Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Burger Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Burger Buns

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2009

      These were the first buns I've ever made, and the first thing I made with my new starter. First, I had to add quite a bit more flour (about half a cup or so) as the dough was very sticky. My starter wasn't really thin, so guess I'd cut back on the starter next time or thicken my starter before using it again. Kneading was easy and the dough formed a nice, smooth mass quickly. I wasn't sure how long I was supposed to knead it, so I quit after the dough became smooth and satiny, as in the instructions. I was having fun though. :) The taste is good; the smell even more wonderful! However, the bun is more dense than I'd like. I used 50/50 all-purpose and wheat flours, so maybe that's why they came out denser (although fluffy inside) than I'd hoped. Still, they would make a nice sandwich/hamburger bun. I didn't spray the baking sheet, but the buns pried loose just fine with a spatula after they had cooled a bit. Think I would spray the sheet next time. Cut at 4" round, the buns are a bit too big for us, so next time, I'd also cut out the buns smaller, maybe 3". I'm going to try a few hot dog buns next time, too, and maybe a sub-type bun. With the added flour, I got 8 large buns and one mini loaf (about 2"x4").

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Fabulous recipe!! The rolls were a hit with my family. Rolled out the scraps, spread with melted butter, sugar, and cinammon, rolled up, sliced, let rise and baked!! YUMMY Cinnamon Rolls!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      I've been looking for a good recipe to make sourdough hot dog buns to go with our home made brats. I just shaped them like hot bog buns instead of burger buns. These are so awesome! I ate one right out of the oven. Perfection! Soft and fluffy even being 1/2 whole wheat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Donna, these rolls are terrific! I made them for the first time to serve with my Tarragon Turkey Burgers and was thrilled! The dough was a little sticky to work with, but well worth it - these rolls were soft and tender and, of course, super tasty! (I did end up adding more flour.) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      These turned out so well that my husband thought they were store-bought, just from the looks. The taste, of course, is much better! I'm into whole grains, so I used my whole wheat starter with 2 cups hard white whole wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose. They still turned out light and that's hard to do using whole wheat flours. It's one of my favorite sourdough recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I'm new to sourdough. Before making these, I had only made sourdough twice before. The texture and taste of these buns were perfect. Thanks for a simple recipe even a novice breadmaker, like me, can make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Killer buger buns! I've began a sourdough starter about 3 months ago and am always eager to use it. Since we're having our first hamburger grill-out tonight, thought I'd try to make my own buns. This recipe totally rocks! The buns just came out of the oven and are really high and fluffy - can't wait to try them with the burgers tonight! One trick I use for all my sourdough recipes - keep a shallow pan of water steaming on the lowest rack while baking - it really helps them rise. Thanks for the great recipe, Donna!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      I just baked a batch of these up using this starter recipe (Sourdough Starter Mix) since we were hoping for a more tart sourdough. They smell so fantastic, can't wait until I grill tonight and taste them, thanks for the recipe, Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      These things are so good. I usd half wheat flour, and was so surprised at how well they turned out. Not near as chewy as I thought they would be. Zaar sure has good recipes! I'm not used to giving so many high ratings. I will be making these things again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      These turned out woderfully! Everyone really enjoyed them. Next time I'm using them to go w/ my pulled pork recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I saw the photo on a bread forum and had to try these. I actually used half and half white and wholewheat flour, and they were beautiful buns. I have never made my own burger buns because I have always bought them from the shop down the road. My husband was VERY dubious about my making my own buns, but he is now a complete convert. This recipe made for me 6 buns and a small loaf as well, so I am very happy. Well done, another fantastic 10 star Donna recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      Warning: After making these - regular hamburger buns will no longer be an option at your home. Sourdough lovers as well as anyone who enjoys a fuller, bakery-style bun will adore these. The guests I served included a range of taste-preferences: from football-watching DH's to people who were 'non sourdough fans'. All of them enjoyed these buns. A definate "What IS it that is so good about these?" conversation recipe. I've now made them as posted and with a 3-1 ratio of whole wheat. Both batches were devoured. The white buns are softer/sweeter while the whole wheat buns are a bit heartier. I will opt to make either recipe depending on what type of burger I'll be filling it with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Burger Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.6
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    23%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 60.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 354.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites