11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very delicious though the sauce was almost too rich; it needs something to brighten it up like a splash of wine or vinegar. we served with egg noodles and a salad on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zephanie August 26, 2010

These were a huge hit with my husband and have become a regular request in my house. The only thing i changed was i used garlic and herb cream cheese. Thank you for a great recipe. Definately a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Louise #7 July 30, 2009

This was excellent, once I added some extra spices to the sauce :-) I add onion powder and garlic to the meatballs themselves, and I add about 1/4 tsp of pepper, 2 tsp onion powder (or some fresh chopped onion), 1-2 tsp garlic powder (or freshly minced garlic) and sometimes some white wine to the sauce. I also normally substitute milk for the water. Thanks for a great base recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aksingingbreeze August 29, 2007

Yum!! I have no idea how this received a bad review!! I did add some pepper to the sauce and some garlic powder to the meatballs. My whole family raved!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Lou Who March 01, 2006

I'm sorry to give such a low rating, but these were pretty bland. The meatballs were ok, so I'm giving it two stars, but the sauce was a failure in the taste department. Yes, it was rich and creamy but extremely bland. It definitely needs some additional spices. I ended up scooping out all the meatballs from the sauce and throwing all the sauce out. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fofi September 04, 2005

These were very good, easy to make, with a nice creamy gravy to serve over rice. And all with items already found in your pantry. Will make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou August 31, 2005

I loved the sauce it was amazing. This was a very hearty meal not low fat at all but when it tastes like this who cares!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KmartKlutz July 21, 2005

It kind of reminded me of one of my favorite dishs Stroganoff.Next time i make it i will use the meatball recipe instead. I bet it would make a excellent way to make hamburgers too.The sauce was killer also . Even better the next day .Call me crazy but it would make an excellent bagel sandwich spread with the cream chesse base.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grovinchicken July 19, 2005

These were so rich and creamy. Scrumptuous is a suiting word.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food4Pedro July 18, 2005

These meatballs are deliciously moist and flavoursome, and the mushroom sauce is a great accompaniment. I made them with a mix of ground pork and veal, because that’s what I always use when making recipes with ground meat. Otherwise – apart from adding a few cloves of crushed garlic – I followed the recipe exactly. I served them on a bed of rice, using Mom's Brown Rice Mom's Brown Rice, which I made with one can of mushroom soup and one can of chicken soup rather than the beef soup specified in the recipe. I think the milk in the meatballs must be the ‘secret’ ingredient that helped make these so delicious. I have a bolognaise recipe in which this is one of those ‘secret’ ingredients which adds something extra to the flavour. The dried breadcrumbs I used had parmesan cheese in them, probably not much, but that’s what was claimed on the packet! Everyone loved them. The only reason that there were some left to go in the freezer was that I had doubled the recipe. Forty meatballs were more than four could eat in a sitting, even after coming back for seconds! Thanks, Kymmarie for a great recipe, which I shall be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder July 17, 2005
Sophisticated Meatballs