11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I LOVE this cake! I followed some reviewer suggestions--added a chopped apple to the batter, doubled the vanilla. I also used four apples for the topping and used espresso powder instead of instant coffee. But I stuck to the butter/sugar amounts and the sweetness and butteriness was just right. It sliced beautifully -- I got12 nice sized pieces plus some "cook's treat" bits off the ends. I meant to take a picture but somehow it all just got sliced and taken away before I could...Thanks, Dreamer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate September 23, 2011

The first bite I had was right out of the oven. I plopped a big dollop of whipped cream on top and dug in. WOW was it delish! Next time I make it and that is sure to be, I will add some chopped walnuts or pecans into the mix before baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen July 11, 2010

Delicious and attractive! I'm not sure why mine came out so much darker in the photo on the topping, but I didn't change a thing in that. In the cake, I did double the vanilla and added an extra apple chopped into the batter, per previous reviewer's suggestions - good advice, that - although I think it would be great even without that modification! This was easy, and the coffee added an extra "mystery ingredient" - you can't quite make it out, but the cake is more earthy and warm. Super recipe, Dreamer - thank you for posting! Made for PRMR Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen January 10, 2010

WOW! Easy to make: wonderfully clear instructions. Smelt just SO divine while cooking: cinnamon, vanilla and coffee. SO moist and totally scrumptious. I followed KITTENCAL's suggestions of doubling the vanilla and adding some apple (1/2 an apple, diced) to the cake batter in addition to the apples in the topping, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I ate the other half apple, but next time, I'll be adding a whole apple to the cake batter. Thank you so much for sharing this super-star recipe, Dreamer. It was so easy to make and so delicious - and isn't that just the combination that we are all looking for? - that I know that I'll be making this often. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 22, 2008

this cake is wonderful, I also added in apples to the cake batter as well as the topping, increased the vanilla to 2 teaspoons and used 1/8 teaspoon salt, this is wonderful served with vanilla ice cream, thanks for sharing this great treat Dreamer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen September 21, 2008

Very good! Loved having this for breakfast with my coffee. It is just wonderful for this time of year. It turned out moist and with great flavor! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 September 12, 2008

This was good but lacked sweetnes. I realy do not like things too sweet, but this needed something more. I finally drizzeld with Caramel sauce and that did the trick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) September 07, 2008

Very nice apple coffee cake with a flavor that has you wandering what it is. A mild coffee flavor that I enjoyed, moist, and loved the apple topping. Simple to put together and would be great any time of the day. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 01, 2008

Used Café L'orange using a tablespoon extra and cutting back on the sugar by 1 tablespoon. I used 1 quart Apple Pie Filling With Vanilla & Buttershots! Canning topping with one tablespoon butter, since I didn`t have any fresh apples on hand. Smells wonderful with hints of coffee. Apples and cinnamon Comfort food. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 30, 2008

This cake has a wonderful texture not heavy or dense and the coffee flavor is very subtle...you can tell there is a hint of something different but just can't put your finger on it. This is definitely one for the keep file!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate May 30, 2008
Sour Cream Apple Coffee Squares