Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sour Cream and Lemon Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sour Cream and Lemon Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2002

      This is a terrific pound cake. The flavour of the lemon and the sour cream really compliment each other. It is easy and quick to make. It filled the house with a lovely lemon smell while it was cooking. We hopped into the cake as soon as we could. Oh my gosh, the taste is heaven. I was concerned about the amount of sugar in the recipe but I stuck to the recipe and sure was rewarded. This is a MUST TRY recipe. Thank you Bev. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Very good cake. The texture is soft and moist. It rose very high but It was not as buttery as I would like and it was a bit on the sweet side. The next time I will reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup. UPDATE: I went back and changed from 4 to 5 stars because this cake tastes exceptional the next day and the day afterward. It got more mellow, the buttery flavor came out and the ingredients seem to meld together perfectly. Even after 3 days, the cake is still very moist and soft. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      I made this cake today and it was fabulous.The texture came out just right because I added a 1/4 tsp. soda to sour cream and stir before adding to batter mixture.I also used Bakewell baking powder due it allows cakes to rise better creating a lighter cake.It is an awesome baking powder you can find at William Sonoma stores.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Wow this is really a good pound cake. I love lemon in anything and this is no exception. Made and brought to work with me this morning. One of my co-workers is allergic to yellow dye and has to be careful what she eats. She wasn't going to have any until I told her all it had was lemon, no yellow dye, so she had a slice and was just oohing and ahhing about how good it was. She wants the recipe of course. I was glad to hear it was so good (I hadn't tasted it yet) so I cut me off a slice. YUM YUM is all I can say. I'm sure I will make this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      Delicious, melt in your mouth flavour. Not a thing to change, terrific as is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      Great Cake! This recipe is better than the one passed through the generations. Everyone who sampled it loved it. It was moist and sour cream & lemon flavored was delicious. It was even better the next day. This will be a common dessert in the house hold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I just made this-made a half recipe, in a smallish bundt pan, for my family of four. It's amazing! I did cut the sugar by a 1/4 cup (I'd leave out at least 1/2 a cup from the full recipe), and it's perfect! Next time I'll try using half white whole wheat flour. It's yummy and rich, with complex flavors from the lemon and sour cream together. I agree with Chrissyo that this is a MUST TRY recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      I just made this cake today, it came out absolutely awesome. Lemony sweet with a nice touch of sour. I almost under cooked it by automatically setting the time for 1 hour, lucky for me I read the recipe again while it was in the oven and saw it was 90 minutes. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Made as written for the cake. I did mix 2 c powdered sugar, 4 T lemon juice and 1 T of lemon zest for an icing and drizzled it over. Very moist and rich cake! Unlike others who said they didn't have the butter taste, I could definately taste the butter.(I used real butter maybe that was the difference). Very bold lemon taste! LOVED IT! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      This cake is SOOOOOO worth your time! Smells Heavenly! Tastes devine! I gave the recipe to my mother who made it the same day. The smell attracted the next door neighbor and the recipe was quickly pasted on yet again. So now we have lemony cakes cooling in three different households and three happy ladies. Mom increases the lemon juice and rind just a bit and brushes the warm cake with a lemon juice and white sugar glaze because she likes it tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I am not rating this, but just want to comment on the order the ingredients are added. All of the pound cakes I have made add the sour cream when creaming the butter, sugar and eggs. When I added it at the end of the recipe as stated, I apparently did not mix it enough, even though I used my Kitchenaid mixer. The cake rose up beautifully in the oven, but then totally collapsed after taking it out. When I cut into it, there were yellow streaks running through it and the only thing I could figure out was that the sour cream was not blended properly. Not only that, but it was as hard as a brick. I have never had this experience in all my years of baking. So just to be cautious, I would recommend adding the sour cream at the beginning so that it mixes properly. Wish I knew what really happened. I know it was my fault, Bev because your recipes are always right on. The worse part is that I had made it for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This was a nice lemony pound cake. I find it wasn't as buttery as I like. However the texture was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! added a tad more lemon rind and juice because we like things lemony around her but otherwise followed directions as is. soooooooo goooooood. i especially like the added flavour of the sour cream. thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      It was so yummy! My family ate half and my puppy ate the rest!! (of course, I didn't intend to give her. She just decided to finish it)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I made two of the lemon pound cakes for the holiday and family and friends raved about how flavorful and moist the cakes were. Everyone took a slice home, so I had to make another for family. This quick and easy recipe turns out a cake worthy of a blue ribbon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Delicious!!! I'm not a baker, at all, but this cake was easy to make and the end results were supurb! This cake does not taste like a cake that you would purchase from the store. It actually taste like pure lemon, because that's all you use...no food coloring is required so your family or guest will have to dig in to decide if they truly love LEMON or not. It was a sure winner in my home. I would strongly recommend this cake for any occassion. I also tried the glaze, as was recommended and it topped it off perfectly!!! Thanks for the advice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This cake is absolutely delicious. I made it for a family outing and they gobbled it up. I recommend a lemon glaze with confectioners sugar (2 cups) and lemon juice (4 tablespoons) to add the extra touch to this delightfully light cake. I can only give it 5 stars, but it really is a 10-star in my book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      This was my first "real" lemon cake, (my DH thinks the putrid yellow cake from costco or a box is 'real") and it came out great. I used a lemon juice, powd. sugar, butter glaze and it was a hit. (my DH, thinks it was "ok", he doesn't know any better the picky bugger!). It came out nice and dense, I used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and it was GOOD! Took a while to make and bake (I thought 1 1/2 was too long, but it wasn't, actually went an hour and 40 minutes). Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Turned out PERFECTLY! I used Meyer lemons, and plain (drained) yogurt for the sour cream. I sugared the two loaf pans instead of doing the tube pan. When they came out, I used a glaze of lemon zest/lemon juice & powdered sugar. The texture is TEXTBOOK, it's perfectly moist without being gummy, light, but heavy enough to be a pound cake, didn't fall apart when I took it out of the pans and it's not too sweet. This is the absolutely best recipe for pound cake I've tried. THANKS, BEV!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Help! I really want to give this recipe 5 stars, but I have tried it 3 times and have the same problem each time...I bake it for 1 1/2 hours and it still isn't baked all the way through, but if I leave it in any longer the crust will be burned. The part that does get baked is so tender and good, but I can't seem to figure out why it won't bake all the way through in 1 1/2 hours. I followed the recipe to a T, and even tried a tube pan and a bundt pan, and had the same problem with both pans. I also reduced the oven temp and still have the same problem. Anybody out there have any ideas, I sure would like for this recipe to work for me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sour Cream and Lemon Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 527.3
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    37%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 143.6 mg
    47%
    Sodium 166.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 50.9 g
    203%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites