59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great starter. I have used it to make sour dough bread as well as adding it to my pizza dough recipe. The starter is at least 3 months old and just keeps getting better and better. I feed my starter about every 9 to 10 days, I add 1/2 cup warm water to the starter mixing well and then add 1 cup flour mixing well (ok to have some lumps) and let it sit out at room temp for an hour or two and then back to the fridge it goes until the next time.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojo mom June 29, 2011

Separation of the sourdough starter is completely normal. The liquid on top is called "hooch." You can either pour it off, or stir in back into the starter (if your starter looks too thin, pour it off, too thick, stir it back in). If your sourdough is tinted pink or green, it is contaminated and needs to be thrown out.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieNana January 10, 2008

My Betty Crocker cook book says to let (an almost identical receipt) sit out at room temp for 10 days. I thought that was a little silly. I am glad that your receipt mirrors my judgement of how done my starter is. A word of advice for others though, mix the starter in a fairly larger mixing bowl and let it rise for 12 hours before transfering it to a smaller jar. It will foam and fizz all over if it is too confined.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KookieMomster January 30, 2004

This is NOT a sourdough starter. It is merly a wet yeast version of the commercially available activated yeast. The reason many of you mention that there is not a sour dough taste is because a true sourdough starter has a Lactobacillus culture in symbiotic combination with yeasts. What is made here in no way has that. If you wantg a true sourdough culture go to Google and search for Carl's Oregon Trail Sourdough. For the cost of a self addressed stamped envelope you can get a real sourdough culture.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
therreid November 11, 2012

I am excited to report this starter worked well for me! It is on it's fourth day and has been doing great. Cant wait to make my first loaf of sour dough bread! Used a large glass bowl and tucked it away in a warm place on the counter. Thank you Bergy for sharing this easy to have success with recipe! Made and reviewed for the Game Forum's - I Recommend Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 23, 2010

This worked really well for me. I aged it for almost 2 weeks feeding it and keeping it clean. And the first batch of bread was wonderful. But they just keep getting better the older this stuff gets. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetp March 22, 2010

Not a review, just something I found regarding starters that I wanted to save: Freezing and Drying These are additional methods of storage, and are also good insurance policies against losing an especially good creation. When the starter has reached peak activity, give it a mini feeding, about 1/4 of what you would ordinarily feed it. Freeze in an airtight container. To use, defrost at room temperature. Feed, and then use in your recipe when the mixture is bubbly and active. Alternatively, spread starter in a thin layer on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Allow to dry at room temperature for 2 to 3 days. To restart, crumble dried starter in warm water, and begin regular feedings. Store frozen for up to 6 months or dried for 2 to 3 months. Incidentally, sending dried starter through the mail is an excellent way to share it with a faraway friend or relative.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just a Cooking Dad November 14, 2008

The best way to make sourdough starter is included in this book by Yoke Mardewi along with a lot of very good recipes. I have used it and can attest that it works - and it is very different to what is described in this recipe which is essentially everyday bread made with an everlasting starter kept in the firdge. The difference in taste and texture of the two breads is enormous. http://www.gardensonline.com.au/Shopping/GardenShop/Show_4063.aspx

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heykaramba November 27, 2012

This starter works really well for me. I've been using it for nearly five months. I feed it and add to it often. It's fantastic and my bread has a great flavor. I now prefer this to the yeasty taste of regular yeast breads I used to make.
Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adams.wifey June 05, 2012
Sourdough Bread Starter