Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Something Special Birthday Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Something Special Birthday Cake

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2004

      Was lovely. The birthday girl loved it and so did all at the party. I used all purpose flour and stuck to the rest of the ingredients and instructions. Except that I did it by hand. I use cake making as therapy so I love the hand mixing.lol Thanks :) Fay

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I made this for my son's first birthday. It was good, but I think I could have accomplished the same thing by adding almond extract to my standard vanilla cake recipe (and dirtied far fewer bowls in the process). I iced with vanilla icing, but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. It may be better with chocolate icing, but I'm not sure that I would go through the work of this cake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      WONDERFUL! This is going to be THE cake I make for birthdays from now on. I followed the directions to the letter and it was perfect. The best cake I've ever made. I iced it with "perfect" chocolate frosting " Perfect" Chocolate Frosting I have made this cake a few times now and just made it again today for yet another birthday party. I doubled it and made a Wilton shaped cake and 2 dozen cupcakes to boot. If you follow it exactly and use the proper ingredients it will honestly be the best white cake you've ever tasted. Even DH, who isn't a cake person, commented that it's some crazy good cake. If I could give it 10 stars, I would...don't know about the frosting as I tend to vary that every year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I made this cake for my son's first birthday. It was pretty good. Mine was not crumbly at all, it was actually pretty dense. The almond was a little strong and kind of different for us but not bad. The frosting was very thick, rich and super sweet. Overall it was good, don’t know if I will make it again though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      We thought it tasted great but I had trouble frosting it. Found it really crumbly and will have to make it again to see what I might have done wrong the first time. Everyone loved the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      The recipe was easy to follow with simple ingredients. The icing needed a bit more milk than required. The Almond flavor was a different twist that my pamily didn't care for. If I make it again I think I will leave out the Almond.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      Fabulous! A little extra work, but not enough to scare you away! I made this today for my daughter's first birthday. I was out of almond extract - it was still wonderful. Opted for a 10-inch spring form pan instead of layers. Just baked it a little longer. We love chocolate, but can't serve it to a baby; this vanilla cake is the "new chocolate" in my chocoholic family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2004

      This was a very good recipe for a child's birthday cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Something Special Birthday Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (2373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 9038.5
     
    Calories from Fat 3646
    40%
    Total Fat 405.1 g
    623%
    Saturated Fat 248.2 g
    1241%
    Cholesterol 1864.8 mg
    621%
    Sodium 3913.0 mg
    163%
    Total Carbohydrate 1314.5 g
    438%
    Dietary Fiber 11.2 g
    44%
    Sugars 1009.9 g
    4039%
    Protein 70.3 g
    140%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes