26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As you said..simple and delicious. Did serve it with strawberries and cream. Had a some left and used that for some mini trifle!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us June 16, 2003

Excellent pound cake!!! I had some sour cream that was going to go bad and needed to make something with sour cream... it helped that I'd been craving pound cake, but all my pound cake recipes omit sour cream so I needed a new recipe. This was much better than my other tried recipes because I think the sour cream made it more moist. I added three dashes of nutmeg as my mother does in her recipe. Thanks so much for posting this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samferg November 06, 2010

This Pound cake is so good! I added some lemon zest and a juice then I made a quick lemon glaze and it turned out fantastic!!! Moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. Thanks so much for the recipe, I'll make this again and again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ieatfoOod. May 19, 2006

This recipe made for a delicious pound cake! I would have given it five stars but I only used a cup of sugar. We don't care for things to be overly sweet and that seems to be too much to me. I think the texture of this cake is just perfect, and has a great taste with just the cup of sugar. It was also a super simple recipe that can be whipped up in no time. Next time I may add some pure almond extract to this. This is the perfect cake to slice up, and add strawberries and freshly whipped cream for the best strawberry shortcake ever :-) Thanks for posting this, I plan to make it all the time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatriotsGirl June 28, 2011

This was a really easy recipe to put together, and tastes very good. Another good thing about this recipe is that it looks like it will be a no brainer to third (for the holidays in the little mini tins). I plan on making three different versions (chocolate & coffee, coconut & pineapple, and some unknown) for the family dinner. I will probably also test with yogurt (health issues w/in the family), and come up with several different things to compliment the varieties. It will be nice to road test the smaller versions before the big day :), and will also work when I don't need a full size version for myself.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ala-kat November 03, 2010

This is a lovely pound cake, very rich, and was great used in Easy Strawberry Cheesecake Trifle. It was also very forgiving. I had measured out the sour cream and without thinking (clearly) I grabbed the wrong container and then had no idea how much sour cream was used. I only knew that it was likely more than 1/2 cup. The cake did split down the center but otherwise came out just fine. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV June 20, 2010

Wonderful! Made this for dessert for a dinner party I was hosting...once we served dessert the table was absolutely quiet, everyone was too busy eating! The compliments kept on coming...I can't believe pound cake could be this incredible! Thank you so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen March 13, 2010

This was awesome! I don't have a loaf pan, so I turned them into pound cake cupcakes. I also added a pinch of salt and made a lemon glaze as another review suggested. So tender and tasty! This batch probably makes 3 tins of 6 cupcakes each (I did 2 tins and they were a bit overflowing...oops!), filling them about halfway. I will make this again! Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PKG September 19, 2009

This is a very nice Pound cake. We had it with fresh Strawberries and whipped cream. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 June 25, 2009

OH this is decadent tasting. I used non fat plain yogurt instead of sour cream. The edges are buttery and tasty. Next time, and there will be a next time, I am going to add some lemon zest and the juice of a lemon to make it lemon pound cake. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 June 22, 2009
Sour Cream Pound Cake