Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Rye Bread (ABM) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Rye Bread (ABM)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2007

      *Updated June 28/07: Yup, the fat-free sour cream was definitely the problem. Make sure to use regular, full-fat sour cream!! Or supplement the fat-free with 2-3 tbsp. margarine. I also added a little extra vinegar to intensify the flavour a little. NOW I will definitely make this again and again!! June 27/07: Okay, something went horribly, horribly wrong here. I actually threw out the first loaf half-way through the bake cycle because it hadn't risen at all and I thought I'd only put 2 c. of flour instead of 3. I tried it again, but the same thing happened. The flavour is good, but it didn't rise at all. Could it be because I used fat-free sour cream? That's the only thing I can think of. I love the idea of not needing starter for sourdough, but I'm not sure I'll try this again unless someone can confirm what the problem was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      This is really good! I mixed the warm water with the sugar and yeast and let sit while I mixed the other ingredients in a bowl. Once I mixed them all together I kneaded the dough until it was not sticky anymore. Then let rise and baked it in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes. It was perfect!! I like the little bit of sour taste and the mild rye flavor. Great recipe and super easy! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      This is the first ABM recipe I have tried that had a true rye bread flavor. I added a teaspoon of onion powder. Next time I'll add a little more--and there WILL be a next time. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I made this recipe as instructed, to include baking it in my bread machine, with one exception - I did use reduced fat sour cream (NOT fat free however), and I had no difficulty with the dough rising. In fact, the texture was quite good. I enjoyed the bread, and the only flaw was that it really doesn't taste like rye bread to me at all, despite the rye flour. It tastes more like a light wheat sourdough to me. However, I still enjoyed it very much and it will make nice sandwich bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Sorry, but this was terrible. It looked like a 5" block of wood. I definitely will not waste ingredients on it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This is an outstanding recipe. I love the taste and texture of the bread. I added 2 tablespoons of caraway seed and baked it in the oven at 350*. I won't be buying rye bread at the store anymore, that's for sure. This was so simple and I always have all the ingredients needed. Thank you for the best bread recipe I've tried so far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      New to bread-making, I was not sure what to expect here. I just knew I liked rye bread & was intrigued w/the use of sour cream. The only chg I made was to add 1 tsp caraway seed & will prob use more next time. This is a light rye (the rye taste solidly there, but not as strongly so as in a dark rye loaf) & this loaf was smaller than other 1.5 lb loaves I have been making. DH & my MIL loved it, but I nearly made myself a widow when I found DH hacking away at the loaf b4 I had taken a pic. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      This is an excellent recipe! I added 3 tbs of wheat gluten and 3 tbs caraway sead. I moved the dough to a bread pan, let it rise until doubled and baked it 1 hour at 350F. This was by far the perfect rye loaf. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      Good bread, though not very sourdough-y. Possibly I didn't add enough vinegar. Good enough to make me want to try again, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2004

      Wonderful bread which we will be having often. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Rye Bread (ABM)

    Serving Size: 1 (683 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1598.7
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    16%
    Total Fat 28.7 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 50.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 2403.6 mg
    100%
    Total Carbohydrate 291.0 g
    97%
    Dietary Fiber 23.5 g
    94%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 42.4 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites