Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Cake With Chocolate Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Cake With Chocolate Chips

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2013

      My Grandmother is German, and I can't say I've ever had this cake ... I feel so cheated not to have had the opportunity to try this years and years ago. I've made this twice in the last week. I absolutely love it! Goes great with French Vanilla Ice Cream. No additional chocolate needed :) This will be my go to cake from now on! Will never make a box cake again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Absolutely wonderful recipe. Easy to make and ingredients that I always have on hand. The batter for this cake is very thick. The first layer is easy enough to spread, but I would recommend for the second layer to drop spoonfuls evenly over the first layer to make it easier to spread. This was so good that I made it twice in one week. I took one to work and it was gone before lunch. I took the second one to a Stampin' Up workshop and everyone there loved it too. I had at least a dozen people ask me for the recipe. Made for April 2011 Aus/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      This was delightful and very easy to make. Its texture is more of a coffee cake (and it goes perfectly with a cup of coffee). I made this exactly as posted, except I ended up not using all of the remaining sugar/cinnamon mixture on the top of the cake (I was afraid it would be too sweet). It was perfect for me. I hope you share more recipes from your grandmom's recipe book, because this one was a winner! Thanks for sharing. Made for Spring PAC 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      This cake is to die for...my family absolutely loved it...now I have to make it once a week for my boyfriend! Great one thanks so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Very easy and delicious! The cake texture was so light - something I didn't expect because the wet and dry ingredients were mixed all at once rather than separately. I'd certainly make this again! Thanks morgainegeiser.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      This went so fast at my house I didn't get to take any pictures! lol I did sub homemade yogurt for the sour cream and I believe because I did this - the batter was runny. I think if I used sour cream it would have been thicker and prevented the chocolate chips from falling to the bottom. My family thoroughly enjoyed this cake though. I used mini chips instead of regular size. Made for the August 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      What a yummy cake! I used milk chocolate chunks (small) because I didn't have the chips. I will make this again, it was so easy to make and the results were wonderful! Thank so much for sharing! Made for Swizzle Chicks and ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Great cake! Almost like a coffee cake! I could certainly see serving this for breakfast or brunch. And the cake is tender, with a spicy-sweet ribbon running through (cinnamon and chocolate!) the middle. I may make this, to take on vacation, as it will make breakfast easier for at least a couple of days! Thanks for sharing, morgainegeiser! Made for ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Talk about being moist, and chocolatey!!! Yummy to the extreme!!! I love how the chocolate chips held their form but then just melted in your mouth as you take a mouthful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Cake With Chocolate Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.7
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    43%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 65.1 mg
    21%
    Sodium 255.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 31.4 g
    125%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites