12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nummy all right! I used 3 Braeburn apples, was about 2 1/2 cups of diced apple and worked fine. We had this cold with a scoop of ice cream and a dollop of cream, oh boy is it good. Dorothy I love your recipes, if you had a restaurant Id be a regular!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* April 18, 2002

Oh yeah...this is nummy! And about a million other tasty adjectives! I sliced granny smith apples instead of dicing them (the photo looks as though the apples are sliced to me) and added 1/4 t. cinnamon to the apple mixture. This recipe is very easy to put together but tastes and looks as though you saved for hours. A very elegant dessert that my husband has informed me he will be requesting again soon. No higher praise than that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. January 09, 2005

I'm not rating this one yet, because I'm not sure if my first try was a fluke - I'll reserve rating it until I give it another go! This ended up not setting correctly - instead of being custard-y on the inside, it was really rather runny and fell apart. I made it per directions, except I had around 2 1/2 cups of apples. My husband loved the taste, but it was a bit too sweet for me. I plan to try it again in the next couple of days with a smaller dice and a little longer cooking time since he enjoyed it, despite it's runniness. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Lena* November 25, 2008

I LOVE THIS PIE! My mom used to make this, and it was to DIE for! It was always gone in one sitting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla in Texas March 23, 2008

So easy and so good!! I will probably cut down on the sugar the next time - personal preference. We used low fat sour cream which worked out just fine. Great for a small dinner party - kids enjoyed it too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DancingPanda January 23, 2008

this turned out GREAT. I reduced the Sour cream by 2 tablespoons, used 1/4 cup brown sugar, and reduced the butter in the topping to two heaping tablespoons. I also added a little brown sugar to the top of it. Turned out like a creamy apple bread pudding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieHippie September 29, 2007

I made this pie about 3 days ago and we all love it . YMM MM!! Ri

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Ri September 26, 2006

This was one of the besr recipes I've found on-line. Highly recommend this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irasf #2 July 02, 2006

Yummy!Yummy!Had it yesterday for mother's day and I have one piece hid in the refrig. For me when I get off work today!Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgia Swayne May 15, 2006

My family were a bit apprehensive about sour cream in an apple pie, but it was a success!!I used 3 cups of diced apples and it was fine. Thanks for a new twist on apple pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill June 22, 2005
Sour Cream Apple Pie