8 Reviews

No rating. This is just to let folks know that the recipe as shown is wrong. The original recipe calls for one chicken (about 3-1/2 to 4 pounds), quartered. Everything else is the same as in the book, but if someone actually used the boneless, skinless chicken breasts at the temperature and length of time this calls for they'd be way overcooked.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jph1115 March 19, 2009

READ THIS FIRST BEFORE YOU COOK. 450 is WAY too high for boneless skinless breasts. We usually make this with bone-in dark meat (thighs, legs, 99 cents per pound, yo) and even then we drop the heat to 350 to 375.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 29, 2015

Not a rating...but it's hard to put chicken skin side up when the recipe calls for skinless breasts. I'm still going to try this recipe but with a whole cut up chicken as another user recommends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deedeeinfrance June 07, 2011

This is a delicious meal that everybody loved in the family. I love the Sopranos Family Cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krislillian November 07, 2010

This recipe was fabulous! Make sure you use bone in chicken! I was having friends for dinner and I put thighs in one dish and breasts in the other. The thighs seemed to cook a bit quicker so I took those out about 10 minutes before the timer went off. I used fresh oregano and feel it made a significant difference. I didn't transfer to a platter before serving, just put the 2 casserole dishes right on the table and guests could dig in! The lemon, garlic, oregano combo is outstanding and the potatoes ....well we couldn't stop picking at them. A surprise was that the lemon that was slightly charred was edible and downright tasty!! I served with grilled portabelloo mushrooms and a garden salad. Will make over and over again.....highly reccommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy G. April 25, 2010

This is a a fabulous recipe and so easy. The recipe has some confusion because it lists skinless boneless in the ingredients, and then the instructions refer to skin side down. I tried it with bone in, cut up chicken the first time, and boneless breasts the second time. The bone in was superior, as the high cooking heat tended to dry out the boneless breasts. I upped the garlic and lemon juice, and added some rosemary each time. Wonderful flavors!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susantino March 29, 2010

My (Italian) Dad bought me this book, and I thought he was joking- but the recipes are great. Like the other comment states- it should be 1 whole chicken, quartered. There is no comparison between the whole chicken and boneless breasts for flavor and tenderness. I never peel the potatoes and use fresh oregano. This is a delicious, one pan meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureneframe May 16, 2009

This was great. Dh got home from work and said whatever you're cooking smells awesome. I'm so glad it tasted that way too. Thanks for an easy weeknight dinner. Lisa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LMillerRN April 25, 2007
Sopranos' Baked Chicken With Potatoes, Lemon & Oregano