Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soup Mix in a Jar

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2010

      I've never tasted this myself, but I gave them as gifts and everyone LOVED them! I layered just as written, and gave a can of nice imported tomatoes with it - it looked very cute. To simplify a little, I added garlic powder to the mix and left the garlic out of the instructions. If I do it again, I'd try to scale it down a bit, since not everyone I know has a pot big enough to hold 16+ cups of stuff. =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      These are SO cute put together!!! I couldn't find any barley at my store, which is weird b/c I have bought it before so they must have been out. So I got red kidney beans instead so it was a pretty color! I cut the recipe in half like Mrs. Emily said and tried going a tad heavier on the onion. I did add a tad bit more rice and pasta to each to fill up some of the space. I'm getting ready to make a pot of this soup for lunch, but wanted to review it at least to this point before I forgot! Also, one bag of each dried item, 1 lb. each, and a 1 lb box of pasta, 2, 2 oz. containers of onion flakes, and 1 jar of beef bouillon were enough to fill 9 pint jars. And maybe half a container of Italian seasoning. Thanks for a great recipe :) UPDATE: This was so tasty! I am so very glad I made it! I actually used beef stock instead of water and added some Tastefully Simple Onion Onion to the beef while it was cooking. I definitely won't use kidney beans again...they were just too big compared to everything else and didn't cook the whole way through by the time everything else was done cooking. I actually think I'll make this recipe again, not only for gift giving! Thanks again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      I made this for Christmas gifts and halved the recipe so that it would fit in a pint jar. Well, I made a critical (but tasty) mathematical error by accidently increasing the amount of onions to 1/2 cup instead of decreasing it to 1/8 cup. It is actually fabulous when prepared with the extra onions. We also like to add sausage or meatballs to the soup instead ground beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      Very convenient idea that we will definitely implement for other soups. I added bay leaves & maggi to try to improve it, just not a hit.. (Sorry.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      This was wonderful! We had it last night (and again for lunch today) and just loved it. My husband says "A+". My 2yo had half her bowl eaten before I had even started! Definitely recommend! The only changes I made was to increase some of the ingredients - 3/4 c lentils, 1 c pasta, 1 qt stewed tomatoes. This just made the soup thicker, and filled the quart jar a little better. Thank you so much for this recipe - I am going to be packing several jars to have on hand for hectic days. :) I am also going to pack some 1/2 batch jars to give to grandparents - still plenty for at least 2 meals, but not so much to overwhelm them. As a side note - make sure to use an extremely large pot - I'd recommend a stock pot. My 5qt dutch oven was full to the brim, so I had to transfer to a stock pot. Save the dishes and start bigger than you think you need! This make a hearty meal for 6-8 adults.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Sorry to have a lower rating. I made this soup before giving as a gift. It was okay, but lacked a little in flavor. Plus, for some reason, my split peas did not cook and were still crunchy. I made half a recipe and it still made a lot of soup! Overall, it's okay and I'm still giving the soup, but it just needs some extra seasoning. Some fresh parmesan grated on top would be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I made this as Christmas gifts and they look really wonderful. I used "Newman's Own" spaghetti sauce jars and it fits perfectly. I had a little trouble finding the barley, but I finally found it at one grocery store in the dried beans area. I also made some for myself to try it before I gave it as gifts, and I thought it was excellent and seemed very healthy. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, and garlic powder instead of garlic cloves. I will probably make more of this for myself just to have on hand as a homemade "convenience food" Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      I tried this recipe but decided to try the first time without the ground beef. I, along with my husband and son, loved it!! I probably will try it with the beef, but it really isn't needed. It makes a HUGE pot so be prepared to either have some company over, or freeze some of it. I'll be preparing quite a few jars to give as gifts, as well as keeping for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      The mix fills a 500 ml jar if you leave the pasta separate. A 750 ml jar is just a bit too big. I used a little less boullion granules because 1 tsp is usually needed for 2 cups liquid. since I am vegetarian I also used the vegetarian versions of everything. I actually made this soup tonight and it smells and tastes fantastic. Instead of ground beef/mince I used TVP which I threw in with a little oil and the garlic. One of the better soups I have come across on Zaar so don't hesitate to give this one as a gift!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      I wasn't expecting this soup to be as good with all the dry ingredients but it was really good! Very flavorful and tasty. Super easy to make. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soup Mix in a Jar

    Serving Size: 1 (4503 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2633.2
     
    Calories from Fat 664
    25%
    Total Fat 73.8 g
    113%
    Saturated Fat 27.6 g
    138%
    Cholesterol 308.7 mg
    102%
    Sodium 2567.6 mg
    106%
    Total Carbohydrate 334.4 g
    111%
    Dietary Fiber 77.6 g
    310%
    Sugars 46.3 g
    185%
    Protein 160.1 g
    320%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites