Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2014

      I used up extra starter and the older blackened bananas! No waste, woo hoo! Wonderful banana bread, a most enjoyable breakfast for the family. I used part whole wheat flour and butter in the recipe. The only other change I might make next time would be to decrease the sugar by 1/4 cup or so. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Banana nut bread has to be one of my favorite things on earth, and to make one with leftover starter only makes it that much better. I use butter instead of shortening and white whole wheat flour, it rises beautifully and is absolutely yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

    • on June 12, 2012

      Wonderful bread! My husband loves banana bread, and he said this was the best he'd ever had! Huge hit with the whole family!!!! Will definately keep this recipe around

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      This is a really nice banana bread. I love that it is dairy free as I have several friends who are lactose intolerant. It is a bit lighter and drier than my favorite banana bread recipe, but the lovely sourdough tang is so delightful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      I've had a favorite banana bread for EVER and then I found this one to make with sourdough starter, and I will never go back. Even when I turned it sugar free for a neighborhood boy, it was still WONDERFUL! WTG on this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Looks like pretty much a standard banana bread recipe but with a cup of starter added. The recipe I use has two eggs. Also, I cut the fat and sugar in half or less, use double the amount of OVERRIPE bananas (the browner the better, nearly black and oozing is fine), and use half whole wheat flour. My bread must be eaten or frozen right away, in 24 hours it will start to ferment badly with the overripe 'nanas, but the flavor is terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Delicious, but crumbles easily. Preparation directions were a bit confusing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      This is THE best banana bread recipe. I made muffins instead of bread and they were gone between my husband and I within a few hours. We couldn't stop munching on them!! Will use this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This is the first time I have made banana bread and I think that I will be making it again, it has a really nice taste I don't know if banana bread made without sourdough would taste as good, I just know that I really liked this one so I don't see the need to make any other, plus as it uses my sourdough starter. I made exactly to the recipe. Thank's for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Had all the ingredients as we are baking for the holidays and two bananas were just waiting for something exciting to go into. And, that's just what they got! The batter was very thick, but tasted great so I knew we were in for a treat. Next time I will add 1/4 milk or water as it made a very crumbly bread. But it tasted YUMMY! Not as dense as traditional banana bread. I substituted 1 c Splenda blend , and added 1 tsp pumpkin spice. Also, I split the dough into a 4 loaf pan. They cooked in 30 minutes in my convection/bake oven. Great use of Sourdough Starter. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This had lots of flavour and made a beautiful looking loaf. For me, I found the 60 minutes baking time too long. I checked it after 55 minutes and found the crust overly browned & the inside done. Next time I will start checking after 50 minutes. (my oven temp IS accurate, btw). When I cut into it, it was crumbly. I think I may have to either add another egg, or less flour, depending on the condition of my starter (thin or thick). I will make again, paying attention to my batter so I can get the good results that others are having. I will make again as the taste is wonderul.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I think this is the best banana bread recipe I have tried (and I have tried a lot!) But then, anything with sourdough starter is always wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This was really tasty, but I'm glad I used a cookie sheet, as it overflowed my bread pan and made a big, tasty mess! I added cinnamon, but otherwise followed the recipe. I will try this again with two loaf pans and just have two lower, but equally tasty, loaves. Thanks for sharing a recipe that helps me use starter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I made this using kefir instead of the starter, & smart balance, only 2 bananas, and no salt. I don't chop the walnuts up much either. Was SO delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Great banana bread. Very nice texture, great to have another use for my starter. I make a lot of banana bread as I often have old bananas to use up, and while this is not the lowest fat recipe, the texture makes up for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Delicious! Definitely the best banana bread I have ever tasted.. I'm not sure if it has to do with the starter or what. This bread is light and fluffy, the perfect weight, not dense and thick like normal banana bread. The yellow color is interesting but fun. I used 3 bananas to make one cup. A good tip for making banana bread is too not mash them too much, i leave about quarter sized chunks, and this will prevent the bread from becoming too chewy. I did about 1/4 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup walnuts because i ran out of both, but it turned out delicious. #4/5 is slightly confusing, I would recommend mixing all dry ingredients in bowl. This is probably what they meant but it was a little unclear. I also split into 2 9*5 pans, because I am bringing one to a friend and wanted to keep one for my family! They both turned out good sized, but it would be good to have the height of one loaf. Great recipe I highly recommend it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Hmmmmmmm I am snacking on a piece of this right now. Its still warm and the butter is melting. I love baking other things besides bread with my sourdough. I love the sourdough smell and taste this loaf gives off. I made it as per recipe for the most part but got side tracked and forgot the walnuts and I used almond extract in instead of vanilla. I used my cast iron loaf pan and its has a wonderful crunchy crust on it. This is a keeper to use up the sourdough when its not bread making day. Thanks a bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Made my world rock!!! I exchanged the walnuts for chocolate chips as my DH is not supposed to eat nuts. Nice way to use up my sourdough starter and some frozen bananas that I had in the freezer. I thought the bananas would release too much liquid, but everything worked out wonderfully! As I usually freeze my quick breads, I made these into 2 smaller loaf pans (they were done in 40 - 45 minutes). I find that they are easier to cut into slices when frozen. I also tried Kittencal's Pan Release, Better Than Pam Spray! (Professional Pan Coating) #78579 and it worked like a snap! This one is going into the books!! Great contribution!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      This is by far the BEST banana bread we ever tasted! Very easy to make and with frozen bananas in the freezer I can mix one up quickly. A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.5
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    43%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 283.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 19.2 g
    76%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites