20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this recipe twice since I printed it out on 6/21/2011. The first time I made this I only had one cup of sour cream and did as Deb's Recipes did, I used 1/2 cup to make up the difference.But the second time I made this and used the full amount of sour cream,and I do believe it turned out much better.Since I like to bake my bread in the oven, I just added all the ingredients to the machine and let the dough cycle do all the hard work.After removing the dough,I gave it a second kneading for about 10 minutes or so.Then the dough was placed into a greased loaf pan and left to rise again in a warm place for an hour. Baked at 350 degrees for about 35 to 40 minutes.To prevent the crust from getting too dark,after baking for 20 minutes I covered it loosely with some aluminum foil. The taste was just perfect and sliced beautifully.Thanks for posting a recipe that will be made again and again. " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � June 28, 2011

I give this bread 10 stars! I recently bought a bread machine and have tried about six recipes and all of them average. I found this one and it is absolutely fabulous. I added two extra tablespoons of water, and used the light crust setting, and the results were fantastic. This seriously tastes like a bakery, and this recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCStephanie September 09, 2012

Very good bread, right up there with Buttermilk Bread. But I did have to add a few tablespoons of water as the dough was too dry, but overall a really nice bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whiskerkitty May 14, 2010

This is a delicious loaf! What I enjoyed the most is the beautiful texture. I've been using my bread machine for at least 10 years, but don't always enjoy the heavy texture of the bread. This one is smooth and perfect....and easy! Thank you for sharing, I'll be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kar's Kitchen December 08, 2009

We really enjoyed this tasty, tender bread! The recipe makes a big 9x5" loaf. I made the dough in my KitchenAid stand mixer, using 1/2 cup less flour than called for. I did not have the full amount of sour cream, so supplemented it with 1/2 cup milk for a total of 1 1/2 cups sour cream milk mixture. My bake time was 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven. I used a tin foil tent for half of that time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes July 17, 2009

Tried out this recipe and it worked great. I also altered the recipe a little bit because I don't have a bread machine. Still it worked great. Add basil and cheese for a different effect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjtearoe November 25, 2008

This is a good bread, which is even better the next morning as toast - we loved it and will make it again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BowerBird October 11, 2008

This bread is devine! I added a couple tablespoons of shortening to this recipe which I doubled. This is a soft and flavorful bread. My bread rose beautifully in a warmed oven. I will definitely make this bread again. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 March 10, 2008

This was fabulous bread! Soft and tender, with a really good flavor but no sweetness from the brown sugar like I'd feared. I too had to add 3-4 T. more water, but that was the only issue I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL December 12, 2007
Sour Cream Bread