Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Dinner Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Dinner Rolls

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2008

      I made this recipe exactly as written with no ingredient deviations. I am giving this recipe 4 stars because I feel the directions could be a bit more clear as far as shaping the dough and the amount to use for each roll to achieve an even result. I used Nancy Silverton’s Grape Sourdough Starter for the starter needed to make this recipe. They came out fantastically! What a wonderful light, airy texture these rolls have. I made the initial dough in my bread machine utilizing the dough cycle. I then made the rolls and placed them in a 9x13 pan for the second rise. Simply wonderful, melt in your mouth rolls. I have posted 4 photo's- 2 baked and 2 showing the second rise. Next time I make these rolls, I plan on adding garlic powder and parsley. I may even add some sharp cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2014

      Sensational recipe. Perfect for burgers or just buttering and eating, eating and eating. I've been baking sourdough bread a lot lately, but agree with another reviewer's comment that a bit more detail in the instructions would be especially helpful for novice (or even seasoned) bakers. For example, knead well could mean 6, 8 or 10 minutes. I went with 8. And I struggled a bit to figure out how to get it right for 11 rolls for the 9x13 pan. Golfball is too small and fist is too big. Anyone have an idea for what's in between? :) But nothing takes away from the delicious flavour and consistency. I will make these often and might add herbs, garlic or cheese in future. Hubby ate his with Blue Cheese Burgers, but I'd already had two in the course of the afternoon. :oops: Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      This recipe is great. However, I have been baking bread for over 30 years and found the recipe a little vague on how much flour to knead into the sponge; and found that while kneading the dough I added at almost 2 more cups of flour because the dough is so sticky. Tasted WONDERFUL!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      These are wonderful!!! I also had to add a couple extra cups of flour and a little honey (my sourdough is really sour!), but they turned out light and fluffy, with a light crispy crust. I used them to make sliders (mini hamburgers) and they were delish! My son had one with butter and honey on it for dessert as well and loved that too...great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      WOW. AWESOME rolls Paula. My starter, which happens to be your Foolproof Sourdough Starter, went crazy today. My dough would double in size within 30 minutes and I punched it down 3 times before making the rolls, each time they came back light and airy. I mixed everything in my KA, using almost 5 cups of floor and kneaded on speed 1 for about 7 minutes. The dough was really sticky, but workable. This recipe gave me 15 beautiful fluffy rolls with a wonderful texture inside and a nice crisp crust. I brushed with melted butter the last 10 minutes of baking. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      I created an account just to rate this. This is an awesome recipe. I followed it mostly as written, except I used only unbleached bread flour, no whole wheat. I prepared the dough in a bread machine on the dough cycle, I started with 4 cups (actually, weighed out 20 oz) of flour, and had to add around a half a cup more during the kneed to get it to the right consistency. The sourdough was a very active San Francisco culture I've been growing for a few months. Be forewarned -- as others have said the dough is *very* sticky, so it is best to powder it and the board with flour before punching it down. I divided the dough into fifteen rolls, and set them out on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet to rise for about 40 minutes. They baked for about 21 minutes at 375F (still on the parchment paper and cookie sheet) and were brushed with butter after fifteen minutes. I let them cool completely before serving, and used them for sloppy joe sandwiches. It is hard to overstate how awesome these were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I am an avid cook and baker but bread has always been my nemesis. I again decided to try bread making . Since sourdough is my favorite I figured - why not!!I used the sunset sourdough starter and things went well, so I decided to give these rolls a try and I sure am glad I did. Used my kitchen aid and they came out perfect!! I got 12 extra large rolls - light and delicious. Thanks so much for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Terrific Rolls. Followed the recipe as written except used 4-1/2 cups multi-grain flour. The first rise took 2 hours, the second, 1 hour. The bottoms were a little hard, so next time I'll try brushing with butter after 15 minutes of baking. No picture, as my buns are not uniform...there must be some kind of trick that I don't know about. :( Sure do taste good though. Thanks PaulaG...another great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      I followed the recipe as directed except that I didn't realize I was short on flour until midway through making the recipe. I had only 3 1/4 cups of flour, which gave me a very sticky & impossible to knead dough. Instead of kneading, I just covered the bowl and let rise for around 30 minutes, then transferred the entire batch into a loaf pan. I think heated my oven to 200 degrees, turned it off and let the dough rise until the oven was cold again. I then turned it back on, leaving the loaf in while the oven heated to allow it to rise some more, then baked for about 25 minutes on 350 degrees. The loaf came out WONDERFUL! This is honestly some of the best sourdough bread I've ever tasted. Of course it's meant to be dinner rolls, but a thick buttered slice went just as well with our dinner. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Excellent rolls! I wasn't sure how they'd turn out since I used friendship starter - but they were delicious. I also used about 1/2 white & 1/2 whole wheat flour in these, and probably used more like 5-6 cups total, as the dough was quite sticky. It did rise beautifully, and I ended up with about 20 fist-sized rolls. They were nicely done after 20 minutes baking, so I didn't return them to the oven after brushing them with melted butter. Yummy - thanks for posting! -M =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      Amazing, agreed additional flour required but very good bread easy to make last min.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      These were perfect! I can't wait to make them Again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      These turned out great! I made a half batch and that filled one 9-inch cake round perfectly. I don't know what kind of flour I used because, well, too long to explain, but I think it was either all purpose of bread flour. I used 1/2 cup starter, 3/4 cup water, 1 T sugar, 1 t salt, and the oil and 2.5 cups of flour (equivalent to 5 cups at the normal recipe) and one pack of regular yeast. I mixed it all on a high speed with the dough hook in a Kitchenaid mixer, then slowed down to a knead speed for about 5-6 minutes. Formed a nice ball with good texture. I live in Florida, and I suppose the extra flour is about right. I didn't need to add any more than the 2.5 cups (5 cup equiv). Also, it didn't matter that I added the salt immediately. It's all mixed in pretty quickly, and with the water and sugar, there's plenty for the yeast to eat. My oven has a proof feature, and that worked out well. Turned the ball of dough in an oiled bowl. Covered with one of those stretchy plastic bowl covers (sort of like a hair cover women use in the shower). More than doubled in 30-40 minutes, and this was no rapid rise yeast. Punched down and immediately formed into smooth balls by tucking under edges, the normal way until a smooth ball, and placed around outside of pan just touching. Had two for the middle, but everything rose and squeezed together and the tops were barely above the cake pan when I finished. Then baked the 15 minutes, buttered tops, and baked about 10 more minutes because a few of the rolls were too blonde for me at just 5 minutes more. I must admit two immediately, even though they were NOT small. So delicious, not sour, not yeasty, just rich tasting. I have seen other recipes calling for milk and melted butter, but since I'm going to butter these babies immediately, there seems to be little point to putting yeast in the batter. Thanks Paula and thanks to all who added helpful comments.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      Turned out great! Will defiantly make again. Very easy recipe to follow had to use 5 cups of flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      My first, and probably only, recipe for buns! The first batch were made exact to the recipe (extra flour which I expected having read the reviews) and were good. A bit too

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      These turned out delicious! I made my first sourdough starter over the weekend and these were my first batch of sourdough goods. I'll definitely be making them again. Even my toddlers gobbled them up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      Made this with my first batch of sourdough and it is excellent! Starter was not yet a week old but the smell, texture and taste are out of this world. I live in Florida and as with many others had to add more flour. I pretty much went on the feel of the dough and used a pastry blade to help turn the dough as I kneaded it. Boyfriend took some in to CENTCOM this morning and I am going to make a fresh batch and express mail to my son in Charleston. In one word - YUMMY! ! ! UPDATE 9.18.12 - With my third batch I am down to using 4 1/2 cups of flour. Pointer - add the salt after the first couple of cups of flour (salt will kill your yeast). My second batch was made into kaiser hamburger rolls with poppy seeds and this batch is for hot dog buns. Just free form. The second batch with double cheese on the burger was HEAVEN . . . the best burger I ever had. My third batch is on it's first rise, but I'm sure it will be execellent as well . . . and using as little flour as possible is a plus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      These are so light and moist and flavorful. I used buttermilk instead of water because I had some that desperately needed using, but otherwise made as directed and the rolls came out wonderfully! Fantastic alone or with jam or honey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Turned out really nice! A little on the bland side, but rose nicely and have a lovely texture. Next time I may try using buttermilk instead of water for a little more flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2014

      Made these today. The rolls do taste good. Light and airy. I am new to bread making and struggle with vague directions, therefore the ding of one star. I will say, mine have no resemblance to sourdough in their taste. Could be my starter, not sure how to encourage the sour, yeasty flavor I love. I did make them too big even by another reviewers comments regarding "fist-sized" balls. This is a recipe that requires minimal hovering and no lengthy wait to create. Bread is very good, just not the flavor I am looking for-hoped to serve with lasagna. thank yo for sharing, It is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Dinner Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.0
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    16%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 583.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites