48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I created an account just to rate this. This is an awesome recipe. I followed it mostly as written, except I used only unbleached bread flour, no whole wheat. I prepared the dough in a bread machine on the dough cycle, I started with 4 cups (actually, weighed out 20 oz) of flour, and had to add around a half a cup more during the kneed to get it to the right consistency. The sourdough was a very active San Francisco culture I've been growing for a few months. Be forewarned -- as others have said the dough is *very* sticky, so it is best to powder it and the board with flour before punching it down. I divided the dough into fifteen rolls, and set them out on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet to rise for about 40 minutes. They baked for about 21 minutes at 375F (still on the parchment paper and cookie sheet) and were brushed with butter after fifteen minutes. I let them cool completely before serving, and used them for sloppy joe sandwiches. It is hard to overstate how awesome these were.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BobD#8983 February 24, 2014

I made this recipe exactly as written with no ingredient deviations. I am giving this recipe 4 stars because I feel the directions could be a bit more clear as far as shaping the dough and the amount to use for each roll to achieve an even result. I used Nancy Silverton’s Grape Sourdough Starter for the starter needed to make this recipe. They came out fantastically! What a wonderful light, airy texture these rolls have. I made the initial dough in my bread machine utilizing the dough cycle. I then made the rolls and placed them in a 9x13 pan for the second rise. Simply wonderful, melt in your mouth rolls. I have posted 4 photo's- 2 baked and 2 showing the second rise. Next time I make these rolls, I plan on adding garlic powder and parsley. I may even add some sharp cheddar.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandess August 07, 2008

Sensational recipe. Perfect for burgers or just buttering and eating, eating and eating. I've been baking sourdough bread a lot lately, but agree with another reviewer's comment that a bit more detail in the instructions would be especially helpful for novice (or even seasoned) bakers. For example, knead well could mean 6, 8 or 10 minutes. I went with 8. And I struggled a bit to figure out how to get it right for 11 rolls for the 9x13 pan. Golfball is too small and fist is too big. Anyone have an idea for what's in between? :) But nothing takes away from the delicious flavour and consistency. I will make these often and might add herbs, garlic or cheese in future. Hubby ate his with Blue Cheese Burgers, but I'd already had two in the course of the afternoon. :oops: Thanks so much for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy March 14, 2014

This recipe is great. However, I have been baking bread for over 30 years and found the recipe a little vague on how much flour to knead into the sponge; and found that while kneading the dough I added at almost 2 more cups of flour because the dough is so sticky. Tasted WONDERFUL!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loniv62 September 04, 2011

These are wonderful!!! I also had to add a couple extra cups of flour and a little honey (my sourdough is really sour!), but they turned out light and fluffy, with a light crispy crust. I used them to make sliders (mini hamburgers) and they were delish! My son had one with butter and honey on it for dessert as well and loved that too...great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scratchcook March 03, 2008

WOW. AWESOME rolls Paula. My starter, which happens to be your Foolproof Sourdough Starter, went crazy today. My dough would double in size within 30 minutes and I punched it down 3 times before making the rolls, each time they came back light and airy. I mixed everything in my KA, using almost 5 cups of floor and kneaded on speed 1 for about 7 minutes. The dough was really sticky, but workable. This recipe gave me 15 beautiful fluffy rolls with a wonderful texture inside and a nice crisp crust. I brushed with melted butter the last 10 minutes of baking. Thanks so much.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 16, 2005

I am an avid cook and baker but bread has always been my nemesis. I again decided to try bread making . Since sourdough is my favorite I figured - why not!!I used the sunset sourdough starter and things went well, so I decided to give these rolls a try and I sure am glad I did. Used my kitchen aid and they came out perfect!! I got 12 extra large rolls - light and delicious. Thanks so much for this great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cajuncooker February 28, 2010

Terrific Rolls. Followed the recipe as written except used 4-1/2 cups multi-grain flour. The first rise took 2 hours, the second, 1 hour. The bottoms were a little hard, so next time I'll try brushing with butter after 15 minutes of baking. No picture, as my buns are not uniform...there must be some kind of trick that I don't know about. :( Sure do taste good though. Thanks PaulaG...another great recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 October 12, 2008

I followed the recipe as directed except that I didn't realize I was short on flour until midway through making the recipe. I had only 3 1/4 cups of flour, which gave me a very sticky & impossible to knead dough. Instead of kneading, I just covered the bowl and let rise for around 30 minutes, then transferred the entire batch into a loaf pan. I think heated my oven to 200 degrees, turned it off and let the dough rise until the oven was cold again. I then turned it back on, leaving the loaf in while the oven heated to allow it to rise some more, then baked for about 25 minutes on 350 degrees. The loaf came out WONDERFUL! This is honestly some of the best sourdough bread I've ever tasted. Of course it's meant to be dinner rolls, but a thick buttered slice went just as well with our dinner. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Hooper September 15, 2008

Excellent rolls! I wasn't sure how they'd turn out since I used friendship starter - but they were delicious. I also used about 1/2 white & 1/2 whole wheat flour in these, and probably used more like 5-6 cups total, as the dough was quite sticky. It did rise beautifully, and I ended up with about 20 fist-sized rolls. They were nicely done after 20 minutes baking, so I didn't return them to the oven after brushing them with melted butter. Yummy - thanks for posting! -M =)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert March 17, 2007
Sourdough Dinner Rolls