23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! We enjoyed this so much! I made as directed making very few changes. I added fresh baby leaf spinach and also used kidney beans instead of peas. I used spinach filled ravioli in place of the tortellini which made a wonderful change. Very quick, very simple to throw together with all ingredient on hand for a great Saturday night meal! Thank you so much, Annaica, for a great new meatless soup recipe I am sure to use again, and again!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev February 25, 2012

5 stars for taste, but I'm rating this 10 stars for the brilliance of being able to magically make a delicious and healthy meal so fast... and without messing up my kitchen! From the time I spoke to my husband on his way home from work and I claimed that I had no idea what to make for dinner, to the time he walked in the door (about 15 minutes!!) finding this delicious soup sitting on the stove ready to be served... I was super excited that I could pull off such a yummy meal so quickly! I didn't have tortellini on hand, but I had mushroom filled ravioli. I made my soup this way: chopped onion, julienne carrots, fresh chopped tomatoes, cubed zucchini, chicken broth, peas, mushroom filled ravioli, and a dash of parmesan to finish it. Everything was so flavorful that I didn't even need to add herbs, spices, or seasonings... something that has never happened to me before! Thanks for a brilliant soup recipe! This will be my go-to when I don't know what to make for dinner!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dans La Lune February 27, 2012

I started making this and then realized I didn't have carrots, onions or peas. So I added celery, spinach and mushrooms. It was delicious.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 March 06, 2012

The most flavorful soup ever. I added fresh green and yellow wax beans to the peas, carrots and onions and doubled the recipe. Other than that, I made as directed. So glad to have lots of leftovers. I will prepare this a lot in the future. It's amazing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef thnkdffrnt March 04, 2012

I was so glad to find a way to use a couple packages of frozen tortellini that have been in the freezer forever. I hate to say this because it irritates me when people put garlic in EVERYTHING when it doesnt need it but I really think this benefited from a couple cloves of garlic. I also added 1/2 tsp italian seasoning. I ended up with 2 packages of baby portabello mushrooms in my produce delivery used half of a package and had some zucchini needing to be used. Skipped the carrots due to laziness and wasnt feeling the peas.
I browned the onions, mushrooms and added the garlic and zucchini to the pan near the end to avoid burning the garlic. Deglazed with the veggie broth and added the tomatoes. Reduced it a tiny bit cooking 15 min until the flavors developed. Added the tortellini cooked and then the basil.
I think it would be good with potato and chicken instead of the tortellini.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoldlyGoingNowhere March 01, 2012

Very good! I used to make a similar soup but I used cooked chicken in it, this was very similar. I had forgotten how good that soup was and will now be making this one in it's place or adding chicken to it when I feel like chicken soup. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitterKat February 26, 2012

Delicious soup! I used frozen edamame and had to use dried basil...the store didn't have fresh. It was still great! Made for Zaar Newest Star Tag Game 2011.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 04, 2012

Lovely soup. I added the optional basil. Made for Photo Tag Game 2011. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama December 30, 2011

Excellent and VERY easy. I sauteed one piece of andouille sausage with the onions, then used fire-roasted tomatoes and a can of mixed peas and carrots. I will keep this one handy for cold nights when we need a fast and easy supper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather #6 March 27, 2013

What a great idea for an easy supper! We used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth (easier to find cans of in our little town). Also used light red kidney beans rather than peas, and were lucky to find some whole-wheat cheese tortellini. It did need a little salt and pepper (I might throw in a pinch of red pepper flakes next time, too), but that's no big deal. Definitely add the basil if you can, both for flavor and color!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole February 19, 2013
Souped up Tortellini