Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Bread for the Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2003

      This made the best bread yet in my new bread machine. I used Diana Neal's starter recipe. The outside was crusty, the inside soft and chewy, and it had great flavor. I will make this on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      I didn't have such good results with this recipe. It kind of caved in on itself during the baking or rising. The taste was ok and I cut off the top but not a pretty loaf of bread and very crusty. I will try this again and maybe add some sugar and more yeast to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Really good recipe. Being Nora I can never make a recipe exactly as written...I used 2c. of white flour, 1/3c.-Wheat bran, and 1/3c. of flax seed meal. The bread turned out light and perfectly grained. My starter isn't very sour yet but it still had the distinct sourdough taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Made this in my bread machine this time, just to see if we would like the results. I figured the next time I could try baking it in the oven. We were THRILLED! We got a nice, airy loaf of bread that was absolutely fabulous. This is my first time to use a sourdough starter, so I am hoping that it becomes a little more sour. In any case, this was a marvelous bread that turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      This is the best and simplest sourdough recipe I have ever made. My husband especially loves it because it isn't sweet, and says my bread is too sweet even if I only add a single teaspoon of sugar! I have been trying to incorporate more whole wheat flour into our bread, so I use 1 2/3 whole wheat flour plus 1 cup all purpose when I make this, and add an additional 1/2 tsp of yeast so it won't be too heavy. I have made this using the dough cycle, and the bread machine's bake cycle and love it both ways! Hooray for delicious and convenient sourdough bread! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Southern Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Sometimes the easiest things are the best. That's the case with this recipe. I have made it no less than six times and it is perfect every single time. I have tried a lot of other bread machine sour dough recipes, but this is the only one that works like a charm. Crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      TALK ABOUT EASY! I used the recipe for this starter. Foolproof Sourdough Starter #137811 I highly recommend that starter if you have problems starting a batch. This bread machine recipe is ridiculousy easy! DH & I are soooooo pleased that the sourdough taste comes through so well! I can't wait till the next loaf! Thanks Southern Chef! THIS IS A KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

    • on January 28, 2009

      Excellent!! I had a cup of sourdough that needed using yesterday. I also had a house full of kids and wanted something easy. This can't get much easier. I threw it in the breadmachine and let it go. I did set it on dough setting and made 12 beautiful buns out of it. My dad loves sourdough and I will be making these again on Friday to take to him. Thanks for a wonderul simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      I loved it! Excellent loaf of bread, just right in taste, consistency and texture. I loved it expecially when making my grilled cheese sandwich to go with my homemade Chicken Noodle soup! Thanks so much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Awesome loaf of bread! Recipe made a very nice size loaf, crusty on outside and moist inside! My starter is about 6 months old now and really packs a punch! Thank you for a keeper in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Sourdough is not and exact science, but this recipe's proportions helped me bring it closer to home. Apparently my started is dryer than the one used in the recipe, so I had to add a little extra water, which I did while the bread was in the kneading process for more control. Yes, I opened the machine while it was operating...anyways the end result was a very malleable dough which I easily turned into baguettes for oven baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      I think this has the potential to be good, however, I found it too salty for my taste. I think I will make croutons out of it. I will try again, but just use less salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      I did not use the bread machine, instead I did it the old fashioned way and made a round loaf on a cookie sheet dusted with cornmeal. It turned out great. Thanks for this recipe. It was super easy and my family is ready for another loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      This was only my second time making sourdough bread. It turned out very nice, crusty outside and chewy inside. I think it even tasted better after sitting overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      Thank goodness! My routine sourdough bread recipe takes about 24 hours to make - this is quick and even tastes better! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2002

      This is very good! It makes a nice fluffy light-textured loaf. I only needed about 1/2 cup water to get the right consistency. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Bread for the Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (526 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 821.9
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    71%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2335.5 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 171.2 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 24.5 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites