Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2010

      I have made this recipe countless times, and it always turns out great. I have subbed plain yogurt, or 1/2c skim milk with a teaspoon of lemon juice for the sour cream, and it works fine. I even realized someone had eaten my bananas after I had already started making this, so I subbed 1c unsweetened applesauce and 1t cinnamon- it was delicious! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      Very nice. I like the oil over the butter as it turns out with a nice crumb this way. Thank you for posting!---- Edit over two months later---- I started to make this tonight, as I have a ton of bananas which are turning. I'M ALMOST OUT OF S.C- SOOO I used yogurt cups, (sugar free fat free) and flavoured (strawberry and peach)- and it was REALLY good. Not as 'brisk' as s.c. but still tasty. I subbed about 1/4 cup of the s.c. for yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Loved this, couldn't find my usual recipe and thought this look pretty similar. Baked a double batch (had four banana's to use up) and then 15 minutes into cooking realised I had left out the eggs! Couldn't believe it, but it was too late to get them back out the oven. Thought I was going to get two large loaves of dried banana bread but it was still moist and delicious. Not sure if I should add the eggs next time...Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      Found this recipe on another website in 2003 submitted by Tim Culey. Been making it several times a year since then. I don't usually like banana bread (I bake it for my partner) but this one I always take a slice when it is still warm. I haven't tried the apple sauce version, but after reading these reviews I think I'll give it a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      This bread turned out quite moist with a true banana flavot. I added just a few semi-sweet chocolate chips and sprinkled chopped pecans on top. Just a great, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      Made this banana bread today as I had several very ripe bananas and all the ingredients on hand. My daughter loved it and sliced into it right out of the oven! Great recipe...like that it uses oil and not butter. Next time I will try half oil and half applesauce and maybe throw in some pecans. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Delicious! I just finished baking the bread and it turned out so yummy. I sprinkled the pans with cinnamon and sugar after spraying with pam and it added a nice texture and flavor, but
      it would have been just great without it. This will be my go to recipe for banana bread from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      Yummy!!! If only I hadn't shared my banana bread with my neighbor! I could be munching on those slices right now! Seriously, I love being able to use the oil, instead of the butter...and no mention of nuts, which I don't like in my banana bread. This one's definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Perfect. I would never use a different one. It's been voted "best banana bread recipe" in my family of banana bread makers! The only thing I do differently is I sub 1/4 c. of the oil with a single-serving cup of applesauce (1/4 c.). Makes no difference, but it makes me feel a little better about it fat-wise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      I have been making this bread for years and just found the recipe here. Don't change a thing and is fantastic whenever we have ripe banana's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      This recipe turned out great! I wanted to try it because I was looking for a banana bread that used oil instead of butter. I really couldn't much tell the difference between my "butter" recipe or this one, plus this one is more economical. I used yogurt instead of the sour cream, but other than that, followed along the recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 501.1
     
    Calories from Fat 215
    43%
    Total Fat 23.9 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 71.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 443.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.9 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 38.9 g
    155%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes