Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Softies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Softies

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2002

      I am so happy I tried this recipe. The taste of these cookies reminds me of something from my childhood! I only made half the recipe, just to be sure I was going to like them, and now I am really sorry I didn't make the whole thing. My daughter loved them too, and she doesn't usually care for anything that I make a fuss over, typically 12 I guess!! thanks, these will be made again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      I added 2 eggs and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. These wonderful treats are similar to Snickerdoodles!Very, very GOOD! [Editor's Note: the recipe has been updated based on these comments. 9/8/02]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      This is exactly the recipe I had been searching for! They came out wonderfully soft and extremely tasty. A real hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      babylucol is exactly right. The directions say to to add eggs and vanilla but somehow they are not listed in the ingredients. She is rigth on about the amounts too 2 eggs and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.They are listed in the recipe I have but somehow got cut off when I submited the recipe here. I just sent in a correction to add them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      Very soft...very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      Perfect, perfect, perfect! I have already made these three times and I only first saw the recipe a couple of weeks ago. They are nice, soft, cake-like cookies with a very mildly sweet and creamy taste. My Dad and I are sweet addicts and we loved them and even my hubby and Mom, who don't have much of a sweettooth, went nuts for them. These are the cookies to make when you need to please a wide variety of taste buds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I can't tell you how excited I was to find this recipe! When I was a little girl, my mom and I used to make these cookies. They were my absolute favorite! I made a batch today, and they're just as delicious as I remember! A tip for those who say the dough is sticky: Refrigerate the dough for an hour or so, and keep it refrigerated while you're baking these cookies... take the dough out just long enough to spoon it onto the cookie sheets. It makes it much easier to work with! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      I love this recipe! It worked perfectly, was part of my "new" Christmas cookie trays (I try a new one every year)and the directions were right on. My oven had them baking just perfectly after 10 minutes. Had to hide them in order to have enough for gifts, the ultimate compliment here, Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      This same recipe is one that my family has used for as long as I can remember! The only difference is, we don't use the cinnamon and sugar, we frost them and dip them in sprinkles. It's the best sugar cookie, since it's light and fluffy. My best Christmas memories are of sitting down to frost them and sprinkle them. I highly recommend this recipe, in either form!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      im not too fond of these! they sounded great, but are basically little cakes in the shape of cookies. I didn't really pick up the cinnamon flavor to strongly, which would have been nice. Dough was really sticky so I tried the freezer trick and it worked great. The weird thing was that I made several batches and the large cookies burned on the bottom even tho I made them as big as the recipe called for. the 400degree cooking temp is WAAAYYYY too hot! I tried making smaller versions and that worked better. The dough tasted way better than the cooked version. Overall i wont make these little cakes again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Very soft cookie with crisp edges. Easy to make and delicious. We preferred the colored sugar on top to the cinnamon/sugar mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      My family and friends enjoyed this cookie very much. It reminds me of the nice soft fluffy cookies I loved so much as a child. A good soft cookie recipe this good is hard to come by. This is now my new sugar cookie recipe as well. Thank you so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      I make these every Christmas topped with red and green sugar. They're always some of the first to go, and they've always been one of my personal favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      These were awful! There was no flavor at all. I checked back to make sure I didn't forget to add something but I hadn't. I tried adding lemon extract but that didn't help. The only thing that made them edible for us at all was when I added chocolate chips. I will definitely not be wasting my time on these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I had way too much sour cream to go through, so I tried this recipe. My husband, all his coworkers, and anyone else I give them to just love them. They're a little too plain for my taste, but people have said that they love the fluffy cake texture and the lightness of them, and that they go really well with coffee. It was very easy to make, and it's a regular recipe of mine now, especially when I have leftover sour cream after making mexican food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      I made these. Boring, not much flavour. Texture very cake-like. I wouldn't make these again. Not worth the butter IMO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      Snickerdoodles? Yes, they're similar. But I think the texture is more like scones. I can't wait to try this recipe adding perhaps 1/2 cup of currants and leaving off the cinnamon sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2005

      This is the stickiest stuff I have ever seen. I sprayed everything with Pam several times. I was really worried, but they turned out great! They are similar in taste to snickerdoodles, and the very cake-like texture surprised me! Fabulous way to use up some left over sour cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      I made chicken in sour cream recipe last night, so I was looking for a cookie recipe to use up the rest of it. I found this recipe by 1Steve and made it. and I liked the flavour of cinnamon. I already gave some to my friends and they all liked them. Thank you so much for the nice cookie recipe! I hope you enjoy & like the photo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      These were really great. The mix does get a little hard to work with, but not a big deal. I added these to my Christmas cookie trays and they were a hit. I did add a tad more than a sprinkle of the cinn/sugar mixture, to give it a little more flavor, and they turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Softies

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 21

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.1
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    34%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 36.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 193.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes