16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect! Near my home there is a farm stand that also has a bakery with amazing pies. I discovered the sour cream lemon pie and fell in love, but it's $13.50 for one pie! So I was on the hunt for a recipe that could mimic it. This one is actually BETTER than the expensive bakery pie! I didn't change anything in the recipe and the flavor and texture was absolutely perfect! Actually, I did accidently use 3 1/2 tsps of cornstarch instead of 3 1/3, but it was fine and I don't think it changed it. I cooked the mixture on medium-low heat and I used a wire whisk to stir often. It seemed like it wasn't going to thicken, then all of sudden it did. The color and texture was beautiful, but I was a little worried when I tasted it because it didn't seem very lemony. After it was completely chilled and ready to be served the lemon flavor was much stronger. It is a perfect balance of tart lemon and sweet creaminess. Not too tart, not too sweet. I topped the pie with with whipped cream and garnished with lemon zest. This is my go-to pie recipe now and it's so easy to make! Thank you for the perfect recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheekygreek January 15, 2012

This is the best lemon pie I have ever made. The filling was lemony without being too tart. It didn't develop that "twang" that lemon pies sometimes get. Also the filling did not turn the crust into mush. Perfect. This will be my standby recipe for next year as well. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff December 27, 2005

My family really liked this pie. I didn't have as much lemon rind as the recipe required so used some lime rind too. I also cut the sugar to 3/4 cup, which was perfect for us. It was still sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
figtwig March 06, 2013

Very deserving of a 5 star review, I have no complaints, made this pie in no time, and was amazed at how great a simple pie recipe could taste, busrting with lemon flavor, I slightly burnt my homemade oatmel/ginger-snap cookie crust, but it went un-notice with everyone who tried the pie, they loved it. posted a photo :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuyaNicola November 14, 2012

We made this last Easter and I will be serving it again this Easter. My son loves this pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetstewardess April 23, 2011

Great easy recipe. I used soy milk and replaced the sour cream with soy raspberry yogurt for a non-dairy twist (my son is allergic)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Killerkitn February 23, 2010

I cut the sugar by 1/4 cup because some had said it was too sweet. I ended up adding a little more sugar in the form of powdered sugar at the end to cut the lemon. I definetely would make this again but I will use all the sugar called for next time. I think it would have been perfect if I had followered directions. It is very good. Thank you for this recipe. I used my blender stick to mix and it turned out really smooth. I also used Meyers lemons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evegpt December 31, 2009

This is a great simple pie, the family loved it. I would suggest a graham cracker crust. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigfishks December 22, 2009

This is an awesome recipe! I love Lemon, and this has the perfect amount of tangy sweetness. I prefer to put it in a graham cracker crust, it almost gives it a cheesecake feel. Also looks cute in individual ramikins with a graham cracker crust and a lemon twist garnish... A fun way to dress it up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueberry gal November 04, 2009

This pie is awesome! It is the richest, yet fluffiest lemon pie I have ever had. I added a little sugar and vanilla to the whipped cream to spread on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olive81 August 13, 2009
Sour Cream Lemon Pie