Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sophisticated Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sophisticated Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2010

      Very delicious though the sauce was almost too rich; it needs something to brighten it up like a splash of wine or vinegar. we served with egg noodles and a salad on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      These were a huge hit with my husband and have become a regular request in my house. The only thing i changed was i used garlic and herb cream cheese. Thank you for a great recipe. Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      This was excellent, once I added some extra spices to the sauce :-) I add onion powder and garlic to the meatballs themselves, and I add about 1/4 tsp of pepper, 2 tsp onion powder (or some fresh chopped onion), 1-2 tsp garlic powder (or freshly minced garlic) and sometimes some white wine to the sauce. I also normally substitute milk for the water. Thanks for a great base recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      Yum!! I have no idea how this received a bad review!! I did add some pepper to the sauce and some garlic powder to the meatballs. My whole family raved!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      I'm sorry to give such a low rating, but these were pretty bland. The meatballs were ok, so I'm giving it two stars, but the sauce was a failure in the taste department. Yes, it was rich and creamy but extremely bland. It definitely needs some additional spices. I ended up scooping out all the meatballs from the sauce and throwing all the sauce out. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      These were very good, easy to make, with a nice creamy gravy to serve over rice. And all with items already found in your pantry. Will make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      I loved the sauce it was amazing. This was a very hearty meal not low fat at all but when it tastes like this who cares!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      It kind of reminded me of one of my favorite dishs Stroganoff.Next time i make it i will use the meatball recipe instead. I bet it would make a excellent way to make hamburgers too.The sauce was killer also . Even better the next day .Call me crazy but it would make an excellent bagel sandwich spread with the cream chesse base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      These were so rich and creamy. Scrumptuous is a suiting word.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      These meatballs are deliciously moist and flavoursome, and the mushroom sauce is a great accompaniment. I made them with a mix of ground pork and veal, because that’s what I always use when making recipes with ground meat. Otherwise – apart from adding a few cloves of crushed garlic – I followed the recipe exactly. I served them on a bed of rice, using Mom's Brown Rice Mom's Brown Rice, which I made with one can of mushroom soup and one can of chicken soup rather than the beef soup specified in the recipe. I think the milk in the meatballs must be the ‘secret’ ingredient that helped make these so delicious. I have a bolognaise recipe in which this is one of those ‘secret’ ingredients which adds something extra to the flavour. The dried breadcrumbs I used had parmesan cheese in them, probably not much, but that’s what was claimed on the packet! Everyone loved them. The only reason that there were some left to go in the freezer was that I had doubled the recipe. Forty meatballs were more than four could eat in a sitting, even after coming back for seconds! Thanks, Kymmarie for a great recipe, which I shall be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2005

      These are amazing!!! Wonderful Sauce! I usually don't like recipes with soup as it overpowers the dish - but not this one!!! I did use Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic Soup. My roommates could not get enough of them...they waited for the fullness feeling to end so they could eat more....there were NO leftovers. I served them over egg noodles and watched them disappear! Wonderful Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sophisticated Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 575.9
     
    Calories from Fat 393
    68%
    Total Fat 43.7 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 21.1 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 195.2 mg
    65%
    Sodium 1126.0 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 30.0 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites