74 Reviews

Love this recipe! Made it with plain yogurt and pumpkin pie spice. I have 2 smaller loaf pans that it fills perfectly and my family ate 1 loaf in one sitting. I love the variations too, banana nut and can't wait to try the apple. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof2kiddos March 16, 2009

I am going to rate without stars, as I had some fun with this one. So every day I use my Jack LaLaine juicer and as I throw out the pulp from the fruits I think, "man, I hate to throw this away. . .I should cook with it like they suggest." So today, I made a great juice of pineapple, strawberries, grapes and orange and I put the pulp to use. . .I subbed the pumpkin for the fruit pulp. Evidently the pulp wasn't as dry as Jack claims it to be, as my bread, after an hour and 15 minutes was getting burne around the edges and was not cooked thru the middle. That being said, the gooey bread DID taste fabulous. I promise to come back and make this again in the very near future with pumpkin and give you some stars!!! My bad this time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride February 26, 2009

FANTASTIC and very moist. I skipped the spices and added 1/2C. of ghiradelli chocolate chips. Family and guests loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
droliverniner February 11, 2009

Yummy! I was looking for a way to use my pumpkin puree and this did not disappoint. I made 4 mini loafs from this recipe, baked for 40 minutes. No alterations. The bread is very moist and not too sweet. Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hildesteffey January 29, 2009

I made this and it is just as rated...a 5 star. The only thing I did different was putting the butter, sugar and eggs together and creaming then adding the vanilla, pumpkin and sour cream to this "wet" ingrediant. I then added the dry, or flour and spices, to this wet mixture. I hand mixed this, not to over mix and the bread came out perfect. You will not be disappointed in this bread you can make year round. Great for athletes; take a slice on a hike instead of those oversweetened bars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irundou01 January 25, 2009

Just as good as the banana version. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joanne Brance January 02, 2009

This is yummy bread!! I followed the recipe exact except I used FF sour cream. Will take this to my BFF for Christmas. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 December 24, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe. I doubled it, made one large loaf and 5 mini loaves. Then I did the same using the mashed bananas. I planned to use the mini loaves as gifts but may need to make more! I may try the applesauce once I get apple pie spice. I was very impressed by the texture and moisture. I have made other breads but had difficulty removing them from the pans...no problem with these. Thanx for a wonderful recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ninamycl December 20, 2008

This bread had excellent texture, but I forgot to add the cinnamon & nutmeg. It was still good sprinkled with the missing spices and butter. I also made a loaf into bread pudding, and that was very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zangera December 06, 2008

Excellent! I added pumpkin pie spice instead of the nutmeg and tried the vanilla yogurt. It came out great. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilseeester December 02, 2008
Sour Cream Pumpkin Bread