Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Pumpkin Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Pumpkin Bread

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2014

    • on October 27, 2013

      Add another 5 stars from me. I used Splenda for the sugar and pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg, also added a squirt of ginger paste. The final result is one excellent tasting pumpkin loaf. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      Beautiful texture & flavor!!! Delighted that it came out the first time without any adjustments for altitude (4500 ft). For the pumpkin puree I just used some fresh roasted Cinderella pumpkin... and topped with the usual cream cheese frosting. Fabulous with or without topping though. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Mmmmm...I used the pumpkin. House smelled wonderful while this was baking. I did a double load: 1 regular loaf and 3 mini loaves. I didn't have plain pumpkin so I used what I had on hand - libby's easy pumpkin pie mix in the 30 ounce can. Although it's supposed to have all the spices required for making a pumpkin pie, I did add an additional 1-1/2 tsp of dry pumpkin pie spice mix and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon because we like lots of spice in our bread. I just mixed it in with the dry flour mixture, then added it all into the creamed butter/sugar. I had enough leftover pumpkin mix to do another batch tomorrow, where I'll also be doing the banana version for freezing. I can't believe how incredibly MOIST this bread is. Thanks for posting...YUMMY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Very good! I did add 1/4 tsp. of ginger and 1/2 tsp of baling powder, but so moist and delicious! Thanks for posting, made for I RECOMMEND 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      Sometimes the simple things are the best. This is a quick recipe to put together, and I only dirtied one bowl!! It's the end of October, and the whole house smells like the holidays. Winner winner winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      This was my first attempt at pumpkin bread, and I was thrilled at the results. I did made a few minor changes. I used an entire 15oz can of pumpkin and increased the flour by 1/3 a cup. I baked for an additional 15 minutes, because after an hour, the center seemed a little soft when I poked it with a toothpick. When it was still warm, I glazed the bread with a vanilla cinnamon glaze (made with a tablespoon of vanilla, tablespoon of melted butter, teaspoon of cinnamon, milk, and powdered sugar). This bread was delicious and moist. I think that next time I am going to triple the spices and add nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      Absolutely delicious bread!!! I will add another 5 star review and this will be my new pumpkin bread go to recipe. I tagged this recipe as my DS's girlfriend loves anything pumpkin, but now I am not sure I want to share any, lol!!! I made it as written but add chopped pecans to the bread. I had a slice warm from the oven with some whipped cream cheese and it was to die for!!! Thanks so much for sharing. Made for Stars Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

    • on July 11, 2008

      yum!! i used whole wheat flour and plain yogurt. it wasn't as sweet as i had expected, but it had a good and strong pumpkin flavor. definitely good, but not overwhelmingly so. thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This is a great recipe!!! I replaced 1 cup flour with whole wheat flour, I choose to use sour cream and also, replaced the nutmeg with allspice. As my husband doesn't really care for nutmeg. I made 4 mini loaves and baked for 45 minutes as directed. We will be making this again. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      hey Sharon123, Just wanted to let you know that I love your Sour Cream Banana Bread, it is the only recipe I use. I usually add chocolate chips and nuts to it also. I am looking for a pumpkin bread recipe, and I know that this will be just as good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      I have made this twice now in the last week, the only modification being an exchange of thick, sweetened Greek yogurt for the sour cream. It is an excellent pumpkin bread - dense, sweet, and spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      THis was amazing! I am giving it a five for flavor but I am not too happy with the nutritional benefits of it, however, the flavor and texture are amazing! It came out more like cake than bread and I will be using this recipe from now on, I'm ditching my old standby recipe I've used for years after using this one. I did make a few changes. Like a previous poster, I did half the butter and the other half applesauce. Next time I make it I will try exchanging out all the butter for applesauce for health reasons. I also used egg beaters instead of real eggs and light sour cream, again for fat content. Another thing I did was whip the batter in my Kitchenaide for a full minute before adding it to the pans. I don't know how much difference that made, but mine turned out moist and seriously cake-like. I doubled the batch and got three healthy sized loaves in 8x4 inch pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I made the banana version, and left in the spices, because I love spices in my banana breads. I was initially disappointed at the flavor and texture, however, when toasted up, I was delighted at the crispy outside and melt-in-your-mouth inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I am taking this to work tomorrow and it looks fantastic. I substituted half of the butter with unsweetened apple sauce and used reduced-fat sour cream. I was going to cut the sugar but when I tasted the batter, it didn't taste quite sweet enough so I put more in. I hope the texture comes out okay, because I discovered while I was baking that I was out of all-purpose flour. I used high gluten flour in its place, when I probably should have used pastry flour. We'll see how it tastes tomorrow. It smells absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I made three mini loaves and they came out the perfect amount. I followed the recipe exactly and we were very happy with the results. Very moist with just the right amount of spices for us. Thanks for posting. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      This was what I've been looking for! Outstanding recipe. Just incredible. It's super easy to throw everything together, and it bakes up beautifully. I made three mini-loaves, and I increased the cinnamon and nutmeg just a bit, but that's optional. It was really, really, really good. Just amazing. Incredible. Ten stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      WOW this is good. I made 2 loaves and my family loves it! today i am going to try the variation with applsauce and apple pie spice. I left out the cinnamon and nutmeg and just used 1 and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice and it was so GOOD! this will be made alot!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      I love baked goods made with sour cream as an ingredient...It adds a moistness and an underlying tang that can't be beat! I didn't need to bake it as long as the directions stated but it came out looking great...I'm donating the loaf to a bake sale next week where I'm sure it'll sell quickly...Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Pumpkin Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.2
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    42%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 84.4 mg
    28%
    Sodium 434.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 25.8 g
    103%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes