Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2003

      As you said..simple and delicious. Did serve it with strawberries and cream. Had a some left and used that for some mini trifle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Excellent pound cake!!! I had some sour cream that was going to go bad and needed to make something with sour cream... it helped that I'd been craving pound cake, but all my pound cake recipes omit sour cream so I needed a new recipe. This was much better than my other tried recipes because I think the sour cream made it more moist. I added three dashes of nutmeg as my mother does in her recipe. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      This Pound cake is so good! I added some lemon zest and a juice then I made a quick lemon glaze and it turned out fantastic!!! Moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. Thanks so much for the recipe, I'll make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      This recipe made for a delicious pound cake! I would have given it five stars but I only used a cup of sugar. We don't care for things to be overly sweet and that seems to be too much to me. I think the texture of this cake is just perfect, and has a great taste with just the cup of sugar. It was also a super simple recipe that can be whipped up in no time. Next time I may add some pure almond extract to this. This is the perfect cake to slice up, and add strawberries and freshly whipped cream for the best strawberry shortcake ever :-) Thanks for posting this, I plan to make it all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This was a really easy recipe to put together, and tastes very good. Another good thing about this recipe is that it looks like it will be a no brainer to third (for the holidays in the little mini tins). I plan on making three different versions (chocolate & coffee, coconut & pineapple, and some unknown) for the family dinner. I will probably also test with yogurt (health issues w/in the family), and come up with several different things to compliment the varieties. It will be nice to road test the smaller versions before the big day :), and will also work when I don't need a full size version for myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This is a lovely pound cake, very rich, and was great used in Easy Strawberry Cheesecake Trifle. It was also very forgiving. I had measured out the sour cream and without thinking (clearly) I grabbed the wrong container and then had no idea how much sour cream was used. I only knew that it was likely more than 1/2 cup. The cake did split down the center but otherwise came out just fine. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Wonderful! Made this for dessert for a dinner party I was hosting...once we served dessert the table was absolutely quiet, everyone was too busy eating! The compliments kept on coming...I can't believe pound cake could be this incredible! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      This was awesome! I don't have a loaf pan, so I turned them into pound cake cupcakes. I also added a pinch of salt and made a lemon glaze as another review suggested. So tender and tasty! This batch probably makes 3 tins of 6 cupcakes each (I did 2 tins and they were a bit overflowing...oops!), filling them about halfway. I will make this again! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      This is a very nice Pound cake. We had it with fresh Strawberries and whipped cream. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      OH this is decadent tasting. I used non fat plain yogurt instead of sour cream. The edges are buttery and tasty. Next time, and there will be a next time, I am going to add some lemon zest and the juice of a lemon to make it lemon pound cake. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      While the cake was baking, I was pondering what kind of fruit to serve with it. However, the cake did not last long enough for me to decide. :D. It is truly delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Very nice cake. Used for chocolate fondue. Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      It was very good! All my kids loves it. I like this recipe because it's less butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      This is *the best*. We've made it probably half a dozen times and will definitely make it again. The sour cream really adds something special to this - the flavor tastes vaguely lemony to me, which is nice. Our favorite addition is some dried lavender - yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      I made this a few weeks ago and tried to make it a little bit lower in fat by using tub margarine, fat-free sour cream and egg beaters. It turned out fantastic! At first I thought that I had baked it too long, because the bottom of the cake was very crunchy. But I let it sit in a covered container, and it softened itself. Will definitely be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Wohow! This came out great! I'm not a fan of sour cream at all... But this came out wonderfully! I'm not really a baker, so this was nice and easy for me. I added about a cup of white chocolate chips to this, it FLEW off the shelf. I took it to a super bowl party (I had way too much as it is..) and it was all gone that very HOUR!! Hahaha! My family says 'props to whoever came up with this!' So yes. Awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      I made this to use in my Canada Flag "cake" and it worked great! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      Kozmic Blues this was wonderful. So easy and quick to make. Not alot of ingredients, but what flavour.My kitchen smelled incredible while this was cooking. The best part is that it tastes as good as it smells. A nice tall, dense, moist, tender poundcake, with a lovely crispy crust. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      Absolutely delicious ! DDs loved it. Added about 1/2 tsp almond extract too - just gave it more depth of flavor. Will keep in the recipe box !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      I made this a while ago and forgot to review and post photos! lol DUH!! It is a great recipe for a simple yet fabulous pound cake. I used it in a trifle :) Thanks so much! We really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.4
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    38%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 107.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 179.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 38.1 g
    152%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes