Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Souped up Lentils Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Souped up Lentils

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2011

      I actually made this for my 9 month old.. I used zucchini instead of carrot and used more water than stock to cut down on the sodium for him. I left out the vermicilli but thickened it up with a bit of baby rice cereal. He devoured it and I thought it tasted pretty good too. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2014

      This soup is terrific, TRUE!<br/>LOVE is low fat, tasty too!<br/>Didn't add noodles, although had them on hand to add,<br/>Hubby enjoyed this and made me feel glad! Thanks!<br/>UPDATE: Made this again for the AUS/NZ May Recipe Swap!<br/>Love the ease and simplicity! Hubby gave it the two thumbs up too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      After a really hot spell of weather we had rain yesterday and there is nothing better than a big bowl of hot norishing soup on such a day and this fitted the bill perfectly. I used green lentils otherwise made as directed and I did blitz it with the stick blender as I know it was the only way I would get the DM to eat it and we both had very generous serves and only 2 cups worth was left over to go into the freezer, thank you Leggy Peggy made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap #74 March 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      Not a lot to say that hasn't been said. Made as directed and there aren't enough stars for this dish! Delish! Thanks, Leggy Peggy. Made for African Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Great flavors and I like that it's thick. I used chicken stock, 1 small onion, grated the potato and carrot. I didn't use salt. I used carrot vermicelli. And I ate it without any topping. It's yummy as is. Thanks Leggy Peggy :) Made for Make my recipe tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      First of all, I would probaby re-name this recipe "Stewed up Lentils" I used all the liquid called for, and then some, and it still was definitely closer to a stew/casserole consistency (there was no liquid left to call it soup). I used green lentils (they're what i had), ommitted the tumeric (thought I had some but I didn't), used alot more garlic than called for, and didnt putt the sour cream and cilantro on top (i forgot). The consistency may not have worked how I wanted, but the taste was awesome! Very filling and delicious. The leftovers heat well and taste yummy too! My husband wasn't sure he liked lentils until the recipe, and now he knows he does! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I loved the vermicelli in this soup, very delicious. I grated the carrot, used a can of diced potatoes (drained) & pureed 1 roma tomato & added it to the mix. I used onion powder instead of an onion & green lentils instead of red (didn't have any). I will definitely be making again. Made for ZWT 4...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This is an easy recipe and makes a great soup. It comes out quite thick as the lentils soak up the liquid while they cook. I used green lentils, and added a 1/4 tsp of cumin, too, and served it over brown rice. My only suggestion would be to give the lentils a 10-15 minute head start on the carrot and potato, as the lentils take longer to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      this is a good thick soup/stew which cooked up nicely with good flavor. cooking time was perfect. good use of contest ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Delicious flavor. True comfort food. The directions were easy to follow. I did have to add extra liquid because it turned out VERY thick, more like a casserole than a soup. We really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Also made half of this recipe (limited by the amount of red lentils in my cupboard) and regretted it. I opted for the vegetable stock of course, used vermicelli and added more carrots and garlic. I opted for the cilantro which went very well with the Greek yogurt I added on top instead of sour cream. Thanks, this was very, very nice and good luck with the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This was a very tasty soup enjoyed by all the family including 3 teenage children and it made a generous amount.Next time i will not add the rice noodles as it is thick enough and yummy enough without them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This is absolutely delicious!!!! I love the flavour of the soup and love how it's a bit different with the rice noodles (which make it really yummy!). I used vegetarian chicken flavoured broth. I wanted to get a photo of this but it was gone before I could. Next time though...this will definitely be a regular!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      We really enjoyed this soup. It was easy to make and had a very nice thick consistency. The rice noodles in it were excellent and what I believe really made the soup great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This soup was very tasty. I made half a recipe and used one can each of the chicken stock and vegetable stock. We ate up all the left overs we enjoyed it very much. Thanks for some good lunches. I look forward to making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Souped up Lentils

    Serving Size: 1 (432 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 344.2
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    16%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 13.4 mg
    4%
    Sodium 609.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites