15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I actually made this for my 9 month old.. I used zucchini instead of carrot and used more water than stock to cut down on the sodium for him. I left out the vermicilli but thickened it up with a bit of baby rice cereal. He devoured it and I thought it tasted pretty good too. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** February 01, 2011

This soup is terrific, TRUE!<br/>LOVE is low fat, tasty too!<br/>Didn't add noodles, although had them on hand to add,<br/>Hubby enjoyed this and made me feel glad! Thanks!<br/>UPDATE: Made this again for the AUS/NZ May Recipe Swap!<br/>Love the ease and simplicity! Hubby gave it the two thumbs up too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder May 06, 2014

After a really hot spell of weather we had rain yesterday and there is nothing better than a big bowl of hot norishing soup on such a day and this fitted the bill perfectly. I used green lentils otherwise made as directed and I did blitz it with the stick blender as I know it was the only way I would get the DM to eat it and we both had very generous serves and only 2 cups worth was left over to go into the freezer, thank you Leggy Peggy made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap #74 March 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 15, 2013

Not a lot to say that hasn't been said. Made as directed and there aren't enough stars for this dish! Delish! Thanks, Leggy Peggy. Made for African Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees March 25, 2012

Great flavors and I like that it's thick. I used chicken stock, 1 small onion, grated the potato and carrot. I didn't use salt. I used carrot vermicelli. And I ate it without any topping. It's yummy as is. Thanks Leggy Peggy :) Made for Make my recipe tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 06, 2010

First of all, I would probaby re-name this recipe "Stewed up Lentils" I used all the liquid called for, and then some, and it still was definitely closer to a stew/casserole consistency (there was no liquid left to call it soup). I used green lentils (they're what i had), ommitted the tumeric (thought I had some but I didn't), used alot more garlic than called for, and didnt putt the sour cream and cilantro on top (i forgot). The consistency may not have worked how I wanted, but the taste was awesome! Very filling and delicious. The leftovers heat well and taste yummy too! My husband wasn't sure he liked lentils until the recipe, and now he knows he does! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry G October 08, 2010

I loved the vermicelli in this soup, very delicious. I grated the carrot, used a can of diced potatoes (drained) & pureed 1 roma tomato & added it to the mix. I used onion powder instead of an onion & green lentils instead of red (didn't have any). I will definitely be making again. Made for ZWT 4...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh June 16, 2008

This is an easy recipe and makes a great soup. It comes out quite thick as the lentils soak up the liquid while they cook. I used green lentils, and added a 1/4 tsp of cumin, too, and served it over brown rice. My only suggestion would be to give the lentils a 10-15 minute head start on the carrot and potato, as the lentils take longer to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DerrickB March 08, 2008

this is a good thick soup/stew which cooked up nicely with good flavor. cooking time was perfect. good use of contest ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia March 19, 2007

Delicious flavor. True comfort food. The directions were easy to follow. I did have to add extra liquid because it turned out VERY thick, more like a casserole than a soup. We really enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alskann March 18, 2007
Souped up Lentils