Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream and Vanilla Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream and Vanilla Bread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2003

      Lovely bread...fragrant...crusty on the outside, fluffy on the inside. When cooled, extremely easy to cut. I didn't add the magarine. I substituted it with one tablespoon of applesauce. It worked fine. Great bread...might throw in some sunflower seeds next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      This was a light and slightly sweet bread. Good sliced hot or cold and really good with some brown sugar turkey breast on top. I can't wait to try it as a dough for sticky buns!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      YUMMY! I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla, and used brown sugar instead of white. Had it with honey and butter. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      Oh, yummy! This is excellent toasted and spread with butter and honey. Very fragrant loaf when baking. Slices really nicely when cooled. I might try this with vanilla bean next time to see if I can intensify the vanilla flavor. This bread has the makings of a tea time favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      Well, I had some sour cream I needed to use up and went hunting for recipes, lo and behold this was one that cropped up. I was skeptical , but what the hec. Yesterday I made it and there is only about 2 inches left, if that. So I'm making another loaf at this moment. Had to add a tad more water as the machine was almost jumping off its stand. Now maybe it will be worth getting my bread slicer out.If it only lasts that long (sigh) Well, as you can see it was much enjoyed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      Very good bread. Nice texture and flavor. Not as sweet as I expected, but you could make it sweeter if you wanted. I especially liked this recipe for dinner rolls. I will try using it for cinnamon rolls next and use brown sugar instead. I can't wait!! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      I love the texture of this bread, it is soft and fluffy. It made my bread machine dance around the counter a bit, but turned out a normal size loaf with a hint of vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      my attempt was a dismal failure...the exterior was not only crusty, it actually cracked apart significantly in two places...with the inclusion of sour cream I expected an airy interior but when the loaf only rose by 50°, it was dense instead...toasted a couple slices but the yeasty, strongly vanilla taste and dense texture was unpleasant...I'm sorry :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      I was very pleased with the outcome of this recipe. I made it two ways--by mixing the dough in the machine AND by mixing with my Kitchen Aid on medium high for about 5 minutes or so--then baking in the oven as others have stated (350 for 30 minutes). I allowed the dough I mixed with the KA to sit on the counter for the duration of the machine cycle. Then, I allowed both to rise for about another hour. The AMB loaf was HUGE compared to my other loaf. It was spilling over the side; I think I can manage two loaves out of it next time. I also used brown sugar as someone else suggested. The taste of the ABM loaf was very good (I gave the other as a gift and am hoping it was as delicious) and I liked the more traditional looking loaf. Although I love my ABM, I prefer the shape of a traditional loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Excellant! I didn't use a bread machine either, just mixed by hand and 350 for 30 minutes like KC Cooker said.. definate keeper, thanks..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      Beautiful loaf of bread with excellent, soft texture and a nice flavor. I was surprised that it wasn't a sweet bread with the vanilla and sugar in it, but mine really didn't turn out sweet at all. That's completely OK with me as it made a delicious loaf of bread! I used my dough cycle and then baked it in the oven on 350 for almost 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      An excellent recipe and a definite keeper! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      Delicious sweet bread! I waned to use up some sour cream and this seemed like a good way to use up the rest of the sour cream. We will be making this again soon maybe adding cinnamon and raisins to it for breakfast bread. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      Delicious. My 14 year esp likes it. I did as Krich did and added 1 tsp of vanilla and changed the white sugar to brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream and Vanilla Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (701 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1263.6
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    16%
    Total Fat 23.6 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 150.5 mg
    50%
    Sodium 2125.8 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 221.0 g
    73%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 28.8 g
    115%
    Protein 33.3 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites