Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough English Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough English Muffins

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2010

      I've been looking for a good recipe for English Muffins after trying several tedious ones that have nowhere near the great results as these do. I now only use this one. It makes 17 for me and I use a large electric skillet set at 300 degrees and cook them 6 min. on each side. I use 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour in the starter and knead in white flour in the morning. We absolutely love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Wonderful flavor and texture! I added almost 2 c flour during the next day's mixing, used the Kitchenaid with the dough hook to knead, then turned out and rolled. Mine didn't rise quite as much as I would have liked the second time, more out than up, but puffed up beautifully in the skillet. Followed Tweaker's advice to cook these with a lid and it worked great. Love the tang from the sourdough starter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      i absolutely LOVE this recipe. I've made these english muffins probably a dozen times already and every time they turn out perfect..they're so easy, and fairly quick to put together and cook that I can't imagine I'll ever buy premade muffins again. My only adjustments I've made are to the cooking method. I spritz them with water when I first put them in the pan and cover them with the lid for the first 6 minutes. After that, I remove the lid and flip the muffins and let them cook for 6 more minutes. I find that misting them helps them get puffier. So far I've made cranberry and cinnamon raisin variations. Thank you so much for this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      Excellent! I made them on my cast iron griddle on the stove top. I love the depth of flavor. Mine were heavier than the store version, but my starter is still young and I fed it a couple of days in the fridge before using it for this recipe. I will definitely make this again. My son loves them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      These are the best english muffins I've ever had. I just made my 2nd batch in 3 days. I cooked half of them on a cast iron griddle and half in a cast iron skillet. I let them go 7 min. on the first side and 6 on the 2nd and they were cooked perfectly. Thanks for posting this recipe, Dan

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Thanks for the recipe! English muffins are a staple in our house. We like to make egg sandwiches with them. I initiated my wild yeast starter with this recipe not knowing whether it was ready or not. It was successful! I used a seasoned caste-iron pan and no probs with sticking. I used PAM just in case but probably didn't need it. I did find though that getting them cooked in the center was challenging. The technique that worked the best was keeping it covered with a saucepan lid.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Thomas' has nothing on these! I even cheated the "overnight" portion of the recipe down to 2 hours and got great results. (Used very active starter and warmed the milk before mixing.) Butter flavored Crisco eliminated the hassle of the butter/oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      My DH made this recipe for our family & we all loved it! They were tender, very sour and delightful! We will definitely make them again. Very easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Although these looked beautiful and taste just like store bought (if not better), they did not cook as quickly as your directions. They were under cooked in the middles. I ended up putting them on a griddle at 300ish and letting them just sit until real brown. Next time I would make mine bigger, too so they can fit in the toaster. I cut mine with a 3 inch cutter. So not sure how to get the middles done then. I may try the lid method as another reviewer suggested. They rose beautifully overnight, then on the parchment and again while cooking. If it werent for the middles, this would be a 5 star for sure. Thank you so much for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Absolutely delicious & worth the effort! Have just started exploring the world of sourdough baking & love how easy these were to make. My husband was so impressed I'm sure I will be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Great Eng. Muffins. I made half a recipe and got nine muffins. I used an electric skillet to cook them and they turned out great but took longer than stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Delicious! I don't eat English muffins, and I loved these. They rose so much. Word to the wise - make sure you give them plenty of space between each other when they are rising. I had to cook them for a bit more than 5 minutes on either side, but we have a propane stove so I put the fire as low as it went to make sure they didn't burn. It made 20 rather large muffins for me. It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

    • on July 06, 2008

      Much much better than store bought. I liked that the sponge was made the night before allowing only 1 rise in the morning for the muffins. When these are fork split they produce lots of nooks and crannies for butter and jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      These English Muffins are great! We've made them twice so far -- we've just started sourdough baking and we love this recipe. :yummy: I did add a little more flour the second time - the dough was just too sticky the first time. I cut the muffins into 4-inch rounds (the largest biscuit ring I have!) and made exactly 12. I used an electric griddle and cooked at 325 - that was perfect to cook all the way through with a nicely browned exterior. We'll be making these regularly and may experiment with additions, though they're mighty close to perfect as they are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Outstanding RECIPE! I think I'll throw out my "old" english muffin recipe. :) This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Darn good. I thought they had just enough sour taste without being overpowering. Mine came kind of thick, but I guess I either didn't roll them thin enough or didn't squish them down enough in the pan. Also, i thought they could be a little lighter (mine were a bit dense). But overall a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      I used a bigger cutter, put it on low in the oven to ensure a rise, but the best change was using nonstick cooking spray and wiping out the pan between each batch. Fantastic - and I don't even like English muffins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      These are really very good!!! The direction say to use a 3in cutter which I did but they didnt rise at all during that hour of rise time, and when I cooked them they didnt get bigger so they are about the size of silver dollars. Next time I will use a 4-5 inch round and go from there. I started out cooking them at 300 but ended up at 350 to get them to cook in the alotted time. I also prepared the "Night before" instructions about 24 hours in advance in hopes of getting a nice sour taste and this worked perfectly. I will be making these again and I thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough English Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.9
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    96%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 342.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites