Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Bread

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2012

      I give this bread 10 stars! I recently bought a bread machine and have tried about six recipes and all of them average. I found this one and it is absolutely fabulous. I added two extra tablespoons of water, and used the light crust setting, and the results were fantastic. This seriously tastes like a bakery, and this recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      I've made this recipe twice since I printed it out on 6/21/2011. The first time I made this I only had one cup of sour cream and did as Deb's Recipes did, I used 1/2 cup to make up the difference.But the second time I made this and used the full amount of sour cream,and I do believe it turned out much better.Since I like to bake my bread in the oven, I just added all the ingredients to the machine and let the dough cycle do all the hard work.After removing the dough,I gave it a second kneading for about 10 minutes or so.Then the dough was placed into a greased loaf pan and left to rise again in a warm place for an hour. Baked at 350 degrees for about 35 to 40 minutes.To prevent the crust from getting too dark,after baking for 20 minutes I covered it loosely with some aluminum foil. The taste was just perfect and sliced beautifully.Thanks for posting a recipe that will be made again and again. " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Very good bread, right up there with Buttermilk Bread. But I did have to add a few tablespoons of water as the dough was too dry, but overall a really nice bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      This is a delicious loaf! What I enjoyed the most is the beautiful texture. I've been using my bread machine for at least 10 years, but don't always enjoy the heavy texture of the bread. This one is smooth and perfect....and easy! Thank you for sharing, I'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      We really enjoyed this tasty, tender bread! The recipe makes a big 9x5" loaf. I made the dough in my KitchenAid stand mixer, using 1/2 cup less flour than called for. I did not have the full amount of sour cream, so supplemented it with 1/2 cup milk for a total of 1 1/2 cups sour cream milk mixture. My bake time was 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven. I used a tin foil tent for half of that time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Tried out this recipe and it worked great. I also altered the recipe a little bit because I don't have a bread machine. Still it worked great. Add basil and cheese for a different effect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This is a good bread, which is even better the next morning as toast - we loved it and will make it again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      This bread is devine! I added a couple tablespoons of shortening to this recipe which I doubled. This is a soft and flavorful bread. My bread rose beautifully in a warmed oven. I will definitely make this bread again. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      This was fabulous bread! Soft and tender, with a really good flavor but no sweetness from the brown sugar like I'd feared. I too had to add 3-4 T. more water, but that was the only issue I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Used the dough cycle and made rolls, they were so light and fluffy! Had an excellent flavor as well, thanks will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      Wonderful tasting bread that goes with any meal. Thanks morningglory for posting a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      I made this bread yesterday and it was absolutely wonderful! Very easy to make, too. I let my bread machine do all the work, then baked it in my stoneware bread pan after letting it rise an hour. My DH loved it, too. Actually, I think he loved the toast the morning after even more! Thanks for sharing. I imagine this will be a regular at our house. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      Great bread. Had to clean the corners of my bread machine and add just a little more water. I did "zap" the sour cream in the microwave just to heat it up a tad before using. Did it on white, medium crust, rapid rise. Turned out very soft and moist. Will do again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      Even though this was a recipe that was for a bread maker , I decided to do it all by hand because I refuse to own a bread maker. I put lots of love in kneading the dough and I just feel I get a better bread doing it all by hand. I used 3 tablespoons water. I kneaded till soft and flexable, which was alot of work but worth it. I then rolled out to fit in my loaf pan and placed a towel over it and placed in oven with light on for it to rise. It took several hours and I for a bit thought it wasnt going to rise, but low and behold it did so nicely :)Then I baked for 30 min at 350'. We had it with dinner and it was really yummy, thick and hearty. My kids raved about it. The entire loaf was eaten with our dinner. Yum :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      Fantastic! 10 star recipe! The texture of this bread is as close to perfect as I've ever had. The crust was nice and crisp, the inside very tender. Would be a great sandwich bread. I used the bread machine for kneading and first rise, then finished in a loaf pan in the oven. Also a great way to use up some extra sour cream, I used light sour cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      This is very easy and delicious. I have made this several times already. My children love it. Highly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      I think this makes the softest loaf of bread I have made! I did the dough in the bread machine and then punched it down, let it rise again, and baked it in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes. It was so soft and tender. I thought with the brown sugar it may have a hint of sweetness, but it didn't. It was a perfect partner to our dinner! I did have to add quite a bit more water..3-4 tbs more. Not sure why, but it turned out perfect! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      Well, didn't this bread disappear before I knew it! At least I got to try it, and MMMMM. I substituted 1/2 whole wheat flour, and added a couple t of gluten. What an incredibly rich, satisfying bread! I forgot to have the sour cream at room temp, but it was still fine. Nice way to use up sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      excellent bread... I used up leftover sour cream before it went bad... to solve the flour buildup around the edges, I just watched it the first minute or so and used a spatula to push it out of the corners... My family loves it toasted!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.0
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    26%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 22.4 mg
    7%
    Sodium 327.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes