21 Reviews

Lovely dense coffee cake, quick to fix and perfect with coffee or tea. We enjoyed how the topping sank into the cake in places. Used starter that I'd fed earlier in the day. Next time I'd bake only 30 minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 02, 2014

Great use of starter. My son is gluten intolerant so I used my own gluten free sourdough starter made from rice flour and teff. I also used the American test kitchen gluten free blend recipe for the flour (homemade so cheaper, and works great) and about a tsp xanthan gum. Lowered the sugar by a third and topped with almonds and fresh raspberries before baking. Then a light drizzle of icing after baking. It was superb! Very gluten-y without the gluten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meglnk_11906356 June 17, 2015

Very nice coffee cake uses up that one cup of starter I had left. Very sweet will cut back on sugar next time. Quick fix and I could see changing the spices/flavorings. Thank you for posting saving to make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: March 15, 2015

The best coffee cake ever!!! I followed the directions in the recipe step by step; however, I did used kosher salt. I'm super excited to say that my midnight baking rendezvous was with my sourdough starter that I started last week and it was a success. I didn't have wait for anything to rise, after mixing everything together it was a go. Honestly, I was slightly concerned when I put the dough into the pan and it looked a little flat, but I still added the topping and placed my masterpiece into the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chanda L. January 15, 2015

Easy and moist treat for any occasion. I add a teaspoon of cardamom, a teaspoon of ginger and a tablespoon of almond or vanilla extract to the cake batter. Since I rarely use butter, shortening works well for the streusel topping. I also let the batter rise for a couple of hours and bake for 40 to 45 minutes. A great way to use some of your sour dough starter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sydney2462 March 11, 2014

5 stars after slight modification. Since I pulled my extra starter out of the fridge, I let it sit out for a half hour before mixing all the ingredients. I then poured the mixture into the pan and let it sit covered for another half hour. Like another reviewer, I also decreased the brown sugar in the topping to 1/4 cup. I added chopped pecans to the topping and might add pecans to the cake itself next time. A wonderful Sunday breakfast on a cold day with a cup of joe, the smell of cinnamon wafting through the house. And something different from the extra starter waffle and pancake recipes! Future recipe variations with fruit are playing in my mind. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph January 26, 2014

Thanks! This rose perfectly (like another reviewer, I was worried it was too small for the pan, so I let it rise, lightly covered in plastic wrap, for half an hour before baking). It's a delightful not-too-sweet pareve treat, and a great way to use extra starter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer December 16, 2012

This was a huge hit at my house! I made this last Saturday and after reading the suggestions from others, I added some mace and allspice to the topping, and used a teaspoon on kosher salt instead of the 1/2 t the recipe calls for. It was wonderful! I really liked how some of the topping sunk down into the cake while baking and created these sugary flavor pockets in the cake. I will be making this again, excellent use of sourdough starter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbozziee September 13, 2012

Really liked this quick recipe because it didn't go overboard with oil or sugar...certainly let the flavor of the sourdough come through for those of us with mature tastes :) And I added about 2 cups chopped fresh rhubarb to give us a further thrill. Cake is rare in my house, but may not be in the future. Can't wait to try it with blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bowedbookshelf May 15, 2012

This was yummy coffee cake, definitely akin to Amish Friendship Bread. I used unfed starter that would normally be discarded, so wonderful use for that. Also added rough-chopped pecans to the crumble topping along with a bit of allspice and freshly ground nutmeg, which definitely kicked it up a notch. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chobensa March 30, 2011
Sourdough Coffee Cake