Just had one warm and then lightly toasted with butter. Out of this world. My starter is very young but these are sooooo good. Got 20 using a 2 3/4 inch cutter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I love the flavor and texture of these... I cook them in a cast iron skillet a few at a time, since I don't have a griddle... My only real problem is that the first ones are gorgeous and tall like English muffins should be, but the second half of them are flat... every time. They still taste good, but they are about half as tall as the first half. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong with these. I did find that I needed to put mine on corn meal rather than an oiled cookie sheet to avoid sticking. Any suggestions on the height issue would really be appreciated. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Excellent straight-forward recipe. Worked great - tasted better! Don't get the griddle too hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

    • on December 06, 2007

      Another winning recipe PaulaG, it's getting so whenever I want a truly good recipe I first just go to your page. This was so much fun and I was so proud of them, and the end result was so good; DH asks for them instead of toast in the morning now. It was a little work so takes some advance planning. I was afraid the dough was a little loose, but turned out perfect. Another 5 stars in my book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Got it just like Thomas' English muffins with all the nooks & crannies! Used 1 1/2 cups sourdough starter - started 2 weeks ago & fed daily so it's coming out of the bowl - & omitted the 1 cup of water. Used my bread machine, 1/2 unbleached white & 1/2 whole wheat flour. Dough was soft & ROSE like the dickens! Had to dump from bread machine an hour early b/c it was breaching the top of the bread machine bucket! Rolled out using coarse ground semolina flour & cooked on a dry skillet. Perfection. This batch made 20 muffins - will use this again & again, Thank you PaulaG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      I followed the recipe as listed but I ran into some problems. I used 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white flour and included the yeast. I put the dough on a floured surface with oat bran. It was too thin and just spread out on the floured area. I let it sit for while and add some more flour on top. Couldn't roll the dough. I was able to cut the dough and cook it on a griddle. The muffins didn't rise. I know the starter is OK as I just made waffles and pancakes with it and there was no problem. The muffins tasted great and I will try it again but I'm not sure what else to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      These are absolutely to die for. They are so easy to make. Why would you ever want to buy them in the store again. Wonderful texture and flavor all in one. Thanks again Paula for a wonderful sourdough recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      I have made these muffins twice. The first one I used half white and half wheat. The next time I used all white flour. I like the white flour ones the best! Next time I'm going to let the first raise go all night in the freg. The muffins are Excellent! Thank You for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      I promised in my last rating I would make these again. I tried the baking and found that I did not like the results as good as doing them in a griddle. They turned out more like a bun when I did them in the oven. I like the griddle better I got bigger tunnels in the muffin when I did it in the fry pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2004

      I followed the recipe except I did not use yeast(so I essentially skipped step 3 and 4). My starter had plenty of active yeast. I did not have wheat germ, oat bran, or corn meal, so I just used white flour instead in step 10. Instead of using a griddle in step 14 and 15, I baked the muffins at 400 degrees for 18 minutes. The sourdough muffins rose, browned nicely and tasted great. After having breakfast, I froze a dozen muffins. To use the frozen muffins, I thaw them in the microwave for 30 seconds on high, split them with a bread knife, and then toast them in the toaster. I add lingenberry jam or apple butter and they taste great. These muffins are substantial and filling and taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough English Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (979 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.6
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    17%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 6.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 168.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites