27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a terrific pound cake. The flavour of the lemon and the sour cream really compliment each other. It is easy and quick to make. It filled the house with a lovely lemon smell while it was cooking. We hopped into the cake as soon as we could. Oh my gosh, the taste is heaven. I was concerned about the amount of sugar in the recipe but I stuck to the recipe and sure was rewarded. This is a MUST TRY recipe. Thank you Bev. :-)

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo October 08, 2002

Very good cake. The texture is soft and moist. It rose very high but It was not as buttery as I would like and it was a bit on the sweet side. The next time I will reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup. UPDATE: I went back and changed from 4 to 5 stars because this cake tastes exceptional the next day and the day afterward. It got more mellow, the buttery flavor came out and the ingredients seem to meld together perfectly. Even after 3 days, the cake is still very moist and soft. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB October 06, 2010

I made this cake today and it was fabulous.The texture came out just right because I added a 1/4 tsp. soda to sour cream and stir before adding to batter mixture.I also used Bakewell baking powder due it allows cakes to rise better creating a lighter cake.It is an awesome baking powder you can find at William Sonoma stores.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
USCCAP September 10, 2010

Wow this is really a good pound cake. I love lemon in anything and this is no exception. Made and brought to work with me this morning. One of my co-workers is allergic to yellow dye and has to be careful what she eats. She wasn't going to have any until I told her all it had was lemon, no yellow dye, so she had a slice and was just oohing and ahhing about how good it was. She wants the recipe of course. I was glad to hear it was so good (I hadn't tasted it yet) so I cut me off a slice. YUM YUM is all I can say. I'm sure I will make this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn November 11, 2008

Delicious, melt in your mouth flavour. Not a thing to change, terrific as is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie July 11, 2003

Great cake with a good, moist crumb. I did take the liberty of making a sugar/lemon glace for on top. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama April 10, 2015

Wow, this was delicious!! Don't be lazy and skip the sifting step like I did. When I stirred in the flour, I had tiny little lumps. I beat the batter for about 30 seconds and that was probably 30 seconds too long. This makes a very large cake, one that you would be happy to take somewhere. It released perfectly, sliced beautifully and was lemon flavored perfection. What else could one ask? Bev, thanks for yet another super recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose February 02, 2015

Great Cake! This recipe is better than the one passed through the generations. Everyone who sampled it loved it. It was moist and sour cream & lemon flavored was delicious. It was even better the next day. This will be a common dessert in the house hold.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buckykat_57 December 21, 2012

I just made this-made a half recipe, in a smallish bundt pan, for my family of four. It's amazing! I did cut the sugar by a 1/4 cup (I'd leave out at least 1/2 a cup from the full recipe), and it's perfect! Next time I'll try using half white whole wheat flour. It's yummy and rich, with complex flavors from the lemon and sour cream together. I agree with Chrissyo that this is a MUST TRY recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Horsestalktome August 18, 2012

I just made this cake today, it came out absolutely awesome. Lemony sweet with a nice touch of sour. I almost under cooked it by automatically setting the time for 1 hour, lucky for me I read the recipe again while it was in the oven and saw it was 90 minutes. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ricky ricotta June 20, 2012
Sour Cream and Lemon Pound Cake