Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2009

      Although I too didn't get the sourdough taste out of this bread, it's still worth making. Mine came out in a perfect texture - best bread I've made yet. The taste was great too-my younger son and husband each had thirds! I also love that this is a low fat bread (2 points on Weight Watchers if you divide into 20 servings). I also used Smart Balance Omega blend for the butter. I might try to find a more sour yogurt for the next time. Thanks for posting another great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Still might miss the true Sourdough Bread this is well worth making. I followed exactly using active dry yeast, french bread setting 1.5 lb loaf. Nice and high, full of air holes, and a great crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      I had to make this twice as the first time in my bread machine, on French cycle, it was hard and the top sunk. I made it on the regular cycle the next morning and it has a lovely texture, although, again my bread machine doesn't need that much yeast so the top sunk alittle. Next time I will use 2 tsps of yeast. I threw in some dried rosemary as we were having it with lentil soup and it is so good. Thanks, Carole in Orlando.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      I made this is my new bread machine and LOVED it! Definitely to be made again, and again, and again.....................!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      I made this bread today for the the second try. I don't have a bread machine, but did it in my bosch mixer. The first try I didn't pay enough attention when I was adding my flour and it was a small heavy loaf. Today I doubled the recipe and left off about 1/2 cup flour per loaf and it rose beautifully. It tasted really good and it slices nice and thin. Its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      Wonderful bread that went great with Crockpot Minestrone Crock Pot Minestrone. I didn't use any lemon juice without any problems. Thanks Barb for another keeper bread recipe which we will be making often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      Done it, ate it, loved it!!! Very easy to make, most likely up there with the nicest white loafs you will ever get from your bread maker… light, fluffy really tasty with a bite that the yoghurt gives it (by the way add a little more, go to 2/3 a cup. As for it being sour dough… I’m not sure. I live in the UK and sour dough bread is one of the things I love most about visiting the east coast of the US, and I’m afraid this loaf just doesn’t cut it on those stakes (sorry about the pun), I’ve yet to try one involving the full ‘starter’ but that’s the next move… Please don’t let this put you off, it’s a fantastic loaf, and toasts just like sour dough bread, give it a try, I’m sure you’ll agree…

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2003

      i am not going to rate this yet, i have to make it again. it came out very compact with alot of crust and didn't rise very much. the taste was also bland. i did follow the recipe exactly. i want this to work, i don't keep a sourdough starter around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (750 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1737.1
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    42%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 32.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 3681.7 mg
    153%
    Total Carbohydrate 337.9 g
    112%
    Dietary Fiber 13.5 g
    54%
    Sugars 23.4 g
    93%
    Protein 53.7 g
    107%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes