Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Bread

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2009

      This recipe produced a really nice dough. It rose well and browned beautifully in the oven. After all the effort I have to admit I was hoping for a more sour taste, it smelled more like sourdough than tasted like it. Still a delicious bread. My toddler and I ate three pieces between us as soon as it was cool enough to chew! Side note: I had to google what you might mean by steaming, a foreign concept to me (worked well.) Maybe you could elaborate in the instructions :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      A very nice Bread! Like all bread recipes, I feel you need to play with it a few times to see what works best for you. In my case, I added about 1/2 teaspoon yeast, because my starter wasn.t doing the job well enough. That did the trick though. I also had to play with flour quantities a bit to see what would get me the best consistency. This dough is silky smooth to the touch, and the bread comes out great, with a nice crackly crust, and makes great sandwiches and toast! Give it a try , maybe 2 tries. Definitely worth the effort!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Excellent!! It is so much quicker than traditional sourdough. I was crispy on the outside and very tender inside. I used 1 cup of buttermilk and 1/2 cup water. It was not as sour as traditional sourdough but still somewhat sour. I have trouble getting my bread to rise and make a nice round loaf. One loaf I did in the loaf pan and the other on a clay sheet. The loaf was absolutely perfect and the round was flat. When it rose it spread width wise instead of up. Not sure how to fix that but I know it was not the recipe because the other loaf was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I get good consistent results with this recipe each time I bake this bread. And now that I have a new lamme to replace my old one that broke I'm even happier to use this recipe. I have a very, very old SF starter that has a really sour tangy flavor to it that everyone loves. I'll admit I've been baking for over 46 years, thousands of loaves of bread but in order to get a good result you have to have a solid recipe to start with. I use this recipe and make changes in the flavor with additions of my own but it is a good basic SD recipe. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      This is bar none the best bread recipe I have tried, and I've been baking bread since I was a teen. The bread had not only awesome flavor, but great texture also. I made loaves of bread, as well as hamburger and brat buns. The bread stays soft, so a loaf is still good for sandwiches 3 & 4 days later. It has enough texture to hold up to brat and italian sausage toppings.<br/>I have experimented with using 1/4 C vital wheat gluten, which I like. I have also used up to 3/4 C fresh ground wheat flour, which also works fine in this recipe. I plan to up the wheat flour to see where I get that balance of soft, yet still has nutrition value.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      I don't know what happened. Followed the recipe to the letter and it was an epic fail! I knew going into it that it would not have a strong sour taste because my wild yeast starter is only 6 days old. But the bread was to hard and it did not rise very much on it's second rise. Also tasted like it needed more salt. I am not rating this recipe or commenting on it as a negative or bad recipe, maybe someone could message me and give me some pointers....this is my first attempt at a sourdough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      I made the dough in my bread machine. It was a bit more than it could handle once risen. But it turned out great my wife and I loved it. Nice crusty outside and soft inside. I used the exact recipe only in a machine and baked in the oven as directed. Turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      This was the first time I have EVER made sourdough bread. I was timid about making it as the only bread I have sucessfully made has been banana and lemon poppy seed bread. This was a very easy recipe with great results. I do agree with The Jelly Room member about having to play with the dough to get the right consistency. As there are so many variables as to what influences the bread to turn out just right such as elevation, climate, etc. My bread only needed 5 and a half cups of flour to become the correct texture that was described. I agree with some of the other members that the bread wasn't "sour" tasting enough, however in my opinion that was probably due to the starter. Mine had only been "brewing" for 6 days. I still have plenty of starter left and will see about making another loaf in 4 days. My only gripe about the recipe is that there was no indication on how to "steam" the bread in the directions as one other previous reviewer had mentioned, but I googled it found some instruction on how to do that, no biggie,.... Overall, this was a wonderful bread, nice and crispy on the outside and soft/chewy on the inside. Will be trying again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This bread had a great texture and my husband loved the crust. I wanted to make a true sourdough bread, so I increased the starter to 2.5 cups, omited the yeast and reduced the water to 1/2 c. I could only get 5 c. flour total into it, but it was perfect. I wish I had let my starter sour more, but it is good anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      This was made - believe it or not - with "Amish friendship bread" starter ( a starter made with milk, flour, sugar + the wild yeast in the air) that was fed one day before making this bread. I was tired of always having to make the sweet cake-like bread and wanted to try something else. The bread turned out wonderful - not sweet at all and very moist and soft. The softness I believe came from the steaming. The only thing I will change next time is I will add more salt - The bread had a great crust, super texture, and was just sour enough, but was just a bit bland in flavor - maybe due to my Amish starter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Used this recipe for the first time today. The timings in the recipe were spot on and the bread turned out really well. My wife even likes it! I was hoping for a little more of the sourdough tang but other than that I think this is a very good bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      This is a wonderful bread recipe. I've been using it for about 6 months, and making it at least once a week. Make it just like the recipe calls for, and have never had a failure with it. I do spray my oven a couple of times the first 10 minutes of baking time, and always have a beautiful colored, crusty outside, soft inside loaf of bread when its done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      I am in love with this bread. I am new to sourdough and this recipe made me a believer! I halved the recipe and got a fairly big round loaf. The crust was absolutely perfect and crisp and the inside was chewy. However, I made a mistake and took it out at 28 minutes since my oven runs hot and after slicing into it I found that the centre was slightly underbaked, so next time I will probably leave it in the oven for 35 minutes. Even with my underbaing mistake this was still an extremely delicious bread, I will be making this very often in the future! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      Great recipe ... and very similar to the one I've used for years. We recently moved and haven't found my box of recipes and recipe books. So, I checked out this website and started the started on Saturday. Today I've baked three long loaves ... and our home smells heavenly! Somethings I did differently: I added 1/4 c. gluten to the warm water, sugar, yeast, butter, salt, and flour mixture. Then mixed sourdough starter in, let the mixture set 10-15 minutes (covered), then added the rest of the flour plus 1/2 tsp baking soda before kneading. I also let the dough rise twice ... I think it makes for a lighter bread plus it sure makes the whole house smell great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Great recipe. I have been learning how to make different breads and using by sourdough starter. I made A GIANT loaf of bread from this bread it was really fun. I am going to make another loaf tonight and am going to order the sour salt. Thank you Pa. Hiker for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      This was my first time ever making a yeast bread from scratch - never wanted to do the work as I no longer have my bread machine or the beloved KitchenAide. I used a sourdough starter on Zaar and after 5 days was ready to try. I was so WOW! when the aroma took over the house and even more so when it came out of the oven crusty outside and nice and chewy. I did a lot of research before trying & looked at hundreds of recipes before I tried this one. I also made into a traditional baguette shape as I had some French Onion Soup that I needed to finish off. Thanks for a great Recipe and helping make me successful on my first try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      This recipe turned me from a "wanna-be" bread maker into an (apparently) experienced one. Had everyone raving over this bread...in appearance and taste. I have only tried my sourdough once making bread and didn't have very good results. This turned out so beautiful I was totally in shock. My picky grandkids devoured 1 whole loaf themselves. My granddaughter asked if she could take home the remaining bread "because my mommy doesn't have this at home"! lol Thanks for sharing such a great recipe. It is for sure a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      This is very good bread!!! I fed my starter and let it sit out for 2 days then made this recipe!!! Very good bread!!!! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      I just took it out of the oven and sliced while still warm. Wonderful! I was looking for a quicker recipe for my new starter than traditional methods using starter only. That method can take hours which means I wouldn't be eating this until tomorrow! After reading reviews that said it needed to be a little more sour I decided to add 2 tablespoons of vinegar to the water in the recipe. It may or may not have made a big difference but I like this recipe and will make it many times more! Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1602.3
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    11%
    Total Fat 21.2 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1179.9 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 306.5 g
    102%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 19.8 g
    79%
    Protein 40.3 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites