Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    534 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 534

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2010

      I have to type this review with one hand because I can't stop eating this AMAZING BREAD with the other!!! I used crushed pecans and baked in a 10x10 pan for 40 minutes. nom nom nom,,,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Well, what can I say that hasn't already been said 133 TIMES!!!! Holy cow, this is a great recipe! I made muffins and I had to hide them from the family or they would have been eaten before nightfall! This is now my go-to banana bread/muffin recipe. So moist, so flavorful! Thank you. ******UPDATE******** I've gotten this down to 3 WW pts/serving with the following subs: light margarine, egg beaters, f/f sour cream, no nuts. Also: I get 18 muffins out of one batch. And still, SO YUM-O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      I too added cinnamon but used splenda, and only one egg and one egg white and it turned out wonderful! very moist. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Delicious! I love how the top crisps up for a bit of a crunch. I used 3 bananas and substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      My mother has been baking banana bread all her life. So, imagine my surprise when she tried this bread and said it was better then hers! Moist and extremely delicious, this is the recipe I will be using from now on (sorry mom).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Just amazing! I made muffins with the batter. I used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white flour,measured out the bananas as specified(It took 2 1/2), and buttered and sugared the muffin tins as suggested by a reviewer. I baked them for 30 minutes and they were absolutely perfect. My brother in law never eats the outsides of his bread/muffins, but he ate two whole muffins completely! Thankyou so much for this excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2004

      Sharon, right out of the oven, this banana bread is amazing! It is moist and flavorful. I used 3 large really ripe bananas which I am sure helped supply the intense flavor. I really like the addition of the sour cream. I did use chopped walnuts and I also usually add the overly ripe banana to the top of the mixer without a problem with it blending. I do love banana bread and I have tried many. This one stands head and shoulders above the rest. Thanks, Sharon : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      I have been making this recipe for months now since I discovered it. I was long in search of the the "best" banana bread recipe as nothing I found fit the bill...dry, course crumb, not enough flavor, etc. My goodness, this one is awesome-full of flavor and very moist. I always double the recipe and make at least a couple of loaves every week to meet the requests of my 4 boys. It is not uncommon for them to ask when I am making more, even before we finish eating what I have currently made. Over the months I have tweaked it by adding cinnamon, a little extra mashed banana, and some extra vanilla. Extra banana amt. varies with size of bananas-I don't ever throw extra banana away, just incorporate in recipe. It's generally not much and has never caused a problem. I also sprinkle coarsely chopped walnuts on top of batter in loaf pan just prior to baking. You will not be disppointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      I love this recipe and so do my co-workers. I use mini chocolate chips instead of nuts and bake as mini muffins. I get 40 using my cookie scoop to fill the tins. I'm making them now for a friend who wanted them so much, she brought me the bananas and chocolate chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      I don't use any other recipe for banana bread now. This is comes out perfect every time and is more of a banana cake then a bread. Soooooo good with a cup of tea, mmmmmmm.... can't wait for the next batch of bananas to turn brown!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Nice moist banana bread. I did add flaxseed & dried cranberries along with the banana & walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Banana Bread is one of those staples that I constantly search for the perfect recipe...Well now I have found it! This Banana Bread is really moist and very flavorful. Everyone loved it! The recipe is great also because it is so easy. The only thing I did differently was to simply use 2 large bananas and throw them in pieces into the mixer. The mixer mashes them up for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      I made these last night, and they were fantastic! I used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream (i didn't realize i was out), and added a little lemon juice, instead of nuts i added raisins (hubby won't eat nuts). I made them into muffins (it made 17) and they baked for about 25 minutes. They were so moist, and light.....This will be the only recipe I will use for now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Easy and delicious! I use unsalted butter and only 1/2 cup of sugar. I've also used half whole wheat flour and it still turns out nice and moist. Another way I've made this is to add in 2 Tbs. of cocoa powder with the dry ingredients, and in place of the nuts, I use 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Definitely going into my keeper file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      WOW! This is a keeper. It tasted great, it was easy to make and it was inexpensive! Thank you for such a great recipe. I do not have a loaf pan, so I cooked it in a glass 12X8 pan for 55 minutes and it came out perfect. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Loved them! Moist and just the right amount of banana taste. I made muffins instead of a loaf. Baked them at 375 for 20 minutes and they turned a beautiful golden brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      This is fabulous! I used pecans, and I followed the recipe exactly, except I added 1 teaspoon of cinammon. Perfect! And I don't even like bananas! Thanks for sharing! 1/29/10--I just had to come back and add to this. We LOVE this recipe at our house. As I said earlier, I don't even like bananas, and I can't get enough of this bread. I have tried a few different recipes, and this is by far my favorite. This will be the only one I make from now on. I am not a big fan of nuts in my cakes/cookies, so I usually leave out the nuts altogether (unless someone requests, in which case I can pick them out), and I have amended the amount of cinnamon I add to 1 and 1/2 tsp. It's wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This is the best banana bread ever. Dense but very moist. If you are lucky enough to have any left over, it gets better with age. I've made 3 loaves in 3 weeks. The time between was waiting for the bananas to become over ripe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Excellent!I did double the recipe with no problem. Also added chocolate chips rather than the nuts. A go to recipe indeed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      Very yummy! I doubled the recipe, and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 27

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.9
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    44%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 35.9 mg
    11%
    Sodium 348.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 19.6 g
    78%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites