10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I will make this soon as I have a large bag of frozen cherries. My question is... When measuring the 4 cups of cherries is this before or after chopping up the cherries?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rysharen February 17, 2010

The jam color is a fascinating bright red (Have a look at the picture that I uploaded!). Unfortunately, the first time that I made it tasted too strong of almond. I made it again but with only 1 ml (1/5 of a teaspoon) of almond extracts and it tasted divine. Everyone is raving about it! It's actually the best jam that I've ever tasted!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akeleie July 25, 2009

I LOVED this recipe! I used both Certo liquid pectin and Ball liquid pectin. Both worked great. They set up great, and the kids love the jam on their waffles and pancakes in the morning! Thank you so much!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noodleme20 June 26, 2008

Perfect Sour Cherry Jam! This was my 3rd attempt at making sour cherry jam, so I only did a half batch. 2 cups of cherries, 3 cups sugar and 1 - 3oz package certo pectin. (it made 3 - 8oz jars) I would recommend stirring it for a few minutes before putting into jars. This way the fruit will disperse throughout the jelly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RenoFoodie June 24, 2013

The finished product was WAY too sugary, I was pretty disappointed. I am still hoping to be able to mix into plain yogurt and have it taste decent, we'll see.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddavidheiser June 27, 2010

Divine! Dad said it was the BEST he had ever had! Easy. Every one raved about it! Don't skip the Almond extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jfjlmiller April 08, 2009

I most definitely will be using your recipe. I have planted two tart cherry trees and also have Nanking Bush Cherries! Thank you so much for sharing! I will let you know when berry season is upon us again! Jelly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotPepperRosemaryJelly December 20, 2008

We picked two big grocery bags full of cherries and I wanted to find a way to use them up. I ended up making another batch, My DH loves the jam! Great recipe! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Millikan June 12, 2008

Very, very good, & worth making again! I just made half a recipe to see how it would go, but next time, definitely the full batch! I have it pegged for later in the summer so I'll have some to include as winter holiday gifts! Thanks for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Beverage tag game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 06, 2008

It has been a long time since I tasted this jam! Sorry Nora, I thought I had reviewed the recipe!! I must say this is a delicious jam, I have not made it, but was given a jar by the chef! My son said 'this is what sour cherry jam should taste like' he loved it! Very good, the almond extract makes a difference!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada September 11, 2006
Sour Cherry Jam