542 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, what can I say that hasn't already been said 133 TIMES!!!! Holy cow, this is a great recipe! I made muffins and I had to hide them from the family or they would have been eaten before nightfall! This is now my go-to banana bread/muffin recipe. So moist, so flavorful! Thank you. ******UPDATE******** I've gotten this down to 3 WW pts/serving with the following subs: light margarine, egg beaters, f/f sour cream, no nuts. Also: I get 18 muffins out of one batch. And still, SO YUM-O!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 June 09, 2010

I have to type this review with one hand because I can't stop eating this AMAZING BREAD with the other!!! I used crushed pecans and baked in a 10x10 pan for 40 minutes. nom nom nom,,,

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwest08 July 24, 2010

I too added cinnamon but used splenda, and only one egg and one egg white and it turned out wonderful! very moist. Thanks for posting!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeRN in Neosho, Missouri April 10, 2011

Delicious! I love how the top crisps up for a bit of a crunch. I used 3 bananas and substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream. I will definitely be making this again!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC March 23, 2010

My mother has been baking banana bread all her life. So, imagine my surprise when she tried this bread and said it was better then hers! Moist and extremely delicious, this is the recipe I will be using from now on (sorry mom).

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli harris March 01, 2011

Just amazing! I made muffins with the batter. I used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white flour,measured out the bananas as specified(It took 2 1/2), and buttered and sugared the muffin tins as suggested by a reviewer. I baked them for 30 minutes and they were absolutely perfect. My brother in law never eats the outsides of his bread/muffins, but he ate two whole muffins completely! Thankyou so much for this excellent recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dazy June 04, 2010

Sharon, right out of the oven, this banana bread is amazing! It is moist and flavorful. I used 3 large really ripe bananas which I am sure helped supply the intense flavor. I really like the addition of the sour cream. I did use chopped walnuts and I also usually add the overly ripe banana to the top of the mixer without a problem with it blending. I do love banana bread and I have tried many. This one stands head and shoulders above the rest. Thanks, Sharon : )

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 24, 2004

I have been making this recipe for months now since I discovered it. I was long in search of the the "best" banana bread recipe as nothing I found fit the bill...dry, course crumb, not enough flavor, etc. My goodness, this one is awesome-full of flavor and very moist. I always double the recipe and make at least a couple of loaves every week to meet the requests of my 4 boys. It is not uncommon for them to ask when I am making more, even before we finish eating what I have currently made. Over the months I have tweaked it by adding cinnamon, a little extra mashed banana, and some extra vanilla. Extra banana amt. varies with size of bananas-I don't ever throw extra banana away, just incorporate in recipe. It's generally not much and has never caused a problem. I also sprinkle coarsely chopped walnuts on top of batter in loaf pan just prior to baking. You will not be disppointed.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingfor6 April 12, 2011

I love this recipe and so do my co-workers. I use mini chocolate chips instead of nuts and bake as mini muffins. I get 40 using my cookie scoop to fill the tins. I'm making them now for a friend who wanted them so much, she brought me the bananas and chocolate chips!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cokie17039 September 18, 2010

I don't use any other recipe for banana bread now. This is comes out perfect every time and is more of a banana cake then a bread. Soooooo good with a cup of tea, mmmmmmm.... can't wait for the next batch of bananas to turn brown!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Violet 66 September 05, 2010
Sour Cream Banana Bread