Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sopaipillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sopaipillas

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2002

      I was attracted to this recipe by the sodium content. I ran out of time during the Mexican cookathon, so I made them last night. I fried them in artery-clogging bacon grease and served them with real maple syrup drizzled on top, homemade fried sausage and fried tomato slices. A scrumptious breakfast, indeed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2002

      Oh, my, these took me straight back to Santa Fe. They were perfect. The directions about not rerolling or patching proved to be a key point to success. The shape that you described is really important because they puff up like a little pillows as soon as they hit the hot oil. The pieces I put in which were irregular in shape just didn't come up to scratch. I cooked them in peanut oil at 370* deg. Canola oil would be fine too probably. Thanks for bringing back a delicious memory to life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      Yummy! I found the rolling them thinner made them puff up more, making them lighter and crispier. I used vegetable oil in a deep fryer and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top immediately after taking them out of the fryer (that way it sticks better to the dough)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      This is really a great recipe. I founded out this when my Spanish techer said we was having a party and everybody needed to bring something. She was talking about how good it would be to have someone to make this recipe and i volunteered. Everyone loved me in school that day. They said this was te best Spanish food they everytasted. JamalGeathers@aol email me if u wanna talk abouthtis recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2003

      Simply wonderful! I was a bit worried about the dough at first- mine was very crumbly and wouldn't kneed together well. I added a bit more water, chocking up the oddity to the fact that everything I'm using is American and has been shipped here from the U.S. Oh, in my case smaller was better- I got really nice small puffy cloud-like sopaipillas. The larger ones I tried didn't seem to work to well, still good just didn't puff. Still wonderful and tasty, reminded my hubby of home. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      These were pretty tasty treats! I didn't realize that these needed to be rolled thin, guess I should read the reviews, but I did notice immediately that thinner would have probably been better. Anyways, I fried mine, drained, rolled in cinnamon and sugar, then dipped in honey.MMMM good. I will definately try this again, rolling the dough much thinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      These were absolutely perfect! They puffed up beautifully like delicious little pillows ; ) I hadn't tried them rolled in cinnamon and sugar before, but that's my new favorite way to eat them! I didn't have shortening on hand, so I used Earth Balance and that worked just fine. I just made a test batch and 1/3 of the recipe made a dozen gorgeous little sopaipillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      So easy and good thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      I have been looking for this recipe for ages. It's one of those I remember eating as a kid and loving it with honey poured into it. I've tried to get my mom's recipe for years!!! It's a simple recipe, but the technique and a pinch of this and that is what I needed. This is it. THANK YOU for sharing... I will be making these for my kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      Another tip for sopaipillas: after their obligatory rest and after you have cut them, roll them even thinner, then place them one or two at a time in the very hot oil, then submerge them immediately in the oil, using the back of a spatula. They will puff immediately. If you plan to split and fill them , the second rolling isn't necessary, but the submersion is. Also, if you cook them this way until they are quite dark, they will keep a few hours (6 or so)in a single layer on the counter. You can re-heat them in a hot oven for a few minutes. When I lived in Barstow, CA, these were a staple at church suppers, brought in huge panfuls and having been made in the relative cool of the eaarly morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I'm not sure what happened here - they turned out flat, flat, fat. No puff, poof or anything that looked like a "pillow". I love sopapillas - but this recipe just didn't turn out - and I followed it exactly as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      The dough was very easy to prepare and these sopaipillas are oh so delicious! My husband went absolutely nuts over these. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sopaipillas

    Serving Size: 1 (501 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 25.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    13%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites