10 Reviews

I've never tasted this myself, but I gave them as gifts and everyone LOVED them! I layered just as written, and gave a can of nice imported tomatoes with it - it looked very cute. To simplify a little, I added garlic powder to the mix and left the garlic out of the instructions. If I do it again, I'd try to scale it down a bit, since not everyone I know has a pot big enough to hold 16+ cups of stuff. =]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayness March 23, 2010

These are SO cute put together!!! I couldn't find any barley at my store, which is weird b/c I have bought it before so they must have been out. So I got red kidney beans instead so it was a pretty color! I cut the recipe in half like Mrs. Emily said and tried going a tad heavier on the onion. I did add a tad bit more rice and pasta to each to fill up some of the space. I'm getting ready to make a pot of this soup for lunch, but wanted to review it at least to this point before I forgot! Also, one bag of each dried item, 1 lb. each, and a 1 lb box of pasta, 2, 2 oz. containers of onion flakes, and 1 jar of beef bouillon were enough to fill 9 pint jars. And maybe half a container of Italian seasoning. Thanks for a great recipe :) UPDATE: This was so tasty! I am so very glad I made it! I actually used beef stock instead of water and added some Tastefully Simple Onion Onion to the beef while it was cooking. I definitely won't use kidney beans again...they were just too big compared to everything else and didn't cook the whole way through by the time everything else was done cooking. I actually think I'll make this recipe again, not only for gift giving! Thanks again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley S. December 07, 2009

I made this for Christmas gifts and halved the recipe so that it would fit in a pint jar. Well, I made a critical (but tasty) mathematical error by accidently increasing the amount of onions to 1/2 cup instead of decreasing it to 1/8 cup. It is actually fabulous when prepared with the extra onions. We also like to add sausage or meatballs to the soup instead ground beef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Emily July 14, 2008

Very convenient idea that we will definitely implement for other soups. I added bay leaves & maggi to try to improve it, just not a hit.. (Sorry.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jetje February 29, 2008

This was wonderful! We had it last night (and again for lunch today) and just loved it. My husband says "A+". My 2yo had half her bowl eaten before I had even started! Definitely recommend! The only changes I made was to increase some of the ingredients - 3/4 c lentils, 1 c pasta, 1 qt stewed tomatoes. This just made the soup thicker, and filled the quart jar a little better. Thank you so much for this recipe - I am going to be packing several jars to have on hand for hectic days. :) I am also going to pack some 1/2 batch jars to give to grandparents - still plenty for at least 2 meals, but not so much to overwhelm them. As a side note - make sure to use an extremely large pot - I'd recommend a stock pot. My 5qt dutch oven was full to the brim, so I had to transfer to a stock pot. Save the dishes and start bigger than you think you need! This make a hearty meal for 6-8 adults.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goji Girl January 04, 2008

Sorry to have a lower rating. I made this soup before giving as a gift. It was okay, but lacked a little in flavor. Plus, for some reason, my split peas did not cook and were still crunchy. I made half a recipe and it still made a lot of soup! Overall, it's okay and I'm still giving the soup, but it just needs some extra seasoning. Some fresh parmesan grated on top would be good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 December 23, 2007

I made this as Christmas gifts and they look really wonderful. I used "Newman's Own" spaghetti sauce jars and it fits perfectly. I had a little trouble finding the barley, but I finally found it at one grocery store in the dried beans area. I also made some for myself to try it before I gave it as gifts, and I thought it was excellent and seemed very healthy. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, and garlic powder instead of garlic cloves. I will probably make more of this for myself just to have on hand as a homemade "convenience food" Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tajgood1 December 26, 2006

I tried this recipe but decided to try the first time without the ground beef. I, along with my husband and son, loved it!! I probably will try it with the beef, but it really isn't needed. It makes a HUGE pot so be prepared to either have some company over, or freeze some of it. I'll be preparing quite a few jars to give as gifts, as well as keeping for my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herbs & Spices, and everything nice. September 26, 2006

The mix fills a 500 ml jar if you leave the pasta separate. A 750 ml jar is just a bit too big. I used a little less boullion granules because 1 tsp is usually needed for 2 cups liquid. since I am vegetarian I also used the vegetarian versions of everything. I actually made this soup tonight and it smells and tastes fantastic. Instead of ground beef/mince I used TVP which I threw in with a little oil and the garlic. One of the better soups I have come across on Zaar so don't hesitate to give this one as a gift!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat December 05, 2005

I wasn't expecting this soup to be as good with all the dry ingredients but it was really good! Very flavorful and tasty. Super easy to make. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriH March 05, 2005
Soup Mix in a Jar