Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Chive Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Chive Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2010

      I also made the bread into 16 rolls and they were perfect. I baked them for 15 minutes at 425 degrees and they were crisp and golden brown outside and light and fluffy inside. Not eating them all before dinner is the only problem with these rolls!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Loved this savoury sour-dough bread. Instead of the milk-water-sour cream combo, I substituted plain old soured milk (same quantity: 280ml). And when I ran short on chives, in went minced leek! I loved the look of the green flakes in the bread. This recipe calls for only half as much sugar as the last sour-dough loaf I made, so the kids didn't rave about this one as much, but it is a quality savoury-loaf recipe and there is no reason why I wouldn't make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This is the best bread to use for tuna fish or egg salad sanwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Just found this same recipe in an old TOH magazine I picked up at a garage sale. Tried it this afternoon ~ DEEEELICIOUS!!! Oh my goodness, it was all I could do to keep from eating half the loaf!! I'd recommend that the water and milk be warmer than just room temperature so the yeast can actually do its thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Have tried other S.C & chive recipes but this one has great flavor and good texture. I made smaller rolls out of the loaf and froze individually to use them as needed. Family loves them. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Yummy. Mine didn't rise as well as they should have but that was probably something I did- I haven't mastered the art of bread yet. I will definately try again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Very lovely bread with a nice tight crumb consistency. A mild flavor that I think calls for a little more salt and/or sugar next time. I was glad I had fresh chives on my lanai. Added such nice flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Outstanding! Impress your guests with this one. I did use 1/4 teaspoon of garlic salt and 1 1/4 teaspoon of regular salt and to be perfectly honest could not taste the garlic so up the ante there if you want the garlic to shine through. I also used soy milk b/c I had some and do not like the taste of it to drink. Made dough in bread maker, divided it into 12 balls for sprayed 9X13 inch pan, let them rise about 40 minutes, and baked at 425 for 18 minutes which I think was the max they needed. Nice brown on outside and soft inside- perfect. Thank Kim 127 for sharing. Made for Went to Market.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      These rolls (yes, I made rolls)turned out beautifully, although they didn't rise as much as I would have liked (my fault...I accidentally flipped the temperature gauge to 250 degrees when I walked by the oven after putting them in). as soon as I realized my mistake, I turned the temp all the way up to 425 and kept an eye on the rolls for about 12 minutes. The only things I did differently was to add about 2 tb. of finely minced onion, as I didn't quite have enough chives, and used light sour cream. Also, I brushed the tops with melted margarine, which helped them turn golden and crispy. LOVED this recipe! Can't wait to make it at the right temperature next time:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Excellent flavors here. The measurements were perfect. So easy to put together. As Bayhill did, I made this in the BM on the dough cycle. Then made individual rolls and let it rise again. The baked for 18 minutes in a 425 degree oven. The rolls turned out light and fluffy with just loads of flavor. The crust was just slightly crisp, which we liked. thanks Kim Made for SSC Pet Parade

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      I found this recipe in a magazine as well (probably the same one), and thought it sounded great! So I pulled out my bread machine that I hadn't used in years, and when I had all the ingredients in it, I found out the machine didn't work. I dumped it out into a bowl, and since the yeast was already added to the other ingredients, I couldn't dissolve it in the warm water and milk like you normally do when making bread by hand. Then I proofed it in the oven for about an hour, punched it down and put it in a loaf pan and let it rise for another hour or so (until double in size.) Then I baked it on 350 for about 35 minutes. I was so discouraged and upset that the machine wasn't working and I figured it would end up hard as a rock and be thrown away, so I didn't even bother to grease the pan. Though the bread *was* a bit stuck in the pan, I was able to get it out in one whole piece, and it was the absolute BEST bread I've ever had. Even with all it went through, it was AMAZING. I plan on always doing it by hand in the future, but hopefully dissolving the yeast properly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Delicious! I used this recipe to make rolls instead of a bread loaf. I made the dough in my bread machine using the "dough" setting. I rolled the dough into 12 balls, put them in a 9x13" baking dish for the final rising and baked them for about 16 mins. at 425 degrees. The rolls turned out light and fluffy and the chives and sour cream gave them a wonderful flavor. My family loved them! Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe...it is definitely a keeper! Congrats on your football pool win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Very good!!!! I used green onions instead of chives, cuz my store didn't have any. Also added a little garlic powder. Love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      i really liked quite a bit the only thing is it was a bit dence for my likeing maybe i goofed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      I agree! This is really yummy. Garlic would be a good addition. I don't think I added enough flour b/c mine collapsed in the middle. It was still very tasty and moist. Thanks for sharing. I'll have to try and make this one again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      A very good recipe! I used the dough setting and finished it in my oven .. I will add some garlic next time I make it .. thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      This is a lovely recipe, Kim! For my machine, for some reason, I ended up having to add a lot more water, but the results were perfect! It rose nicely and made a beautiful loaf for our supper last night. Loved the sour cream & chives. I will be making this recipe again. Thanks, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      I have been having trouble getting my bread to turn out just right- light & fluffy! This recipe was so easy and it turned out so good! Thank you for helping me get it right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      Wow...this is one of the best bread recipes I've ever tried. This bread is so flavorful and extremely easy! I used the dough cycle of my bread machine and then baked the bread in the oven on 350 for 30-35 minutes. Delicious. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! 10 Stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      YUM! YUM! YUM! Easy, delicious and one thing that I'm going to try is instead of using reg. salt I'm going to try garlic salt. This would be great for garlic toast. LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Chive Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (720 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1850.3
     
    Calories from Fat 406
    21%
    Total Fat 45.2 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 26.4 g
    132%
    Cholesterol 109.1 mg
    36%
    Sodium 3932.8 mg
    163%
    Total Carbohydrate 306.4 g
    102%
    Dietary Fiber 12.3 g
    49%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 49.9 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites