10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out to be one of the best fresh apple cakes I have ever made. I chunked my apples, rather than slice them, and dusted them with the flour mixture so they wouldn't all sink to the bottom of the pan. It baked up tall, and filled my bundt pan over the top. Not too sweet, very moist, and so impressive looking. I frosted it with Yummy Caramel Frosting from this website. I will definitely make this again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MailbagMary November 09, 2011

Now this is what I call an apple cake! The batter is wrapped around tons of apple chunks. I used 3 large apples which yielded more than 3 cups of apple chunks (I recommend using chunks not slices because it makes it easier to stir). I doubled the cinnamon in the batter to increase the cinnamon flavor. At first I thought the topping was going to be inadequate but there was plenty to cover the top of the cake (tube pan). It was a little difficult to determine whether or not the cake was done because the cake was filled with so many apples. I doubled the amount of glaze to ensure I'd have enough to decorate the cake. The cake looked beautiful and tasted even better. Thanks for a great recipe! [all the people in my husbands department gave it 5 stars]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn February 20, 2004

This made a beautiful, large Bundt cake. I served it to a bunch of friends and they all raved. I omitted the walnuts in the topping and just used the brown sugar and cinnamon, but other than that made the cake "by the book".

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefiebig October 18, 2003

This recipe has been my go to recipe for just about every occasion, get together or jst because. It's moist and the taste of the apples with the cinnamon is just great. I have given this recipe to justn about everyone that has tasted it. GREAT!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patricia T. November 17, 2014

I found this recipe after my daughter brought home a bunch of red delicious apples and caramel sauce from a school apple dipping party. They had been skewered in the morning so they needed to be used up ASAP The only changes I made from the original were to use 2 cups AP flour and 1 Cup WW flour and I was a little short on the sugar so I subbed in 1 1/2 T maple syrup for 1/4 c of white sugar. I cut the apples into 1/4" to 1/2" pieces to use as many apples as possible and tossed them in a few Tbs of the flour mixture to keep them from sinking to the bottom . I also added a but an /14 t of grated nutmeg in with the cinnamon. The caked baked in 65 minutes into a golden brown ring of deliciousness. I omitted the glaze because I planned on serving with the leftover caramel sauce, but it was fine just the way it came out of the oven . I think next time,( and there will be many next times) I will put the walnut topping in the bottom of the pan so it's on top after turning the cake out . I think it's a really good recipe that can be adapted in many ways to suit the tastes and occasions of the baker. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saltygal October 06, 2012

Very nice apple cake. Sour cream and apples makes it nice and moist. Taste even better next day. Great cake to make ahead. I didn't put 1tsp salt as it seemed too much. Used only 1/2tsp but next time will put only 1/4tsp. I also omitted the topping and glaze as I think it didn't need it. Other than that I highly recommend this cake! You wont be disappointed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hanka October 23, 2011

I made this for DH's birthday, 26th of december. We had it for Birthday brunch and everybody lovedi t. I left out the glace as it was served as food rather than desert. DH said it was the best cake i ever made, not evedentily in taste but this particular cake could not have been made better. A keeper! It saved my birthday dillema, thank you millions for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iceland December 26, 2008

Thanks Dee514! I found this recipe last week and have made it 2 times already. It is a hit in our family. Perfect for the fall season and we found that the longer it sits around the better the taste. I will be making it a fall favorite every year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ppalladino October 19, 2007

This cake is huge! It was nice and moist. I added a bit of coconut and omitted the nuts and added raisins. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI May 14, 2006
Sour Cream Apple Cake