15 Reviews

Update: I tried an experiment to see if you could freeze these biscuits the way you could freeze regular Angel Biscuits. I made up a batch, but removed 3 biscuits and froze them. I thawed them (covered) on my counter for about 45 minutes, then cooked them in my toaster oven. They were nice on the inside but the crust came out a bit on the crunchy side. Would I freeze them again....no! August 8, 2006 These biscuits were wonderful and got great raves from family that were visiting. I omitted the extra butter as I found that it wasn't needed. I felt that it was a little light on the salt, so I upped it to 1 tsp. As the family was here for 2 weeks, I made these often! I made these up in advance, put them in the fridge until needed... brought them to room temperature, then baked them. My kitchen smelt wonderful! Much appreciated, Donna!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl August 12, 2009

First time I've ever used dry yeast WITH starter but what a pleasant surprise. These rose so high and where light and delish - Thanks Donna, the whole family loved them, even my picky DGS's who won't usually try anything. I took advantage of some of the early reviews and followed the store in fridge over night & then pop in the oven in the morning. DH just recently made me a "proofing box" so using that my morning rise time was cut in half. YUM, wish I could give this TEN stars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 26, 2007

I wanted to update my review of these wonderful biscuits. The second time I made them; I used my new wild yeast starter and made the night before. Allowed them to rise about 1/2 the time stated, covered them and placed them in the refrigerator overnight. The next morning I took them out and let them come to room temperature, brushed them with the melted butter and then baked them the specified amount of time. They were awesome. These will become a regular in my house.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 22, 2005

AWESOME Biscuits. Loved the texture with a slightly chewey inside and a nice crisp outside. This was the first time using my other "starter" by KimmieOH Sourdough Starter and it was wonderful. Thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 04, 2005

Mmm...we made these for breakfast this morning and they were wonderful! I used all margarine (don't have shortening) and they were buttery and light like baking powder biscuits but with sourdough characteristics like being sort of chewy with a nice crust. We enjoyed them a lot we'll be making them again! Uploading a pic, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish September 09, 2002

These are so light and delicate! These are the most biscuit-like of the sourdough biscuit recipes that I've tried. Delightful with a pat of butter and drizzle of honey. Mmmm....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs February 24, 2012

By Gosh... I think I'm getting the hang of this sourdough baking! This recipe got to be my 2nd try and it went without a hitch. I know that it helped that I had them raising on top of the stove with the oven on. I served them with stuffed pork chops last night and reheated them in the micro inside a plastic bag tonight and served with Ham and Cabbage Soup. The went GREAT together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker August 13, 2008

Wonderful!!!!! I just made a batch. They are so light I ate three before I knew it. They are wonderful with butter and honey. Thank you for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mota14253 June 23, 2008

While searching for something different to make with my starter, I found this recipe. These biscuits are really good. I made some again today. They were light on the inside and since I used my cast iron biscuit pan, the outside was both flaky and crispy. I made these in the middle of the day and ate two with honey butter and jelly. They were so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spycethyme June 08, 2008

Made these for supper tonight. Quick, easy, and tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitaye November 27, 2007
Sourdough Angel Biscuits