8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love French onion soup and this was no exception!!! Made this Sunday and the only thing I did differently was to add a few more onions. I did used the optional sherry which just added to the depth of flavor. Definately a keeper. Made for the Cook-a-thon in Memory of Pammyowl 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf November 12, 2013

French Onion made with sherry is one of our favs and the addition of mustard was a tasty new twist.
Thanks so very much for chasing away our winter blues with this flavorsome soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl February 10, 2013

What a great soup for a cold winter day. I halved the recipe for myself but forgot to reduce the brown sugar so it was a little on the sweet side but still oh so good. I didn't add as much water as I wanted a fuller flavor and I did use the sherry. I think the sherry is what really gives the soup the flavor. I was a little unsure about the Worcestershire sauce but it went over well. I only put mozzarella cheese on top of the soup then popped it in the oven until the cheese was melted and brown. Made for Best of Cookbook 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 February 03, 2013

Excellent recipe for onion soup! I made it today to have tonight when we toast the new year! However, I did sneek an early taste. It is very rich tasting! I used 5 sweet vadalia onions for a sweet and savory combination. Tonight at midnight I will serve it with gruyere cheese on an Italian baguette broiled in the oven. Yum! Made for Please Make My Recipe Reunion, 12-31-12 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo December 31, 2012

Made this delicious soup for lunch today and it was so good! I could not find the beef consomme in the store so I used beef stock and did not dilute it. The toasted bread crouton with gruyere cheese and the mustard was really good as well. Will definitely make this soup again. Made for Make My Recipe Reunion, December, 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry December 28, 2012

This was a good version of French Onion Soup. Before my parents moved to Florida, my dad always made French Onion Soup. Though I don't have the recipe, they both seemed pretty close. For this I left out the sherry, and the mustard, used swiss cheese, and put in a crockpot for 5 hours. The soup itself, had nice flavors, and taste. We all agreed that it was good ( 3 - 5 stars), and (1 4-star), but all in all a good comfort food for a fall evening in the northwest, and a reminder of what I am missing with my dads recipe. Though the kids especially enjoyed this. Tagged and made as a bonus for the November/December contest in I Recommend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker November 21, 2012

The broth is so tasty. I didn't use the optional sherry. Me and DH didn't really like the mustard on the bread. The following bowls were without mustard and it was really yummy. My son doesn't like onion soup usually, but he asked for a bowl and liked it. Thanks Pammy :) Made for Newest Zaar tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 20, 2012

Yummy! I love French Onion Soup and this was a great version. It made a rich beefy broth and great flavor. I used a Artisan Caramelized Onion bread for the baguette and loved it. Thanks pammyowl for a nice keeper and a great lunch. Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 14, 2012
Soup a L'oignon (French Onion Soup)