72 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I also stirred in 1/2 cup chopped pecans. This made a moist and tender quick bread and I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing Sharon. Made for Cookathon for Sharon in memory of DH.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn November 02, 2010

I threw in half a banana, 3/4 tsp. caramel extract, and 3/4 cup of pecans and it was delicious. Very moist.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merkorn December 05, 2009

Great pumpkin bread. Baked up beautiful and high in the 60 minutes. Dense and very moist without being heavy. I did use pumpkin pie spice instead of just the cinnamon and nutmeg, and I added 1/2 cup of plumped raisins. I think I'll be trying the banana version very soon :) And probably other fruits too. I think this is now my basic quick bread recipe. Thanks Sharon!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 09, 2009

Like the other reviewers, this was moist and flavorful without being heavy. It rose high for me, and I used pureed fresh pumpkin and 1/2 whole wheat flour The color was great. It stayed fresh for days too. This will become my go to quick bread recipe--I can't wait to experiment with apples and applesauce to cut some of the fat. Thanks for sharing this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suse40 January 12, 2012

I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could!! So incredibly delicious. It'll definitely be my go-to sweet bread/muffin recipe from now on. It's so light and fluffy and perfect. I can't wait to try to make a chocolate variation, or maybe a orange cranberry batch. Thanks a million for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoegirl21 January 18, 2012

Just okay. Easy recipe. Very moist bread but pumpkin flavor is somewhat bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zpagris September 23, 2011

Ok, I didn't make the recipe exactly as written. I followed "Deantini"'s suggestions for lowering the fat. The taste was out of this world - the addition of the sour cream really added a smoothness. However, Deantini, my bread did not rise. I made it with your exact changes. Any thoughts? I'm going to keep trying, because the flavor is really delicious. (However, for medical reasons, I need to lower the fat.) Anyone....any thoughts?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tgmullen6 August 30, 2011

Excellent pumpkin bread. It comes out very moist and has a delightful pumpkin flavor. I will definitely be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 09, 2010

Very good. I used splenda instead of sugar and made muffins instead of bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 03, 2010

This really is outstanding! Even my non-pumpkin bread eating daughter loved it and she is now converted. I made one loaf following the recipe using plain yoghurt and it was awesome. Then I made another loaf where I played with the ingredients; 1/4 cup butter, 1 egg, 1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree and and extra 1/4 cup flour and no nutmeg/cinnamon 1/2 cup chocolate chips. This was really good too, but next time I will reduce the sugar as it is too sweet with original amount and chocolate chips. I will definitely make the original loaf again and keep playing with the other one. Made for your Cook A'Thon

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini October 29, 2010
Sour Cream Pumpkin Bread