Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sourdough Angel Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough Angel Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2009

      Update: I tried an experiment to see if you could freeze these biscuits the way you could freeze regular Angel Biscuits. I made up a batch, but removed 3 biscuits and froze them. I thawed them (covered) on my counter for about 45 minutes, then cooked them in my toaster oven. They were nice on the inside but the crust came out a bit on the crunchy side. Would I freeze them again....no! August 8, 2006 These biscuits were wonderful and got great raves from family that were visiting. I omitted the extra butter as I found that it wasn't needed. I felt that it was a little light on the salt, so I upped it to 1 tsp. As the family was here for 2 weeks, I made these often! I made these up in advance, put them in the fridge until needed... brought them to room temperature, then baked them. My kitchen smelt wonderful! Much appreciated, Donna!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      First time I've ever used dry yeast WITH starter but what a pleasant surprise. These rose so high and where light and delish - Thanks Donna, the whole family loved them, even my picky DGS's who won't usually try anything. I took advantage of some of the early reviews and followed the store in fridge over night & then pop in the oven in the morning. DH just recently made me a "proofing box" so using that my morning rise time was cut in half. YUM, wish I could give this TEN stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      AWESOME Biscuits. Loved the texture with a slightly chewey inside and a nice crisp outside. This was the first time using my other "starter" by KimmieOH Sourdough Starter and it was wonderful. Thank you so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      I wanted to update my review of these wonderful biscuits. The second time I made them; I used my new wild yeast starter and made the night before. Allowed them to rise about 1/2 the time stated, covered them and placed them in the refrigerator overnight. The next morning I took them out and let them come to room temperature, brushed them with the melted butter and then baked them the specified amount of time. They were awesome. These will become a regular in my house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Mmm...we made these for breakfast this morning and they were wonderful! I used all margarine (don't have shortening) and they were buttery and light like baking powder biscuits but with sourdough characteristics like being sort of chewy with a nice crust. We enjoyed them a lot we'll be making them again! Uploading a pic, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      These are so light and delicate! These are the most biscuit-like of the sourdough biscuit recipes that I've tried. Delightful with a pat of butter and drizzle of honey. Mmmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      By Gosh... I think I'm getting the hang of this sourdough baking! This recipe got to be my 2nd try and it went without a hitch. I know that it helped that I had them raising on top of the stove with the oven on. I served them with stuffed pork chops last night and reheated them in the micro inside a plastic bag tonight and served with Ham and Cabbage Soup. The went GREAT together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Wonderful!!!!! I just made a batch. They are so light I ate three before I knew it. They are wonderful with butter and honey. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      While searching for something different to make with my starter, I found this recipe. These biscuits are really good. I made some again today. They were light on the inside and since I used my cast iron biscuit pan, the outside was both flaky and crispy. I made these in the middle of the day and ate two with honey butter and jelly. They were so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Made these for supper tonight. Quick, easy, and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      Just made these and they came out fantastic, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      Perfect breakfast biscuits! Topped with egg, spinach and cheese. Great start to my morning (and use for my starter!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      These biscuits are great. I used a soft whole wheat pastry flour for the flour (my starter is also whole wheat). I omitted the dipping in butter. Made this way, they have a slightly crunchy crust, and the inside is light and tender. The flavor's complex and interesting - yeast, sourdough, and baking powder biscuits in one. They're really satisfying cold with butter the following day, too. Very easy to make. Hallelujah! A new favorite biscuit recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      These were great! Made them one cold afternoon for a treat, they didn't last 1/2 an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      Made these last week. They turned out great and disappeared fast! I used bread flour. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough Angel Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.6
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    61%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 161.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes