29 Reviews

I love this recipe! Instead of vegetable oil I used 1/3 cup of melted butter, it made it taste even more homemade. Went great with my homemade fluffy chocolate frosting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujeypie November 18, 2012

I stopped making yellow cake mixes because I hated the "process flavor" of it that seemed I (a regular baker) could only detect. I decided to try this one because the reviews said it didn't have that "taste" and since it seemed easy. Well I was very happy I did! It taste really good! I will be making it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMOR DE PUGS November 23, 2009

What a nice recipe Marie. We really enjoyed this lovely cake made with a mix. I didn't have enough sour cream so I added some cream cheese to the mix. Wow, was this cake good, quick and easy to make with great results. excellent flavor and texture. The cake was moist, tender and light, frosted with a simple butter cream frosting. Made for Whats on the Menu Tag Game. 2014

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 03, 2014

Good cake. My daughter love it but next time I will use 2 pans for this recipe. I kinda burn the bottom part as It took a while to cook in 1 pan. Didn't change a thing. Add some store bought icing and some christmas decor. A friiend of mine suggested to use cool whip next time for creamier taste icing. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twinkle T. December 25, 2013

This is exactly the recipe I was looking for; I'm not interested in becoming a cake-baking aficionado, but I figured there had to be some way to spruce up a boxed cake so it actually tasted good. This was perfect! Really impressive-tasting for how easy it was. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ervigile March 27, 2011

GREAT!! I dont like the "mix taste" of the box and this had none! It is very easy to put together. I have made this as a sheet cake with chocolate icing and as a bundt cake with chocolate glaze. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover January 09, 2010

i had reached the point where i detested cake mixes!!! dry and artificial tasting and just all around awful. i started making chocolate cakes this way and the difference is like night and day. so i thought i'd try this yellow cake. to me, yellow cake has never been something to write home about. but this recipe is FANTASTIC! almost tastes like pound cake to me. i also added a package of vanilla instant pudding. otherwise, followed this recipe. highly recommended. you'll never go back to the old way of just adding eggs, oil, and water again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deanne_smallwood_thomas July 30, 2009

Better than homemade! I gave up on box mixes long ago but have never been able to find a good yellow cake recipe. Last month, for my 5 year old's birthday party I made a homemade yellow cake and it was terrible, dry, dry dry. Now this month, for my little girl's first birthday, I was determined to not let that happen again. I decided a mix might not be *that* bad if I could add some things to it. This cake was fantastic. It didn't taste like a mix at all, and it didn't have the texture of a box mix. Very moist, flavorful. I used cream cheese frosting (#6536) and was just so pleased. Until I find that perfect yellow cake recipe (which I'm beginning to doubt is out there, I've tried LOTS), this is the one for me. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madefromscratch May 21, 2009

Delicious. Not as fluffy as regular box but very moist and held up the homemade chocolate frosting. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gomezpartyof5 June 21, 2016

Fantastic, easy, fun to make cake to enjoy; Great for Holi-day time,and stop in visitors..I made mine in a blender ;never had a cake that went together so smoothly, effortless and delicious!<br/>I made it in a Toaster oven at 325 degrees for 30 minutes,and also made a quick lemon glaze to drizzle on top using 1C water, 1 cup of sugar and 2T of lemon juice ..boiled together until a light syrup, about 5 minutes,...While cake was still warm, tuned out onto a platter and slowly drizzle gaze until all absorbed. Rave family reviews! Thanks for this gift of a recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulagelart December 11, 2014
Sour Cream Yellow Cake