Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2011

      This coffee cake is a hit at our house and then some. I just took some over a dear old fella that knows good stuff and he loved this cake. I did top it off with a homemade peach topping. This is a fast, easy cake to make and turns out every time. Thank you for sharing with us!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Made this last night; it tastes great but it's incredibly dense. As in, fudge dense. But like the reviewer below me, I never managed to get the sugar/butter mixture into the required fluffy state, which may have caused the texture problem. If I can figure out what caused that problem and avoid it, this will be a great recipe to have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I doubled this and baked it in a 9 x 13 glass pan. While baking, DH said it was driving him crazy because it smelled so good. For whatever reason, I could not get the sugar creamed into a fluffy state, which I think explains why the cake was very heavy. I will make this again, but instead of melting the butter, I will increase it to 1/4 cup at room temp, and decrease the sour cream to 1/2 cup. I'll post the results. The topping was FABULOUS! Thanks for posting, we enjoyed this a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      I loved how quick this was to prepare & bake! I replaced a half cup of the flour with oat bran and added an extra 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the topping. The cake was a bit heavy (could be due to the oat bran) but yummy none-the-less......H2B insisted on eating it hot outta the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      We enjoyed this coffee cake for breakfast this morning. I replaced 1/2 c of the regular flour with white whole wheat flour and added some baking powder to help it rise, just in case. I also added a bit more flour to the topping, and used plain Greek style yogurt rather than sour cream as that's what I had on hand-- worked great. Thanks for the great start to our Sunday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Would make this, again & again!! Very delicious with coffee! The topping is very good! I keep this recipe in my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      We really enjoyed this coffeecake for breakfast this morning. It was super easy to put together and the addition of the sour cream makes for a nice, moist cake. I also love the smaller size. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Amazing Recipe!!!!! Everyone loved this recipe and it was so easy to make. I substituted oil for the butter in both the cake and topping and used lite sour cream with excellent results. I also doubled the recipe and placed it in a 9x13 inch pan and I'm glad I did because it went very quickly. Thanks Elaine for this great recipe!!! I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      I have made this recipe numerous and it always disappears quickly! Sometimes I add chopped nuts (pecans or walnuts) to the topping for some extra crunch. The one major change I made was to substitute 3-4 T applesauce for the egg because of food allergies. This is a moist, delicious recipe and very easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      i made this a couple hours ago & the apartment still smells wonderful. the consistancy was a little weird but the taste was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      This was excellent. Made this for Memorial Day BBQ and it was gone in no time. Made almost exactly as written except I added 1 more tablespoon of butter to the batter because I had reduced fat sour cream. I also sprinkled some mini choc. chips on to the batter before sprinkling on the toppings. Thank you for this easy and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      Wonderful recipe. I followed the directions to the word and it turned out great. Took it to a meeting and brought back a clean plate. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      My family and I really enjoyed this wonderful cake. My home smelled soooooo delicious, I didn't even need to light my candles that I usually light in the evening :). Thank you for a delicious and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      Made this for dinner and it turned out wonderfully! I used ww flour and added a touch of baking powder to help it rise. I had a little splash of buttermilk left and that gave it the perfect touch. Thank you for a great recipe. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      I followed the recipe except for the topping and I added about 3/4 cup chopped walnuts to it. Turned out very good, and I will make again. I baked in a glass pan so I reduced the temp. to 325* and baked for 40 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.8
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    30%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 33.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 221.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 22.1 g
    88%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes