Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soupa Avgolemono (Egg-Lemon Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soupa Avgolemono (Egg-Lemon Soup)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2002

      This recipe was perfect. The others have too much stuff in them. This is exactly how my greek friends make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      this is a very well represented traditional avgolemono. Simple, delicious, timeless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      This recipe is so simple yet so good! I just had two big bowls of it for lunch and it turned out great. :) One thing I've learned from experience is when reheating, keep the heat on LOW, gently warming the soup - otherwise the egg in the broth may burn or stick to the bottom of the pot. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      We really enjoyed this! I halved the recipe, but found I needed to top up the stock a little after boiling the rice for 20 minutes. I topped up with chicken stock but, I think, next time, I'll top up with water as it ended up just a little salty. I used two small eggs and, I think next time, I might add a couple of teaspoons of cornflour just to thicken it a little more. The juice of one fairly large lemon was exactly right for my half quantity. I'd use the juice of 2 lemons if making the full amount. The only other change I made was to add a good shake of dried dill and a sprinkling of black pepper. I've read other recipes on Zaar which add milk and butter to this soup. Personally, I think this simple version is rich enough without those unnecessary additions. I served it with freshly made French baguette smothered with butter. The saltiness of the butter balanced the tartness of the soup particularly well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      Great directions, very easy to make and delicious! Will definitely make again. UPDATE: I just made this recipe for the second time. This time I used 4 eggs and the juice of 2 lemons, and I find it that I prefer it much better this way, it is more creamy and lemony. I also added some finely chopped carrots and cooked chicken. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2001

      Not Impressive

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Delicious! We had to add quite a bit of salt (& a little pepper), but that's b/c our chicken broth was low-salt. I really appreciated that we had all the ingredients on hand. We awoke with sore throats and coughs, so this recipe was perfect, for its ease, speed, & healthiness. Thank you, truebrit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      Yum. Boil some chicken in for protein. Love this when i'm sick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      very good and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This was very simple and delicious, but it didn't go over as well as I had hoped with my family, hence only four stars. I loved it, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This is a great, simple soup recipe. When you want soup in 1/2 hour without much fuss, this fits the bill. I would have liked it to be a bit thicker. Maybe that depends on what kind of rice you use. The lemon flavour really packs a punch and I added a bit of lemon pepper, onion and celery to intensify the flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I liked this, but for me it had way too much rice when I followed the recipe, so I added another can of chicken broth. Husband didn't like this at all, so I probably won't make it again unless it's for other people. I liked the slight bitey aftertaste of the lemon juice and that the eggs gave the soup a nice creamy texture. I'm going to cook some chicken to add to the leftovers tomorrow for lunch. My 4 yo old loved it, btw, so thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      WOW! This soup was great! Cheap too. I am so excited about this one.. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      I made this for one and it was perfect. Simple & quick! The egg & lemon did give an extra oomph in terms of flavor. I didn't use any rice, but served this with a Greek Potato salad from another recipe on this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Lightly flavored lemon egg soup. I used brown rice, which meant I needed to cook it for 30-35 minutes. I also added 2 ounces of tofu and a green onion right before the egg/lemon mixture. Don't use egg beaters for this - they just don't work as well as real eggs in this soup! Thanks for sharing, this is a great recipe for a cold night that doesn't require many ingredients or time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      It was okay for me. My husband liked it more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Simple. Good. My lemon was small- next time I'll use two and i used pearl barley instead of the rice or orzo. Was tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

    • on April 08, 2007

      Sometimes the simplest recipe is the best ... This was great. I played a little too fast and loose with the proportions; used 4 cups chicken broth to 1/2 cup rice. It came out thicker than we probably would have liked, but the flavor was great. I'll make it again tonight using the proper proportions. I made this because I have the world's WORST cold/virus right now; maybe it's psychosomatic, but I do feel better this morning. More chicken soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      Very good and very simple to make. I used jasmine rice and thought it was very nice in the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soupa Avgolemono (Egg-Lemon Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.8
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    21%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 105.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 798.5 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites