56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice cake. I only had 1 cup of sour cream so I made up the difference with vanilla fat free yogurt. I used a bundt pan and put some of the topping in before adding the dough since that would be the top of the cake.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbacious March 13, 2006

Excellent cake. The texture is perfect - very moist! I baked mine for 45 minutes in a bunt pan and actually could have baked it a few minutes less. I also made a thin icing to drizzle over the top when it was finished. I will definitely be making this again but will add a little salt next time. Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda_c February 07, 2012

I also doubled the topping. I swirled instead of layering the topping. I used a 9 x 13 & needed about 45 minutes. Very moist, dh said "it's wonderful". Keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina A December 11, 2011

I added 4 chopped apples, nutmeg and extra cinnamon to the topping mixture, as well as some salt as other reviewers suggested. Moist texture and tender crumb. Everyone loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny July 18, 2010

This is such a great coffee cake. So rich and moist. A little piece is very satisfying. I don't have a bundt pan, so I used a 9x13 inch pan instead. I baked it for 30-35 minutes and doubled the cinnamon sugar mixture (simply because we like it that way).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjellis October 03, 2009

YUM! first time making coffee cake, no need to look further for a recipe. two changes- i did not use nuts and i sprinkled just a bit of cinnamon into my dry ingreds as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzieP May 30, 2010

Wonderful! Moist, light, not too sweet, quick to mix up. Baked this in a 9 X 13 pan and doubled the topping. I also added 3/4 tspn. of salt. Not used to baking without salt and did not want to chance this without it. Definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TendrMoon December 20, 2009

I've made this cake twice, both times it was possitively delicious. However the first time I was an unfortunate victim of high altitude ( I live at 7200 ft) and had a lumpy, sunken, unattractive coffee cake. The second time I reduced the sugar, and baking powder slightly and added a little extra butter also heated the oven to 375. What I acheived with these adjustments was magic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stuffed September 21, 2008

Where to begin...This coffee cake was DELICIOUS! Now, I do have some confessions to make- first, this is my first time making a cake with sour cream in it, and it turned out great. Secondly, I didn't have any regular butter so I had to use unsalted butter, but it still turned out awesome. Lastly, I thought "dry ingredients" included the sugar hehe so I had to add more sugar to the butter so I could mix it, but this cake STILL came out awesome! This cake can't be ruined. It had a very nice texture to it, and great flavor! I used walnuts and my husband and toddler devoured it. Thanks for the recipe!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pali's Favorites September 14, 2008

i love this cake. soooo moist - maybe because it uses more sour cream than most of the other cakes of this genre. as others have said, it's not too sweet, so it's perfect with a cup of tea. i, too, love the fact that i usually have the ingredients on hand. great recipe - thanks so much bert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AliBrooklynBaker March 04, 2008
Sour Cream Coffee Cake