Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2006

      Nice cake. I only had 1 cup of sour cream so I made up the difference with vanilla fat free yogurt. I used a bundt pan and put some of the topping in before adding the dough since that would be the top of the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Excellent cake. The texture is perfect - very moist! I baked mine for 45 minutes in a bunt pan and actually could have baked it a few minutes less. I also made a thin icing to drizzle over the top when it was finished. I will definitely be making this again but will add a little salt next time. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      I also doubled the topping. I swirled instead of layering the topping. I used a 9 x 13 & needed about 45 minutes. Very moist, dh said "it's wonderful". Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      I added 4 chopped apples, nutmeg and extra cinnamon to the topping mixture, as well as some salt as other reviewers suggested. Moist texture and tender crumb. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      YUM! first time making coffee cake, no need to look further for a recipe. two changes- i did not use nuts and i sprinkled just a bit of cinnamon into my dry ingreds as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Wonderful! Moist, light, not too sweet, quick to mix up. Baked this in a 9 X 13 pan and doubled the topping. I also added 3/4 tspn. of salt. Not used to baking without salt and did not want to chance this without it. Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This is such a great coffee cake. So rich and moist. A little piece is very satisfying. I don't have a bundt pan, so I used a 9x13 inch pan instead. I baked it for 30-35 minutes and doubled the cinnamon sugar mixture (simply because we like it that way).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I've made this cake twice, both times it was possitively delicious. However the first time I was an unfortunate victim of high altitude ( I live at 7200 ft) and had a lumpy, sunken, unattractive coffee cake. The second time I reduced the sugar, and baking powder slightly and added a little extra butter also heated the oven to 375. What I acheived with these adjustments was magic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Where to begin...This coffee cake was DELICIOUS! Now, I do have some confessions to make- first, this is my first time making a cake with sour cream in it, and it turned out great. Secondly, I didn't have any regular butter so I had to use unsalted butter, but it still turned out awesome. Lastly, I thought "dry ingredients" included the sugar hehe so I had to add more sugar to the butter so I could mix it, but this cake STILL came out awesome! This cake can't be ruined. It had a very nice texture to it, and great flavor! I used walnuts and my husband and toddler devoured it. Thanks for the recipe!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      i love this cake. soooo moist - maybe because it uses more sour cream than most of the other cakes of this genre. as others have said, it's not too sweet, so it's perfect with a cup of tea. i, too, love the fact that i usually have the ingredients on hand. great recipe - thanks so much bert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      Just threw this together in time for a couple of visitors - the cake was soon gone before it even had a chance to cool! I didn't quite have enough sour cream so in addition I poured in some milk to thin the batter a little bit. The cake was wonderfully dense and moist on the inside and crispy on the outside. Served with Tiramisu ice-cream... this dessert makes a great tea-time treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      This coffee cake was WONDERFUL!! We actually began to make it only to discover that we were out of white sugar. We used brown sugar in the cake batter and it substituted well. Thanks for this great recipe that we will make over and over!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Very good coffee cake. Very moist and not overly rich. My only problem is that the topping burned before the cake was done. Maybe next time I will put the topping on halfway through! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      This is a FABULOUS recipe-texture, even baking, balance! A KEEPER!!!<br/>Notes: I followed the suggestion of doubling the Topping, used Walnuts and also made an addition: I saturated 1/4 cup of freeze-dried coffee to the sour cream before adding it into the batter. This created a robust, wake-your taste-buds up COFFEE CAKE and EVERYONE LOVES IT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      to dry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      This is such a great recipe! The cake was so moist and delicious. I added a little salt as others suggested. I also halved the recipe and baked it in a 8x8 pan at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes - that was perfect for my oven. I also used double the topping, and I cut some butter into the mixture for more of a crumbly streusel like topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      A delicious, moist coffee cake! So often they are dry, but this is delightful. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Really good. Only change I made was using fat free sour cream. Made a nice moist and light tasting cake - we had it for Christmas morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      This is by far the best coffee cake I've ever made. The second time I made it, I inserted slices of apples, which I had sauteed with butter and sugar, in the middle of the cake. You can do so many variations on this. Absolutely fabulous recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      This was not so wonderful for me. Made the cake as written, but used a 3-inch by 9-inch round pan rather than tube/bundt. That might have yielded better results. Ended up baking nearly 65 minutes at 350, bottom of cake is still without crumb, not-quite-baked. Not sure if I like it enough to bother with a second effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 642.3
     
    Calories from Fat 301
    46%
    Total Fat 33.5 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 18.4 g
    92%
    Cholesterol 137.5 mg
    45%
    Sodium 524.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.4 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 45.0 g
    180%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites