11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this recipe countless times, and it always turns out great. I have subbed plain yogurt, or 1/2c skim milk with a teaspoon of lemon juice for the sour cream, and it works fine. I even realized someone had eaten my bananas after I had already started making this, so I subbed 1c unsweetened applesauce and 1t cinnamon- it was delicious! Thank you for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madame Blueberry August 05, 2010

Very nice. I like the oil over the butter as it turns out with a nice crumb this way. Thank you for posting!---- Edit over two months later---- I started to make this tonight, as I have a ton of bananas which are turning. I'M ALMOST OUT OF S.C- SOOO I used yogurt cups, (sugar free fat free) and flavoured (strawberry and peach)- and it was REALLY good. Not as 'brisk' as s.c. but still tasty. I subbed about 1/4 cup of the s.c. for yogurt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GondolaQueen October 24, 2011

Delicious! I just finished baking the bread and it turned out so yummy. I sprinkled the pans with cinnamon and sugar after spraying with pam and it added a nice texture and flavor, but
it would have been just great without it. This will be my go to recipe for banana bread from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherieathan February 19, 2013

Loved this, couldn't find my usual recipe and thought this look pretty similar. Baked a double batch (had four banana's to use up) and then 15 minutes into cooking realised I had left out the eggs! Couldn't believe it, but it was too late to get them back out the oven. Thought I was going to get two large loaves of dried banana bread but it was still moist and delicious. Not sure if I should add the eggs next time...Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thehungrykiwi February 07, 2012

Perfect. I would never use a different one. It's been voted "best banana bread recipe" in my family of banana bread makers! The only thing I do differently is I sub 1/4 c. of the oil with a single-serving cup of applesauce (1/4 c.). Makes no difference, but it makes me feel a little better about it fat-wise!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksartell March 13, 2010

Found this recipe on another website in 2003 submitted by Tim Culey. Been making it several times a year since then. I don't usually like banana bread (I bake it for my partner) but this one I always take a slice when it is still warm. I haven't tried the apple sauce version, but after reading these reviews I think I'll give it a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nataliegoes August 23, 2013

This bread turned out quite moist with a true banana flavot. I added just a few semi-sweet chocolate chips and sprinkled chopped pecans on top. Just a great, easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foozletoozle August 18, 2013

Made this banana bread today as I had several very ripe bananas and all the ingredients on hand. My daughter loved it and sliced into it right out of the oven! Great recipe...like that it uses oil and not butter. Next time I will try half oil and half applesauce and maybe throw in some pecans. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Summer Chef Elaine August 17, 2013

Yummy!!! If only I hadn't shared my banana bread with my neighbor! I could be munching on those slices right now! Seriously, I love being able to use the oil, instead of the butter...and no mention of nuts, which I don't like in my banana bread. This one's definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Treenie July 20, 2011

I have been making this bread for years and just found the recipe here. Don't change a thing and is fantastic whenever we have ripe banana's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marykaia July 02, 2009
Sour Cream Banana Bread