11 Reviews

After completely killing my previous starter, I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I made the starter and fed it 3-4 times before attempting to make bread with it. I have now made bread twice using this starter and it's absolutely delicious. My family is so glad I've been able to bake sourdough bread again. We love this bread warm from the oven with melted butter on it...absolute heaven! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess May 20, 2004

I have never liked sour sourdough bread, but I am diabetic and just cannot give up my bread. So I decided to try a sourdough recipe because it has a lower GI index than even whole grain bread. Well I have hit the jackpot. This is THE best tasting bread I have ever eaten bar none. It has a sweeter taste than I expected and it is perfect for my tastes. I have made the starter and about 6 different loaves now and am still loving every bite of it. It is time consuming for the long rising time but I have to say it is more than worth it. I wake up in the morning after having it raise all night and can have fresh homemade bread by lunchtime. Even if you are a novice at bread making, you gotta try this recipe. You will never go back to anything else. Thanks so much for posting!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
planetsbestcook May 16, 2008

This is great! I killed my other starter and was very happy to find this one. It makes the best bread when you feed it a few times before you make bread with it. Very good!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tifdblpn November 16, 2007

worked like a charm. I made wheat bread. I rolled cinnamon and sugar up in one for the kids. I made dinner rolls out of the other loaf. I shared the starter with a friend.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfcook July 23, 2006

When I first reviewed this bread recipe, I neglected to say that I did not follow the instructions as written. I put 1/2 of the ingredients into my bread machine on the dough cycle, removed the dough from the machine when ready, prepared the loaf for raising, and left it for about 3-4 hours until doubled in size. I did not wait overnight. This review is for the bread recipe ONLY. I used Yukon Sourdough Starter #10834. It makes a beautiful loaf that is very good. (I shape mine in a round loaf and bake it on a stone cover lightly with cornmeal.) Excellent recipe. Here's a helpful hint...if you half the recipe like I did, put the list of halfed ingredients in the new 'save a private note' feature. Then when you print it up to take to the kitchen you have everything right in front of you with the correct changes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ September 11, 2004

I made this as written except for decreasing the amount of sugar in half. I made 1 loaf after feeding the starting one time and it sat for about 4 days in the refrigerator. The bread turned out wonderful as a fresh homemade bread, but it didn't have the normal "sour" flavor that a sourdough bread normally tastes. I am still rating it a 5, as it was still excellent bread without the sour taste and I am thinking that after feeding the starter a few more times, it will be more like a sourdough taste. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for 2013 Spring PAC event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 March 29, 2013

This is very easy to make, it rises well and lasts a long time while still tasting good. The only thing I did different was to reduce the sugar in the starter to 1/2 cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkyGlitter October 15, 2010

I hadn't made bread in years but after finding I was allergic to soy and the differculty in finding commercial soy free bread decided to try my own sourdough. This recipe was easy, worked and I loved the smell as it cooked. I reduced the sugar if the final loaf

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cbisseker September 04, 2009

Excellent!! I remember this as one of my Mom's favorites, and I have tried for a long time to get it right. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don@DaBeach April 29, 2008

I was thrilled to find this recipe. I have made bread rolls and loaves of bread from this recipe. Both delicious and just like how my Great Great Grandmother used to make :) Only thing I found next time I make the loaves is to only bake 30 minutes instead of 40 minutes, my oven seems to bake faster than most. Thanks for sharing your Moms recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. January 17, 2008
Sourdough bread and starter