Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "Souper" Easy Sweet & Sour meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "Souper" Easy Sweet & Sour meatballs

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2002

      These were a big hit for dinner last night. The flavor is right on the mark and the preparation is fairly straight forward. I did replace the sugar with Splenda and the result was quite acceptable. I made a double batch hoping to put one in the freezer but they didn't make it that far! I will definitely be making this one again and will have to triple it I guess! Excellent recipe Boies!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      I gave this 5 stars because it was so good, I do have a couple of comments, and one is it is all sweet and no sour. I might try half the sugar next time and see what happens, and I also wonder if you could cook them for one hour with the same results. One tip I have that I got from a Rachel Ray recipe is instead of frying, place meatballs on a slightly greased pan in a 425 degree oven for 10-12 minutes (I go for 15). The meatballs come out surprisingly very nicely browned. It's the only way I'll ever do meatballs again. I'll tell you these were really good, I did freeze them and they were great reheated. My husband and I ate the whole batch and will definitely make again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I've made this several times now and really like this recipe. I bake the meatballs instead of frying but don't change anything else. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      I cheated and used frozen meatballs and put everything (except used 3/4 cup sugar) in the crockpot on high for about three hours. It didn't reduce at all- I obviously wasn't thinking when I started this- so I added a cornstarch slurry a while before serving to thicken it up some. We all really liked the flavor of the sauce, despite the runniness of it, even though my husband thought an element of heat would be a nice touch. Just wanted to let others know that you wouldn't get great results in a crockpot. I definitely plan to make this again and follow the directions next time. Revisiting my review to add the 5 stars! Made as directed and it was still thinner than I anticipated but so good that I didn't really mind. I will make this often I'm sure (especially if my boys have anything to say about it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Love this meatball recipe !! My 5 year old dislikes meat and this is one recipe he asks for at least once a week !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      Great recipe! I did reduce the sugar to 3/4 C, and could reduce it further depending on what you like for flavor. A hit at the dinner table, will definately make again.Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      This was so good. I used Healthy Coice Tomato soup, ground turkey and splenda instead of the sugar and my entire family gobbled them up in no time. I will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      These meatballs were delicious! We had them for dinner last night and there were no leftovers. I did mix 1 lb. of sausage in with my hamburg and the result was awesome! My two very picky kids ate them up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "Souper" Easy Sweet & Sour meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (1605 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.6
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    32%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 36.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 124.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites